We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Brisbane Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Base Brisbane Uptown
Ranked #72 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Australia
1 review
“Great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Reception staff really unhelpful, I asked what there was to do here and I was told its all there in front if you!!! Yip bits of paper with some info lying on the desk. No alcohol, day 2 someone cooked their dinner and placed a bottle of red wine on the table, staff did and said nothing. Smoking balcony on first floor is where they weight and bag their hash for selling! Folk invite friends/girls etc into their room and stay all night upsetting other guests and still staff do nothing. I'd avoid and am looking at alternative accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazmur169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Kazmur169,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts. It's unfortunate to read of your experience here. We actually pride ourselves on thoughtful and helpful staff so I'm sorry this didn't come through for you. The posters on the desk are only intended as a quick reference guide and not a substitute for our local knowledge and advice, it's a shame you didn't get to benefit from this.

By the nature, size of the hostel and staffing arrangements it is not possible to have eyes everywhere at everytime of day so naturally people will try to bend the rules. All we can hope is that people report things to us and then we can act accordingly. Had you come to reception to report such issues we would have happily and swiftly dealt with them - no need for any guest to out up with others disrespect.
Travel safe mate and all the best.
Kind Regards,
The Base Uptown Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    63
    48
    42
    35
See reviews for
6
35
107
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although I only stayed at the hostel for a few hours to relax between a bus ride and a flight I really have to say I enjoyed it heaps and would have loved to stay on longer!

Expecting a normal hostel I actually felt like staying at a hotel instead :) I found the stuff super friendly, felt very well looked after - and my room was just amazing! Very clean, TV, showers, air condition and the bed was comfy as. I have to admit that I actually missed my flight haha - this might have been one of the reasons ;)

Next time I defs will plan to stay on longer!

Room Tip: Private Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Felix K,
Thanks for your review my friend. It's great to read of your fantastic (albeit breif) experience here. We do aim to make our private rooms feel like somewhat of a mini hotel room so it's really pleasing to read that you felt so comfortable and relaxed in your surroundings.
I do hope you get the chance to come back but perhaps set your alarm a bit earlier if you do to make that flight. haha
Safe travels and all the best.
Kind Regards,
The Base Uptown Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Great location right across the street from the transit centre so it's easy to get to/from the airport and greyhound busses.
Staff was friendly and knowledgable, helped suggest things to do and book activities. Things to do everyday in joint with the other 2 base hostels, the walking tour was phenomenal!
Kitchen is very small and cramped, took a long time to cook things but the attached bar had great deals every day!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mcfarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Mcfarla,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts mate. Obviously the location worked great for you so I'm really glad to hear that. It's even better to read of your experience with our staff as this is something we strive to perfect. The daily hostel activities have been getting more popular every week too so it's great you took advantage of these.
The kitchen does experience a bit of pressure however we are always working with our team to mitigate this where possible.
I myself do take advantage of the bars specials too!
Enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
The Base Uptown Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I didn't think that much of this hostel. We stayed here for one night, best thing about it is the location to the bus station if you are catching an early bus in the morning. Rooms are cleanish and basic but wouldn't like to have stayed more than one night. They also charge for WIFI (like most places in Oz).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi rosieIreland,
Thanks for the quick review mate. I'm glad the location suited you and your room was cleanish.
We acknowledge being charged for WiFi is never ideal but the reason you see this so much in Australia is that our data prices are really high over here and it's just something many places have to do, especially the bigger hostels.
Safe travels and all the best mate.
Kind Regards,
The Base Uptown Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel needs new beds the bed in room 42 is just like laying on springs my back has been sore for the last week because of this.
The kitchen is putrid stove tops take so long to heat up you mays well just get take away.
The upside was very friendly staff and great bathroom and TV was a good size and the location of the hostel is fabulous.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Marcus S,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review mate. I must confess this is the first complaint I've recieved about our beds before so it is unfortunate to hear you had a bad sleep. I do take your complaint seriously though and will be checking the bed in question today to ensure it is of a sellable quality.
I'm sorry to also hear of your bad experience with the kitchen also. By their nature hostel kitchens experience a lot of pressure but we have just introduced a 4th cleaning shift per day to help relieve this pressure.
On the other hand I'm glad you had a positive interaction with staff (we pride ourselves on this), and the bathroom, TV and hostel's location were all beneficial for you.
Travel safe and all the best mate.
Kind regards,
The Base Uptown Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hostel delivers everything you would expect to receive from a high quality, comfortable, flashpacker hostel. More like a hotel really!

It’s located s stone’s throw from the transit centre so hopping on the Greyhound up or down the coast is easy. It’s also in the Brisbane CBD so it’s easy to access night spots, shopping and restaurants.

I found the staff really friendly and would highly recommend this great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 344Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hey 344Lucy,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
I'm glad you had such a great time and are so enthusiastic in spreading the love - how fantastic.
Hopefully we see you again.
All the best.
The Base Uptown Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Perfect location, clean, smart and attached to a awesome bar with backpacker deals + amazing food! Had a excellent stay! would 100% come again!

Its the best out of all 3 base hostels in Brissy.

....................................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobodycares91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex O, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Nobodycares91,
Thanks for the review mate. Obviously you had a great time here so that's awesome.
Hopefully we see you again (or more people like you).
Safe travels and all the best.
-The Base Uptown Crew

P.S. - BaseUptowncares91
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Hotel Jen Brisbane
#33 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.0 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#8 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#107 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#61 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Brisbane Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Uptown

Property: Base Brisbane Uptown
Address: 466 George St | Cnr Herschel & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Tinbilly Travellers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from a great range of dorms or private rooms, all fully ensuited, air-conditioned and sound proofed! We will help you go out and explore wonderful Brisbane or if you prefer catch up on some emails enjoy our common area with Foxtel TV, cook in the kitchen or pop downstairs to the Tin Bar & Grill, make friends, go for a drink and see where the mood takes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Base Brisbane Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinbilly Travellers Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing