We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired room but view of river awesome!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tired room but view of river awesome!!!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Pleased to hear they are planning a refurbishment of this hotel as the rooms although clean and tidy are extremely dated. 40+ years ago they would of been magnificent. Downstairs the restaurant and bar have been done and were great. The view of the river was awesome!!

Room Tip: Ask for river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurritago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    149
    35
    13
    3
See reviews for
40
159
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were so tired after a long flight from South Africa and were very happy to reach Brisbane. More happy when we saw our room, in the corner and very quiet. We had a good rest and the evening had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. Everything was perfect. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with the view on the river will be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahara02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel presented no issues during my recent trip on business, but equally there's nothing to make it stand out other than maybe it's close to the river and ferry terminals. I think most people would find this a reliable choice but like all city hotels, can be expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Visiting friends from overseas who were staying in Brisbane, we booked a night at the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. A room overlooking the Hamilton reach of the Brisbane River with full breakfast for the both of us cost only $159. A nice little touch however, was the two Magnum Ice creams that came with the deal. About to undergo renovation, the hotel still looks quite good as we last stayed there in 1998 when it was then the Powerhouse Hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful; in particular Jodie and Cameron at reception. The full breakfast allows patrons to order anything from the impressive breakfast menu and then take advantage of the buffet for fruits; pastries and host of tasty items. For this sort of value we will definitely stay there for future Brisbane sojourns.

Room Tip: There was some traffic noise in our room around afternoon peak hour but even on the first floor we r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyCoastDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wunstorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Brisbane Riverview Hotel is an excellent placo of accomodation in Brisbane. From most of the rooms you'll have a nice panoramic view over the Brisbane river and Newstead Park to the skyline of the city.
Personnel is extremely attentively in supporting the guests. Breakfast buffet with European continental style and hot breakfast from the kitchen to gratify everybody's wishes.The rooms are wide and luxorius including queen size beds, Air condition and colour TV with privat channels (extra costs).
The Riverview Hotel is three minutes away from the bus stop to reach city centre. And the next City Cat stop can be reached by a 15-20 minutes walk.
This hotel is my prefferred lodging whenever I visit Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-Nutzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

255 dollars a night and breakfast isn't included!!!!! Hotel is looking very old and tired. Bathrooms are in need of an major upgrade. To become a breakfast staff member you must have NO memory. I stayed here for 5 nights and was asked at least 3 times during breakfast everyday what my room number was. I had dinner one night and it was also pretty average. To get into the CBD you are looking at a 20 buck taxi ride which isn't to bad. If you do stay here make sure you walk down the road and have dinner at the breakfast creek hotel.
All in all a very overpriced average hotel.
Wont be back!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nufc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Pleasantly surprised with what we got for the $99 it cost us to stay here. The hotel included a late checkout, a river view room and 2 free drinks. It is positioned an easy drive to the city and is on a regular bus route for those who do not have a vehicle. The rooms was of a reasonable size with plush furnishings. The hotel was in the process of having the rooms refurbished. I did not think they were that bad except the bathroom which was a bit tired. We even got a choice of pillows on request. Staff were very attentive and pleasant.The restaurant at the hotel has a pleasant outlook and a reasonable menu. Unfortunately the restaurant has to compete with the Breakfast Creek Hotel which is just a stone's throw away. Terrific location for night racing at ALbion Park which is also just a short strole away. We will certainly stay there again and can't wait to see the renovations when completed.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippenBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
1.0 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,082 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#11 of 159 in Brisbane
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Breakfast Creek Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Property: Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing