We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy air conditioner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dodgy air conditioner”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel Thursday 13th March. Friendly staff, good location and spacious room. The downside was the air conditioner kept switching back to heat, this made for a very poor nights rest. Hotel staff were aware of the problem but did nothing to let us know when booking into the room. There was no river view and the rate was $250.00 room only. Not good enough, will not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't be shy to ask questions before booking your room. Is there a view, are there any helpful t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paymyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear valued travellers, we appreciate your feedback and were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, our spacious guest rooms and of course the service delivered by our fabulous team. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue you experienced with regards to the Air Conditioning. As part of our recent refurbishment process, we have installed new Air Conditioning units and our maintenance team have been made aware of your experience to ensure this is rectified. View Hotels Australia looks forward to welcoming you back soon; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    146
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
39
154
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed last night. I've been here before. Pros: comfortable bed, friendly staff, free parking, spacious room. Cons: other peoples hair on my toweling (pet peeve), expensive breakfast buffet, road noise, tv in gym not working (aargh!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shintri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear valued traveller, thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home'. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed, our spacious stylishly appointed guest rooms, the convenience of free parking and the service delivered by our fabulous team. We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns regarding your experience to our attention. View Hotels Australia looks forward to welcoming you back again soon; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for one night on the way back from a big trip. It's in a great location close to the airport.

The rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, very clean and well presented.

I would have liked to use the pool as there wasn't much to do in the area, although it was totally in the shade and didn't look very nice or appealing. Maybe that should be the next thing to be refurbished :)

The lady on the desk when we checked out in the morning was great and helped us find a really nice place to have breakfast on the way to the airport- made our morning!

I'm not sure about the quality of the restaurant as we didn't use it but I would recommend this hotel as the staff are friendly and the room is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear valued travellers, thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home', during your recent visit to Brisbane. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, near the Airport and of course just a two minute walk to the Breakfast Creek Hotel, Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed our stylishly appointed 'brand new' guest rooms and service. Next visit, we hope you can stay longer to enjoy Plates Restaurant, with our superb food on offer including our Buffet Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Menus. View Hotels Australia looks forward to welcoming you back soon. Brisbane Riverview Hotel, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is close to the airport and major freeways therefore it is easy to access. The rooms are modern and spacious. The breakfast area was also very good. Ask for a river view room and you won't be disappointed. The hotel is also only walking distance to Breakfast creek Hotel where the food is great.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear valued traveller, thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home'. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, new Breakfast Buffety, our style and of course our fabulous River views. View Hotels Australia looks forward to welcoming you back soon; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview, North Sydney Harbourview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Riverview for 4 nights on a work assignment. My room had a living room and the bedroom was in a separate room which was nicer than just having a normal hotel room! The hotel is just completing a refurbishment of its rooms and they are modern and relaxed with all the conveniences you look for in a hotel room.
The restaurant on site sets a high standard if you don't want to venture out for meals and the breakfast buffet offers a very wide range of fresh fruits, cereals and Danish and hot breakfast items.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Breakfast Creek hotel is a stone's throw away and, if you like steaks, a great place for dinner.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerys2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home' during your recent visit to Brisbane and taking the time to share your experience.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed our spacious, newly appointed guest rooms, your dining experiences for Breakfast and Dinner in Plates Restaurant (Our Chef and his team are passionate about creating menus showcasing the freshest of local seasonal produce) and of course the convenience of our location for work and additional dining precincts.

Whether travelling for work or leisure, we look forward to welcoming you to View Hotels again soon; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel and North Sydney Harbourview Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Good hotel close to the airport. We stayed here for one night while dropping our son to airport. Great location with places to eat nearby. Room was a good size for 3 and the extra touch of apples in the hallways and lobby was nice. We didn't eat here though so can't rate that. We definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No tips sorry. Was a very quick stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and stay with us at the Brisbane Riverview Hotel.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location and our spacious, newly refurbished guest rooms.

Our team pride themselves on offering personalised service and they were pleased to hear you noticed our 'little touches', such as the fresh apples on our accommodation floors and public areas, supplied daily.

View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel and North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, look forward to welcoming you again soon, where hopefully we can entice you stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here overnight on our way overseas because it's so close to the airport and because our travel agent said that they would look after our car at no charge while we were away. Turned out that was true, but the limit is 2 weeks. We were away for 4. However, the hotel staff honoured the promise made by our misinformed travel agent and agreed to keep our car at no cost. We checked in around lunchtime, and having come from NSW we were starving. The restaurant wasn't open yet, but they cooked us a couple of burgers and some chips regardless and served us in the bar. The staff were wonderful! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Our room was comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmony2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel, during your recent visit to Brisbane.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, just 8 kms from Brisbane Airport (12 minutes), making us a relaxed option for pre or post flights or cruise accommodation requirements and of course the added benefit of Free parking.

Our team, were delighted to receive your feedback regarding the high standard of service delivered and we certainly look forward to exceeding your expectations upon your next visit.

View Hotels Australia; Brisbane Riverview Hotel, Melbourne Parkview Hotel and North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, thank you again for your support and we look forward to seeing you at one of our Hotels soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 157 in Brisbane
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
430 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 157 in Brisbane
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Property: Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing