We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments in desperate need of refurb - your only paying for the river view”
Review of Goldsborough Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goldsborough Place
Ranked #39 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Position is fantastic - just out of the city, parking available, but still close to everything. New management recently took over, but they are managing separately owned apartments - therefore every room will be arranged with different furniture & quality.
If the owners of the units renovate they 20 year old interior of each unit - this would be a great property - but don't expect owners to pay ~$50k for the required renovations.

I had appointments in area and the location & view is perfect - I had a good night's sleep on a double bed (it really needed to be a Queen bed). There was a noisy fan and no airconditioning in the bedroom - but there was an airconditioner in the lounge room, but didn't turn it on or test it.
The down side is: Old apartment, no aircon in the bedroom, noisy fan in the bedroom, no exhaust fan in the bathroom (and slightly smelly), very noisy kids next door at "OMG in the morning" - approx 6am - overall, not worth $200 per night.
The good: Di (property manager) was lovely - only took over 1.5 months ago, location & parking, facilities were sufficient, just old and needed a refresh. If she can get some owners to upgrade their units and have a slightly more expensive "executive" option - I'd be back & pay for that, but not likely to return whilst the units are in their current state.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

We made a group booking here, with 4 groups staying between 2 and 5 nights. All rooms were charged at the same rate but there were huge discrepancies in the quality of the rooms due to the fact they're individually owned but managed centrally.

Only one bedroom (in a two bedroom unit) was airconditioned, none of the other bedrooms in any of the units had airconditioning, only fans. Our room had both bedrooms about 5 metres from the busy road (traffic passed regularly even at 3am), meaning that the windows couldn't be opened due to road noise. Those units lucky enough to have rooms on the river side rather than the road side could open the windows for more ventilation, but even so it was still only just bearable and the temperature was only 25 degrees with quite a bit of wind (due to an ex-tropical cyclone passing through). Living area was airconditioned, but leaving this on didn't reach the bedrooms with any cooling.

Location is excellent with many very good restaurants within a minute or two walk. Room decor varied between rooms, one was very dated and looked like it hadn't been refurbished since it was built. One was basic and serviceable if a little dirty in places. Two others were furnished to a very high standard.

Service was very hit and miss. It took us months of email and phone messages to get a confirmation for all the rooms. The kettle in our room was broken when we arrived and this was replaced very quickly, in around 10-15 minutes. Toilet seat was also broken on arrival, this was also replaced very quickly.

Checkout was a nightmare, reception was unattended for 20 minutes at 10am (the stated checkout time) with no contact available on either the main reception line or emergency mobile contact. Room charges were incorrectly allocated between guests, and though this could be remedied amongst ourselves it's not something we'd expect to have to do when paying these kind of rates.

I had wondered why there were so many positive reviews considering the state of the room we had. It seems the reviewers here were the lucky ones to get the better quality rooms. I definitely would NOT recommend staying here in the summer months whatsoever. Winter months it would still be a gamble, if you got one of the nicer rooms it would possibly be worth the price, but if you got one of the older rooms it wouldn't be good value even at half the rate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nqnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Felt more like a holiday than a business trip.
Million dollar views from the balcony and located close to bars, restaurants, gym, walking/running track on the river.
Manager was extremely helpful and made our stay enjoyable.
Highly recommend this place and will be booking again for my next business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilASA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed in what was listed as a one bedroom apartment which pleasantly had two bedrooms. The new manager is extremely helpful and the rooms were clean and well presented.
There are convenience stores nearby and Brooke at the gym downstairs couldn't be more helpful.
I was working so the experience was different to travellers. Di's restaurant recommendations were all good.
Great public transport around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Ideal location in my favourite part of Brisbane...Teneriffe. Great friendly community. Accommodation very comfortable, older building but excellent views & has all facilities. Made feel very welcomed by Di @ reception. I have stayed here approx 8 times now, and took parents here last weekend as well. River Ferries or 199 bus are both out front. Great restaurants across road & Passione for Italian dinner or the best Gelato. Liquid Hotel for the best steaks. Walk to Powerhouse for drinks, music & comedy. What more do you want. Close to City, Valley and the best coffee shops. I will be back....becoming a local.....

Room Tip: All have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Second time at Goldsborough Place - first time 3 1/2 years ago for 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom and this time in July 2012 for a week in a one bedroom. Both times there was a serious problem with smoke coming in from other balconies. Building is ageing and no longer the nicest available for the money. But the view is great. River Cat ferry is handy and the whole Teneriffe and New farm locale is great. Good food next door and across the street. More for young people. I'm not. Would recommend for the under 35 crowd. Bed was not great but other furnishing were fine and in good repair.

Washer was broken and the staff was very prompt about arranging to fix it the same day. Parking is good and prior time I used the gym in the building with a weekly discount for visitors. Good deal if still offered.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrisbaneExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in a one bed apartment right on the river. So close it was like being on a boat. Everything on the doorstep - restaurants, ferries, close to city. All amazing and loved it - why stay in a hotel when Goldsborough Apartments are soooo much better. We will make this a regular stay.

Room Tip: Get riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sage Hotel James Street
Sage Hotel James Street
#24 of 168 in Brisbane
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpha Mosaic Hotel Brisbane
Alpha Mosaic Hotel Brisbane
#39 of 168 in Brisbane
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 168 in Brisbane
1,191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Direct Hotels - Pavilion and Governor on Brookes
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Astra Apartments
#104 of 139 in Brisbane
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsborough Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsborough Place

Address: Goldsborough Place 39 Vernon Tce | Teneriffe, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: £96 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldsborough Place 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsborough Place at Teneriffe offers luxury apartments right on the Brisbane river. As well as being is a unique and cost-effective accommodation alternative for the corporate visitor or staff member relocating to Brisbane, Goldsborough Place is the perfect venue for visitors to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Goldsborough Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing