We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #23 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Second time around”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a difference a renovation makes! We've been using this hotel as an overnighter for early morning flights, it's just ten minutes from the airport. But our last stay was a disaster due to over ambitious tradies turning the floor above into a 6am work zone. The windows were filthy and there was a general air of complacency when we complained. So, sleep deprived and generallly disgruntled, we vowed never to return! A week later we received a note of apology from the manager offering a complimentary night's accommodation and breakfast. Good move! The rooms are unrecognizable, beautifully decorated, spacious bathrooms and the service impeccable. Couple this with a room with a view of the spectacular Brisbane river and you now have one of the best accommodation spots in town.

But the piece de resistance is Dennis, he's been there for years. Carries your bags, brings you brekkie, fixes the TV. He's a national treasure!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255100Panda006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed our spacious, newly refurbished guest rooms and the convenience of our location, by the River at Hamilton.

We are pleased to advise the completion of our refurbishment process now includes, guest rooms(six out of seven floors now complete), public areas, Plates Restaurant, bars and the exterior of building and landscaping.

PS; Yes Denis is great, and we are so fortunate to have an entire team of wonderful 'national treasures', looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    144
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
39
152
19
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This place was deceiving from the outside it was very nice inside the rooms were retro and vintage modern but with new finishings and the rooms were well sized and clean I stayed here with work and was worried based on some of the reviews but yeah was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sevi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home', during your visit to Brisbane for work requirements.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and the unique style of our spacious, newly appointed guest rooms.

When either work or leisure bring you back to Brisbane, we look forward to having you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel due to an early flight the next day. The lobby feels quite grand and the staff were very helpful. The room itself was quite large with a big bathroom and great views of the Brisbane River. An enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it to people if they are staying in Brisbane. The taxi driver to the airport mentioned that the hotel had undergone renovations recently and he starting to notice that more people are enjoying their stay at this hotel, so it appears the renovations are paying this hotel dividends. Dinner at the restaurant was good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Russ_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, our spacious, newly refurbished guest rooms and your dining experience in Plates Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Located on the river about 10 mins away from the airport, this hotel is great value for money with efficient and friendly service and a great location close to the CBD. The room and bathroom was clean.
Only cable internet is available in the rooms and wifi in the hotel foyer. - this meant that my devices could not be connected to the web. I was disappointed that the hotel charges for internet usage. A better model would be to bundle internet in the room rate.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imtiaz_ctn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

While this hotel isn't five star, it is certainly value for money. The rooms are small but the location and price (and balcony!) make up for it. South Brisbane is a fabulous location and this hotel is within walking distance to the city, South Brisbane beach and restaurants and the XXXX brewery! It is also easily accessible from the airport by train. Worth a stay if you want to be out and about in Brisbane without breaking the bank!

Room Tip: Choose a 'riverview' room....it's worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear valued traveller, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Brisbane. The Brisbane Riverview Hotel is conveniently located by the River at Hamilton, just ten minutes from Brisbane Airport and from the City Centre. From the review posted, it seems you were situated at a different property in a separate location. We would welcome the opportunity of you coming to stay with us, during a return visit to Brisbane, showcasing our superb Hotel, its location, fabulous facilities, free carparking and excellent value for money. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with any future accommodation requirements you may have. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

From the moment we arrived which was midnight, we found the service faultless. Bags taken to our room and car parked for us - this was much appreciated after a long day. Lovely older style hotel with large rooms and excellent river views. Nothing was a problem to the staff and we enjoyed a great breakfast in the restaurant looking out over the river. Nice touch with a bowl of apples on each floor outside the lift doors. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a riverview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having not stayed here since it was the Powerhouse, it has certainly dated, but still comfortable, and of course the views can't be outdated. The current renovation programme will bring it up to speed, and the convenient location will combine to offer a worthwhile accommodation option on the fringe of the city, and handy to the airport.
The staff were obliging, parking free, and the Breakfast Creek Hotel only a couple of minutes walk away. The ferry terminal is a good 25 minutes walk or short drive, and parking is available. The ferry trip into town is relaxing and cheap, although not recommended if you're in a hurry.
The Riverview is also a short drive to the surprisingly varied restaurant strip in Racecourse Road.
Enjoyable couple of nights' stay, and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Obviously higher floors, with river/city view and preferable corner room would provide the best opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robtup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Property: Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing