We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #34 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband, myself and 3 month old baby stayed here one night after coming back from being overseas and were catching a flight home the following day.
I had stayed here a few years earlier and was plesently suprised to see the hotel has kept it's old world charm.
I have read the hotel is planning on doing some renovations which is always good to see, I just hope this hotel doesn't modernise too much. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antique-style furnisher and are comfortable, although the bathroom was pretty tired looking.
LOVE the bowls of fruit placed throughout the hotel! It's a feature I haven't seen in many hotels and a couple of apples were a great early brekky on our way out to the airport the following morning.
I can't comment on the restuarant, we went over the road to the Brekky Creek hotel for dinner for a much needed steak after being overseas for 5 weeks where a steak is ridiculously expensive! And our flight home was an early morning flight so we didn't have breakfast in the restaurant either.
The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly, asking if we needed a hand to set up the cot for our infant son and if we needed assistance with our luggage.
We normally stay in the city when we come to Brisbane, although with the city cat ferry terminal a short walk away we may end up staying here more often.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SG_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Pleased to hear they are planning a refurbishment of this hotel as the rooms although clean and tidy are extremely dated. 40+ years ago they would of been magnificent. Downstairs the restaurant and bar have been done and were great. The view of the river was awesome!!

Room Tip: Ask for river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurritago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were so tired after a long flight from South Africa and were very happy to reach Brisbane. More happy when we saw our room, in the corner and very quiet. We had a good rest and the evening had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. Everything was perfect. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with the view on the river will be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sahara02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel presented no issues during my recent trip on business, but equally there's nothing to make it stand out other than maybe it's close to the river and ferry terminals. I think most people would find this a reliable choice but like all city hotels, can be expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Visiting friends from overseas who were staying in Brisbane, we booked a night at the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. A room overlooking the Hamilton reach of the Brisbane River with full breakfast for the both of us cost only $159. A nice little touch however, was the two Magnum Ice creams that came with the deal. About to undergo renovation, the hotel still looks quite good as we last stayed there in 1998 when it was then the Powerhouse Hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful; in particular Jodie and Cameron at reception. The full breakfast allows patrons to order anything from the impressive breakfast menu and then take advantage of the buffet for fruits; pastries and host of tasty items. For this sort of value we will definitely stay there for future Brisbane sojourns.

Room Tip: There was some traffic noise in our room around afternoon peak hour but even on the first floor we r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyCoastDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Brisbane Riverview Hotel is an excellent placo of accomodation in Brisbane. From most of the rooms you'll have a nice panoramic view over the Brisbane river and Newstead Park to the skyline of the city.
Personnel is extremely attentively in supporting the guests. Breakfast buffet with European continental style and hot breakfast from the kitchen to gratify everybody's wishes.The rooms are wide and luxorius including queen size beds, Air condition and colour TV with privat channels (extra costs).
The Riverview Hotel is three minutes away from the bus stop to reach city centre. And the next City Cat stop can be reached by a 15-20 minutes walk.
This hotel is my prefferred lodging whenever I visit Brisbane.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-Nutzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

255 dollars a night and breakfast isn't included!!!!! Hotel is looking very old and tired. Bathrooms are in need of an major upgrade. To become a breakfast staff member you must have NO memory. I stayed here for 5 nights and was asked at least 3 times during breakfast everyday what my room number was. I had dinner one night and it was also pretty average. To get into the CBD you are looking at a 20 buck taxi ride which isn't to bad. If you do stay here make sure you walk down the road and have dinner at the breakfast creek hotel.
All in all a very overpriced average hotel.
Wont be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nufc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#9 of 169 in Brisbane
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 169 in Brisbane
1,213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
1 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £83 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing