We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too difficult”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #29 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing too difficult”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here overnight on our way overseas because it's so close to the airport and because our travel agent said that they would look after our car at no charge while we were away. Turned out that was true, but the limit is 2 weeks. We were away for 4. However, the hotel staff honoured the promise made by our misinformed travel agent and agreed to keep our car at no cost. We checked in around lunchtime, and having come from NSW we were starving. The restaurant wasn't open yet, but they cooked us a couple of burgers and some chips regardless and served us in the bar. The staff were wonderful! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Our room was comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmony2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel, during your recent visit to Brisbane.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, just 8 kms from Brisbane Airport (12 minutes), making us a relaxed option for pre or post flights or cruise accommodation requirements and of course the added benefit of Free parking.

Our team, were delighted to receive your feedback regarding the high standard of service delivered and we certainly look forward to exceeding your expectations upon your next visit.

View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel and North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, thank you again for your support and we look forward to seeing you at one of our Hotels soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    149
    35
    13
    3
See reviews for
40
159
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for an anniversary, although not far from our home, while we visited the local Golden Gondolas and the Breakfast Creek Hotel.

We stayed in a recently refurbished room and it was just magnificent (the refurbishment program, floor by floor, is just about complete).

The service was impressive too, with plenty of attention provided in the foyer. We had some special requests when we booked, all of which were honoured. The hotel has a cosy on-site bar as well.

Possibly a bit off the beaten track for the city or the airport, but only a short walk to Fortitude Valley and close to local attractions (including Albion Park Raceway).

This now feels like a very luxurious hotel, yet for a budget price tag - was very impressed by the value for money.

One complaint though, that I did mention on checkout - a hotel of this calibre will usually have good thick soft toilet paper! This one had very basic paper, the kind you find in Council public toilets! Upgrade the paper and the place will be perfect!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the new style and look of our Hotel and the convenience of our location, relaxing by the River, at Hamilton. Nearby entertainment precincts such as the Breakfast Creek Hotel, Wharf Area and Fortitude Valley, are certainly popular spots (as we always say, you don't need to be in the Centre of the City to be the centre of attention!')

Excitedly, we are able to advise our refurbishment process is nearing completion. This transformation has included; spacious guest accommodation rooms (six out of seven floors completed), Plates Restaurant, Bars, Public Areas, Exterior of Building and Landscaping.

Thank you for providing your feedback and sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel and North Sydney Harbourview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We wanted to stay in a hotel pretty close to the city and the Suncorp Stadium and we picked the Brisbane Riverview - we got a room for a great rate on offer and it did tick the box as far as location was concerned.
From the outside, it didn't look overly special but as soon as we got in we were pleasantly surprised - décor was all Victorian Style, which did set a difference from the standard modern-hotels which look all the same. I was reading that the hotel is undergoing renovations and they will be completed January next year with the last two floors. We were given a room on the first floor and thanks to the special rate we purchased, we got a free upgrade to a river view room. Our room was one of the renovated ones and it looked lovely! Very romantic. Nice, big windows with panoramic view, black and white themed bathroom, retro-vintage wall art and a very comfortable bed. There was a pillow menu as well. Room and bathroom were very clean. The only thing that worried me was the traffic noise - being on the lowest floor, I could clearly hear the cars and trucks passing by as that road was quite busy, but we slept through without any issues. We were possibly very tired, so we didn't hear a thing!! We didn't have breakfast included, however we ordered some meals as room service. Staff was very efficient and we had it all delivered within 20 minutes. No other noise issues due to renovations, we barely noticed any movements from tradies etc.
Staff at reception and concierge was courteous and helpful as well, so definitely no complaints. It took us about 10 minutes to reach Suncorp Stadium and just over 15 mins to reach the city, so position was perfect also. If you are looking for a lovely hotel with a difference, I would definitely recommend the Riverview.

Room Tip: Ask for a room floor 2-3 or above to avoid traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VV82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us here at the Brisbane Riverview Hotel.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, just 6.4kms (7 mins) to Suncorp Stadium and just 8.8kms (12 mins) to the Airport.

Our team were also delighted you mentioned our new look and style. Our refurbishment is almost complete with this process including all of our spacious guest rooms (six out of seven floors are finished), Plates Restaurant, Bars, Public Areas, the Exterior of our building and landscaping included.

Providing a unique difference and creating a memorable stay, we pride ourselves on providing excellent services and facilities and are pleased you experienced this with the convenience of our 24 hour in room dining options and the 'little touches' such as pillow menus in each of our rooms.

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed there one night. Is apparently undergoing renovations, but my room was not renovated so I won't comment on the decor. Not sure about the location as it seemed quite a way from anywhere but was close to the airport. I had a river view room but was very noisy as the hotel is on a busy road. The traffic kept me awake most of the night. The shower was really low, anyone over 5'5 would struggle to stand under it - not sure how or if this is being addressed in the refurb as the ceilings are pretty low. One really great thing which I hardly see anymore, is a biscuit to have with a cup of tea. Most hotels these days you have to eat one of the $5 mini bar cookies. I gave an extra score for this! Staff were very good too

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 383traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home' during your recent visit for Business related travel.

We are pleased to advise our refurbishment process is almost complete. Included in this process has been our spacious guest rooms (six out of seven floors have been completed), Plates Restaurant, Bars, Public Areas and the Exterior of Building including Landscaping. As part of these renovations, all guest rooms were completely renovated with all furniture, fixtures, fittings and plumbing being replaced and redone making way for a new look and functionality.

We pride ourselves on our team and the service provided and have shared your comments regarding the high level of service received during your stay.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back again soon and showcasing our completed new style.

View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight to go to a function in Brekky Creek, which was only a 5 minute walk. The room was newly renovated, spacious and the bed comfortable. There is even a pillow menu for those fussy sleepers.
Being right on the road we thought it would be noisy, but didn't hear a thing when we inside the room.
Breakfast was great and the hottest buffet food I've ever had at a hotel, sat overlooking the river and park, which would have been lovely for a morning walk.
Ask for a quiet room, we were on the 5th floor.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear valued guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Brisbane Riverview Hotel for your recent stay in Brisbane.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and you made the most out of our location, relaxing by the River at Hamilton.

Excitedly, our transformation is almost complete and this has included all of our spacious guest rooms, bars, public areas, the exterior of building, landscaping and of course Plates Restaurant, where you enjoyed our beautiful Breakfast Buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again to View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

No major complaints, just some minor annoyances.

- fire alarms going off at night
- 21st party guests downstairs allowed to be much too noisy into early hours of the morning
- the road noise from outside is significant
- tried calling 24 hr room service twice, but no answer
- even though I had a late checkout, was woken three times by housekeeping coming into the room!
- front office staff were a little uppity, not exactly eager to serve
- I booked a deal online that at checkin they claimed was cheaper because of renovations, but there was no mention of this on the website or in the confirmation email.

I'd stay here again, the rooms are surprisingly nice & there's free parking. But it won't be my #1 choice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel, during your recent visit to Brisbane.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed our new style and the added benefit of our complimentary carparking, for your stay.

Excitedly, our transformation is due for completion in February 2014. This process has included all of our spacious, guest accommodation rooms (six out of seven floors now complete), Plates Restaurant, Bars, Public Areas, Exterior of Building and Landscaping.

We appreciate your feedback and have presented your comments to our Management Team, with the aim of enhancing the delivery of our customer service and looking after you, our valued guests.

Thank you again for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home', we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a difference a renovation makes! We've been using this hotel as an overnighter for early morning flights, it's just ten minutes from the airport. But our last stay was a disaster due to over ambitious tradies turning the floor above into a 6am work zone. The windows were filthy and there was a general air of complacency when we complained. So, sleep deprived and generallly disgruntled, we vowed never to return! A week later we received a note of apology from the manager offering a complimentary night's accommodation and breakfast. Good move! The rooms are unrecognizable, beautifully decorated, spacious bathrooms and the service impeccable. Couple this with a room with a view of the spectacular Brisbane river and you now have one of the best accommodation spots in town.

But the piece de resistance is Dennis, he's been there for years. Carries your bags, brings you brekkie, fixes the TV. He's a national treasure!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255100Panda006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed our spacious, newly refurbished guest rooms and the convenience of our location, by the River at Hamilton.

We are pleased to advise the completion of our refurbishment process now includes, guest rooms(six out of seven floors now complete), public areas, Plates Restaurant, bars and the exterior of building and landscaping.

PS; Yes Denis is great, and we are so fortunate to have an entire team of wonderful 'national treasures', looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
1.0 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,085 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#10 of 160 in Brisbane
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Breakfast Creek Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Property: Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing