We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but good”
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane City YHA
Ranked #13 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hostel is very good although you pay for it. All YHA hostels are clean and well run and this is no exception. The location is good and the staff very friendly and helpful. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    242
    78
    24
    18
See reviews for
20
107
229
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed there last December and is was very good.. The roof top pool is pretty cool, is very clean. The restaurant is quiet good, and the have poker. Tournaments some time. Over all is really good and also the desing is pretty good nice and good style especially the out side part

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalo261088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm for 5 days which was clean and comfortable. A minor complaint was that my room backed onto the train lines which meant I was woken early some mornings. The rest of the hostel was also kept very clean. The kitchen was very big and well stocked though did still get very busy at peak dining times. The staff seemed friendly enough though I didn't have much interaction with them. As the hostel seems more like a hotel I did find it difficult to meet other guests as most seemed to keep to themselves. However, the bar does organise events such as poker nights and quizzes and I found these very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't back onto the train lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandalfthepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent, fresh and clean hostel! Cozy roof top swimming pool connected to the big and modern kitchen.
The staff are super friendly and knowledgeable about what to to in Brisbane and helps you with planning without commission. Thank you!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pernilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This has to be one of the best YHA's I have ever seen. From the fully equipped kitchen that contained every kitchen utensil ever imaginable to the rooftop pool and eating are down to all the toilets, showers and communal rooms. Very quiet also so if your looking for rest and relaxation in they city this has to be the best place to do it. The only downfall is on a social side, everyone seemed to stick to their own and wasn't overly sociable, maybe because they were wrapped up in how nice this hotel, I mean hostel is.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaylayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Right in the backpackers area, close to the transit station and the CBD, it's a great and quiet place to stay in Brisbane.
The staff is what make the place worth staying in as they are friendly, funny and really helpful. Clean rooms (depending on the other roomies), great kitchen and common area, with heaps of activities every week for a reasonable price (if you have the member card).

Had a great time there and would recommend. Only problem is the poor wifi for the price we pay (5$/day)

Room Tip: Room on the main building will be quieter, but more expensive. 8share mixed is the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vestouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Despite being named and priced as a hostel, the service offered could match budget hotels. Myself and a friend stayed in a room for two, which was utmost clean, fitted with a working (!) aircon and soundproof enough to provide for a peaceful sleep. The people at the desk were friendly and helpful as well.
The hall was full of backpacker-looking youth all the time, a good thing for the ones who want to meet people.
Also, it was easy to find on-street parking during different hours of the day, which made the experience even smoother.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aydin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
1.8 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gambaro Hotel
Gambaro Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 157 in Brisbane
1,534 reviews
1.4 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 127 in Brisbane
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Property: Brisbane City YHA
Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing