We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly hostel!”
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Ranked #10 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean & friendly hostel!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here twice with my partner on our road trip, both times a 6 bed mixed dorm. Staff were friendly, rooms clean, individual lockers had plug sockets in them, which was great. The kitchen area is large and has everything you need. Showers and toilets are kept spotless.The rooftop area has amazing views of Brisbane. We payed for the $5 BBQ, which was a bargain and had some really good food. The only negatives for us were the location as it's a bit far out from everything and also the train track running behind the hostel, as the trains were quite noisy during the night!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamtam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    248
    79
    24
    18
See reviews for
21
107
233
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hostel is so pretty! The rooms are bright and very clean. I had a 4 share female room and we had our own reading light and our own very big locker in the room (with a sucket!). The kitchen is clean and everything is provided. The rooftop terras is absolutely amazing, a million dollar view! The hostel is close to the centre and you can reach everything by foot! If you want some luxury, go here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Manon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at the hostel for 2 nights in April 2014. I enjoyed my stay here. I stayed in a female only dorm which was relatively spacious and clean. The kitchen was large and well equipped.
The only downside of the hostel, much like other YHA's I've stayed in previously, is that there was not much of a social atmosphere in the common areas. So if you were travelling on your own you may want to think about staying elsewhere.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was also very good. Overall I would recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egalla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I arrived in Brisbane the evening before an early morning international flight. I only needed somewhere to rest for the few hours. I used a wotif voucher and got a bed quite cheap (a fair price though if we are talking value). after making my way, with all my luggage up the hill from the Roma st station, I found my room and climbed up onto the only bed available - the top bunk (which had clothing and towels belonging to the others in the room draped all over it). The room was crowded and incredibly messy and the bathroom was so small and moldy, there was no way of avoiding getting my clothes wet as I tried to put them on - there was water everywhere! I was happy to make my way back down the hill after a few restless hours of sleep.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Hayley,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

I am of course disappointed to hear of your negative experience while staying at Brisbane City YHA. Next time you stay at any YHA please make sure you let someone know during your stay if there are any issues, so we have a chance to try and fix the issue to make your stay more enjoyable. A Staff member at Brisbane City YHA, would have been able to move you to another room or maybe a private room might be more suitable next time you stay at Brisbane City YHA.

Also since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel manager who has discussed your feedback with the housekeeping department to ensure the correct procedures are followed when cleaning the guests bathrooms.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,


Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I'm being generous with the average rating because I've stayed @ 3 YHAs and this was worst. Service=avg (compared to other YHAs in Sydney & Adelaide meaning as good but definitely not better). For $117/nite (comparable or more than a hotel in the city if I had bought a LivingSocial or Groupon voucher), I expected the minimum amenities and did not receive it.The hiring for bath towels was unexpected (the booking confirmation or website did not specify that i should bring my own -- Syd YHA posts that fact on their site). Bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Porch area very inviting and clean. Cafe wth sandwiches was good and reasonably priced for freshness. The room was fine.

Room Tip: Mine was at carpark level and even so, it was not as loud as it could have been. I slept fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank none a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear none a,

Thank you for the feedback you recently submitted to Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Brisbane City YHA.We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset I was very disappointed to read that your booking confirmation did not specify that you need to bring your own towel, as this is set as a standard to be included. Would you be able to let me know through which website you made your booking, so we can ensure this detail is included(brisbanecity@yha.com.au).


Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed in this hostel for two nights during my trip to Brisbane, its located on the north bank of the river and is really close to a bridge that links you to the lovely South Bank area. There are several restaurants and bars close to the hostel, also location wise its very close (10 mins walk) to the train station that takes you directly to and from the airport.

There is a swimming pool at the hostel althought I didnt have time to try it out and the reception staff were pretty friendly, aside from one guy who was really rude as soon as I arrived (with severe jetlag haha). There is a bar attached that also serves food, overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavinlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For a hostel this was very clean.....loved the air con in summer too. Found it clean plenty to do from here. Kitchen, bathroom, rooms, TV room and social rooms all very clean. I did find the rooms doors really really noisy......this is my only fault-they don't close but slam shut instead at whatever time of day!!! Staff were helpful and the downstairs bar/restaurant was fab as a treat! My fav part tho was definitely the roof top pool...........!!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlylou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.8 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 159 in Brisbane
1,546 reviews
1.4 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 129 in Brisbane
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing