We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a good position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #37 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We wanted to stay in a hotel pretty close to the city and the Suncorp Stadium and we picked the Brisbane Riverview - we got a room for a great rate on offer and it did tick the box as far as location was concerned.
From the outside, it didn't look overly special but as soon as we got in we were pleasantly surprised - décor was all Victorian Style, which did set a difference from the standard modern-hotels which look all the same. I was reading that the hotel is undergoing renovations and they will be completed January next year with the last two floors. We were given a room on the first floor and thanks to the special rate we purchased, we got a free upgrade to a river view room. Our room was one of the renovated ones and it looked lovely! Very romantic. Nice, big windows with panoramic view, black and white themed bathroom, retro-vintage wall art and a very comfortable bed. There was a pillow menu as well. Room and bathroom were very clean. The only thing that worried me was the traffic noise - being on the lowest floor, I could clearly hear the cars and trucks passing by as that road was quite busy, but we slept through without any issues. We were possibly very tired, so we didn't hear a thing!! We didn't have breakfast included, however we ordered some meals as room service. Staff was very efficient and we had it all delivered within 20 minutes. No other noise issues due to renovations, we barely noticed any movements from tradies etc.
Staff at reception and concierge was courteous and helpful as well, so definitely no complaints. It took us about 10 minutes to reach Suncorp Stadium and just over 15 mins to reach the city, so position was perfect also. If you are looking for a lovely hotel with a difference, I would definitely recommend the Riverview.

Room Tip: Ask for a room floor 2-3 or above to avoid traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VV82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear valued traveller

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us here at the Brisbane Riverview Hotel.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, just 6.4kms (7 mins) to Suncorp Stadium and just 8.8kms (12 mins) to the Airport.

Our team were also delighted you mentioned our new look and style. Our refurbishment is almost complete with this process including all of our spacious guest rooms (six out of seven floors are finished), Plates Restaurant, Bars, Public Areas, the Exterior of our building and landscaping included.

Providing a unique difference and creating a memorable stay, we pride ourselves on providing excellent services and facilities and are pleased you experienced this with the convenience of our 24 hour in room dining options and the 'little touches' such as pillow menus in each of our rooms.

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed there one night. Is apparently undergoing renovations, but my room was not renovated so I won't comment on the decor. Not sure about the location as it seemed quite a way from anywhere but was close to the airport. I had a river view room but was very noisy as the hotel is on a busy road. The traffic kept me awake most of the night. The shower was really low, anyone over 5'5 would struggle to stand under it - not sure how or if this is being addressed in the refurb as the ceilings are pretty low. One really great thing which I hardly see anymore, is a biscuit to have with a cup of tea. Most hotels these days you have to eat one of the $5 mini bar cookies. I gave an extra score for this! Staff were very good too

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank 383traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home' during your recent visit for Business related travel.

We are pleased to advise our refurbishment process is almost complete. Included in this process has been our spacious guest rooms (six out of seven floors have been completed), Plates Restaurant, Bars, Public Areas and the Exterior of Building including Landscaping. As part of these renovations, all guest rooms were completely renovated with all furniture, fixtures, fittings and plumbing being replaced and redone making way for a new look and functionality.

We pride ourselves on our team and the service provided and have shared your comments regarding the high level of service received during your stay.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back again soon and showcasing our completed new style.

View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed overnight to go to a function in Brekky Creek, which was only a 5 minute walk. The room was newly renovated, spacious and the bed comfortable. There is even a pillow menu for those fussy sleepers.
Being right on the road we thought it would be noisy, but didn't hear a thing when we inside the room.
Breakfast was great and the hottest buffet food I've ever had at a hotel, sat overlooking the river and park, which would have been lovely for a morning walk.
Ask for a quiet room, we were on the 5th floor.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarolW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear valued guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Brisbane Riverview Hotel for your recent stay in Brisbane.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and you made the most out of our location, relaxing by the River at Hamilton.

Excitedly, our transformation is almost complete and this has included all of our spacious guest rooms, bars, public areas, the exterior of building, landscaping and of course Plates Restaurant, where you enjoyed our beautiful Breakfast Buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again to View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

No major complaints, just some minor annoyances.

- fire alarms going off at night
- 21st party guests downstairs allowed to be much too noisy into early hours of the morning
- the road noise from outside is significant
- tried calling 24 hr room service twice, but no answer
- even though I had a late checkout, was woken three times by housekeeping coming into the room!
- front office staff were a little uppity, not exactly eager to serve
- I booked a deal online that at checkin they claimed was cheaper because of renovations, but there was no mention of this on the website or in the confirmation email.

I'd stay here again, the rooms are surprisingly nice & there's free parking. But it won't be my #1 choice.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel, during your recent visit to Brisbane.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed our new style and the added benefit of our complimentary carparking, for your stay.

Excitedly, our transformation is due for completion in February 2014. This process has included all of our spacious, guest accommodation rooms (six out of seven floors now complete), Plates Restaurant, Bars, Public Areas, Exterior of Building and Landscaping.

We appreciate your feedback and have presented your comments to our Management Team, with the aim of enhancing the delivery of our customer service and looking after you, our valued guests.

Thank you again for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home', we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a difference a renovation makes! We've been using this hotel as an overnighter for early morning flights, it's just ten minutes from the airport. But our last stay was a disaster due to over ambitious tradies turning the floor above into a 6am work zone. The windows were filthy and there was a general air of complacency when we complained. So, sleep deprived and generallly disgruntled, we vowed never to return! A week later we received a note of apology from the manager offering a complimentary night's accommodation and breakfast. Good move! The rooms are unrecognizable, beautifully decorated, spacious bathrooms and the service impeccable. Couple this with a room with a view of the spectacular Brisbane river and you now have one of the best accommodation spots in town.

But the piece de resistance is Dennis, he's been there for years. Carries your bags, brings you brekkie, fixes the TV. He's a national treasure!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255100Panda006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear valued traveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed our spacious, newly refurbished guest rooms and the convenience of our location, by the River at Hamilton.

We are pleased to advise the completion of our refurbishment process now includes, guest rooms(six out of seven floors now complete), public areas, Plates Restaurant, bars and the exterior of building and landscaping.

PS; Yes Denis is great, and we are so fortunate to have an entire team of wonderful 'national treasures', looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place was deceiving from the outside it was very nice inside the rooms were retro and vintage modern but with new finishings and the rooms were well sized and clean I stayed here with work and was worried based on some of the reviews but yeah was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Sevi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home', during your visit to Brisbane for work requirements.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and the unique style of our spacious, newly appointed guest rooms.

When either work or leisure bring you back to Brisbane, we look forward to having you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel due to an early flight the next day. The lobby feels quite grand and the staff were very helpful. The room itself was quite large with a big bathroom and great views of the Brisbane River. An enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it to people if they are staying in Brisbane. The taxi driver to the airport mentioned that the hotel had undergone renovations recently and he starting to notice that more people are enjoying their stay at this hotel, so it appears the renovations are paying this hotel dividends. Dinner at the restaurant was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Russ_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear valued traveller

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, our spacious, newly refurbished guest rooms and your dining experience in Plates Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#8 of 170 in Brisbane
347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#116 of 170 in Brisbane
147 reviews
1 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £76 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing