We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Point Brisbane Hotel
Ranked #5 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Pretty nice hotel. Clean, big rooms with comfortable beds. The restaurant however is dreadful. Long waits for crappy, over-prices food. The last time I ordered the "avocado" club, there was no avocado on it, the bread was soggy, and the egg tastes like fish. They had clearly fried the egg in the same pan as some salmon. Def skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarnia1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    319
    59
    18
    11
See reviews for
129
498
73
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This brand new property blew me away for a Brisbane hotel. The rooms are huge, The beds are massive and super comfortable and the bathroom is big enough to house at least 12 rugby players with a beautiful big 'rain' shower head. The a/c is great and the gym/pool combo was just perfect. You can catch the Ferry to the city or even walk over the story bridge to the CBD. It's not the most ideal hotel if you want central but if you want a superb sleep with beautiful surroundings then this is the hotel for you.The check in staff were always happy to help with any queries i had.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The hotel reception staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Room was very clean, spacious with excellent amenities. On-site free parking a real plus.
Room Service food was disappointing. Steak was tough and dessert tasted reheated. Breakfast was OK though.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokierusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is such a shame, because the hotel really is top class. Value for money it is hard to beat in Brisbane. The amenities are great, the room is large and the bed is supremely comfortable.

Unfortunately, the restaurant is simply terrible. I say this after not just one visit, but two. Both times they failed miserably (not sure why I gave them a second chance). The portions of food is incredibly small and the waiting time for your meal....astronomical !!! The 2nd time I was there I waited an hour for garlic bread, and then another hour for a main. No apologies, nothing.

So, I recommend, stay at the hotel. Then go down the road to the Asian restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Red_Bronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I travel for work and our contract has recently changed our accommodation from in the city of Brisbane to The Point Brisbane, Kangaroo Point.

I can not speak highly enough about the hotel. The facilities, the friendly staff, the location, the rooms, everything about it!

Located on Kangaroo Point under the beautiful Storey Bridge, if you have a room with a view it makes you appreciate the beauty that Brisbane has to offer, especially at sunset.

I always look forward to going to Brisbane and the friendly checkin staff remember my face and welcome me back every time I walk in. They know the area very well and the opening and closing times of Dockside, the operating times for the ferry at the bottom of the street in to the city, and just anything that you have a question about, they are so knowledgable and helpful. They gave my friend and I a map showing us where to walk to & the barman makes a really good coffee (I can not remember his name, but he is an older gentlemen, and loves to have a conversation!)

The rooms are large and clean, and the beds are just heavenly to sleep in!
Anywhere you walk in the hotel, the staff will always say hello and ask how your day is, which makes them really stand out from alot of the other larger chain hotels that are in the city - it's that personal charm that makes me look forward to coming back to The Point Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissydj917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I recently stayed at The Point Hotel with my fiancé and was incredibly impressed.
I emailed prior to booking about which room would be best with the facilities I required. I got a speedy response and told which rooms would suit my needs most (a big bath was a must!). I checked in to the hotel and was greeted by a lovely man who ensured I had everything I needed. The room was fantastic, exactly as described in their online brochure, modern and spacious. We had breakfast daily in Lamberts restaurant and dinner one night, lovely service, great meals and value for money.

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting relaxing time away but still close to the city. Short stroll to free ferry and convenience store.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaJade90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My, what a fantastic experience it was spending a night in a motel in my home town. The service is excellent and so are the quality of their rooms and buffet breakfasts. A very luxurious place with a huge comfortable bed. I would go again and recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigglesjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
1.5 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 159 in Brisbane
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 159 in Brisbane
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 159 in Brisbane
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Brisbane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Brisbane Hotel

Property: The Point Brisbane Hotel
Address: 21 Lambert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#9 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#9 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Brisbane Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the elegant marble foyer and smell the perfume of the fresh flowers on display, you’ll feel completely at home at Brisbane's leading independent hotel.The Point is conveniently situated in the exclusive inner city village of Kangaroo Point. Embraced by the Brisbane CBD and New Farm reaches of the Brisbane River, a brief ferry ride from the city heart.Its 201 deluxe rooms and suites enjoy stunning views. The hotel offers a turn down service each evening along with the luxury of 24 hour room service.Lamberts Restaurant, Bar and Lounge has an excellent reputation for its modern Australian cuisine and sophisticated cocktails. The palm fringed pool provides a cool, relaxing escape from the world and Wi-Fi, parking and online newspaper and magazine service are all complimentary to guests.A range of meeting rooms and the top floor Eagle’s Nest function room and deck have spectacular, panoramic city and river views. The essence of The Point Brisbane experience is service – it’s where people like you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Point Brisbane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
The Point Hotel Brisbane
Point Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing