We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms and good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #37 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Upon arrival the staff were friendly and very helpful. The first impression of the room was the size, which included a lounge and table with chairs. The bathroom was slightly older but clean, however the toilet seat was already up. In the cupboard was someone else's pair of pants obviously the last guests. The bed was comfortable however the shower in the morning appeared to have a water saving device attached which affected the water flow. I had a drink from the minibar which appeared to be watered down. Upon checkout the staff were fantastic once again and upon the manager over hearing my comments about the room, I observed him immediately call house keeping to disuss these issues and record his disappointment. It was good to see hotel staff recognise issues which should not have occurred.I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank craigv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have been staying at this property since it was first opened many years ago (20+?).. it has always been a nice place to stay. Recently I stayed on business for the first time in many years. Although the decor and bathroom definitely are showing signs of age, the whole feeling was of comfort. Plush drapery, thick carpet, soft and generous bedding etc. all add up to a nice room experience. I started to question the cold, modern, stark hotels rooms I usually stay in. The service was friendly and professional and I enjoyed the location (jogging along the river early morning was great). I will be back soon. My only quibble was the buffet breakfast experience, too confusing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PlasteredDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and would be happy to go back again.
The experience starts when you are greeted by friendly and efficient staff and your luggage taken to your room. While the hotel is on Kingsford Smith Drive, it is surprisingly quiet and only a short walk from Breakfast Creek and Newstead Park. A good place to base yourself if you want to go to Albion Park Paceway,Eagle Farm Racecourse or Doomben Racecourse.
I would describe our room overlooking the Brisbane River as old world with plush curtains and dark furniture and carpets ( which look almost new ). The bathroom was however starting to show its age with some of the bathroom fittings showing early signs of deterioration.
The bed was comfortable and lighting adequate.
My main criticisms would be the lack of obvious power points and a desk at which to work if needed.
A plus is the free underground parking.

Room Tip: A room with a river view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice riverview, the location gives the chance to walk by the riverside. The hotel is nicely decorated with a very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here for the next trip to Brisbane. Good for business travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank UmitK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great Staff and just a short walk to a lovely park on the River. I wanted to go Kayaing and the staff helped me find an adventure centre called Riverlife also eat at the Hammo Hotel and stay for fun

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Really nice corner room.
Reception area nicely decked out for Xmas. My only issue, the pool area and surrounds needs an overhaul, shade sails were in need of a good clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jepboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I've stayed in Brisbane but never here before but I will in the future! Great room well layed out beautiful furniture clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable a range of pillows and a a very quite air conditioner. Breakfast was great and the service very good. Liked the free apples on each floor. Conference facilities a little tired but everything worked and meals were on time.
The room could could have few more power points for computers and phones and the wi fi broadband cost was way too expensive so bring your own!
Will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asterix2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#8 of 170 in Brisbane
347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#116 of 170 in Brisbane
147 reviews
1 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £75 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing