We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Demeaning treatment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brisbane International - Virginia
Ranked #34 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Demeaning treatment.”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We arrived after a 450 kilometer drive.
I paid for the stay using the EFTPOS facility. Because of not using a credit card I incurred a $100.00 deposit which is used to ensure against losses from the mini bar and other expenses. It cost $175.00 for the night for a Motel Room not as suggested by the establishments name, a Hotel Room.
I understand the need for the deposit and accepted it but not ten minutes after arriving at our room, an employee knocked on the door and after being admitted, removed all the contents of the mini bar. He stated that the front office had requested that he do so. According to the mini bar price list there was a little over $200.00 worth of product in the fridge.
As stated I understood the need for a deposit but cannot accept the removal of the goods from the mini bar and see it as nothing less than an insult and a slur against my integrity. If as mentioned by the cold mannered girl in the office it is company policy then I would suggest a review because until then I will strongly recommend people stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Quiet room.
  • Disliked — Reception staff and evident company policy.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Road4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    251
    91
    22
    11
See reviews for
151
163
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

This motel (it can't really be called a hotel as such) is located in the northern part of Brisbane only a few mintues drive from the Entertainment Centre which is great if you're going to a concert or show. I stayed here twice during April 08 for this reason.

The staff are quite helpful and friendly, checking in doesn't take long and they provide you with a map of all the rooms so you don't get lost navigating the maze of roads. An important note: taxis aren't very reliable in this area so allow half an hour because myself & the staff called for a taxi 3 times before 1 turned up.

The rooms are surprisingly large and the beds of reasonable comfort. The bathrooms though are quite small, facilities are adequate, carpet had stains. The air con system is rather noisy and didn't need to be used much due to it being autumn. For some reason at nights the outside air travels into the rooms quite easily so the rooms mustn't be insulated well and there wasn't really a heater setting on the air con. This may mean requesting additional blankets in the winter months unless you plan on sleeping with layers of clothing.

The outdoor pool is small, cold, and dirty so I avoided it. The restaurant where they have an all you can eat brekkie is alright but nothing special. You can get free newspapers from reception each morning which saves going to a newsagent.

This motel probably suffers from the fact there isn't any competition in the outer north brissie area so they haven't bothered rennovating or updating the place. With a little time, money & elbow grease it could easily be worthy of 4 stars.

  • Liked — Very close to the Entertainment Centre
  • Disliked — Very dated & cold rooms, dirty cold pool, long wait for taxis
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, 9 June 2015
Hi Stormeh
Thank you for taking the time to review our property – way back in 2008!! You’ll be pleased to know there have been a few changes since you stayed with us.
We have found a way to make getting a taxi much easier, especially on Concert nights – so thank you for the feedback you provided regarding the terrible time you had trying to get one.
All of our rooms have had some kind of renovation occur since you last stayed and they all now have split system air conditioners, which are all reverse cycle meaning that the rooms are toasty and warm even on the chilliest Brisbane night!!
Thank you again for your comments – it may have taken us a while to respond but we have always read each of our reviews since Tripadvisor began.
We would love to see you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

I have stayed at this motel 6 or 7 times over the past 3 months for business. The only one reason for staying here is its proximity to my place of business on the northside of Brisbane.

Only stay here if you have to, otherwise, try somewhere else. This place is stuck in the 80's and is very "chintsy". The rooms are very, very dated, the carpet is badly stained, the reception staff are OK but again, I think they have been there for 20 years also and are as tired as the rooms are!

They promote themselves as a wedding reception venue - could think of nothing worse - as a bride, groom or guest!

Clientele are mainly blue collar workers who are in Brisbane for work. It is often booked out (I am never as relieved when it is!).
I have paid anywhere between AUD$150 - $180/night which is about $100 too much!

When in Queensland, I always avoid any motel that has the word "Palm" in it - this place is no exception.

There is nothing around the motel. It is essentially in the middle of a light industrial area on a busy road. It is really quite depressing to stay here whilst on business...

I have eaten in the resturant twice during my stays. The staff are very polite but again, the food is stuck in the 80's and rather boring.

There are more signs around the motel than you can poke a stick at it telling you what you can and can't do.

Overall, try somewhere else but unfortunately your choices in the outer northern suburbs of Brisbane are quite limited - believe me, I've tried!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, 9 June 2015
Hi Jove99

What an interesting review – and I am really glad I have come back to our original reviews on Tripadvisor, the ones we got when we really didn’t know what Tripadvisor was all about or how important it would be in our future. We always read them but weren’t always quite so quick to respond, so I would like to take the opportunity now to talk about how your feedback has helped us improve over the years is a great sense of accomplishment.

Firstly you’ll be pleased to know that we have removed the word “palm” from our name and are now known as Brisbane International Virginia. We have also completed some large renovation work both in our rooms and around the grounds. We are a very popular wedding venue – due to our flexibility and wonderful staff – our brides and grooms are rarely disappointed.

Rocklily, our a la carte restaurant has a new chef at the helm and the food is often raved about, city dining without the city prices!

When and if you were to tire of eating in our restaurant we have many dining options within 10 minutes of the Hotel and our staff are always more than happy to make suggestions and give directions.

I would relish the opportunity to have you visit our property again in the near future – I think you find that our rates are very fair and comparable to other accommodations in the area – especially should you choose to book directly on our website.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2007

We (2 adults + 2 kids) stayed here for 1 night while we went to a show at the nearby Brisbane Entertainment Centre.
The family room had two bedrooms and a lounge/kitchen and 1 bathroom. The room sizes were adequate. The decor is very dated and a dingy yellow and faded blue made it quite depressing. The carpet was absolutely filthy, with all sorts of dirt and stains, but seeing we only stayed 1 night it wasn't worth moving.
Three very noisy airconditioners worked hard to just keep it cool enough to be comfortable, but the noise was unbearable, and it made it hard to even think. Conversations needed to be very loud to overcome the drone of the aircons.
The room smelt of an abandoned chemical factory.
The ad made this place appear to be resort like and quite upmarket, but the reality is that it is a run down, dingy motel of about 90+ rooms..
The small pool was a cloudy green, with algae thriving on the pool surrounds. The pool area was littered with rubbish and cigarette butts.
With a little TLC, a regular clean, better pool management, and a thorough renovation and repaint this place would probably be quite reasonable, but until then stay at your own risk!

  • Liked — Close to the Brisbane Entertainment Centre
  • Disliked — The dingy run down room, the filthy carpet, the noisy aircons and the filthy pool.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, 9 June 2015
Hi UselessJRPass
While I appreciate it’s been a while since you stayed with us I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for your review. Since your visit we have done quite a bit of renovation, including removal of the old style air conditioners and they have been replaced with reverse cycle split systems. We have also removed and replaced all the kitchens and carpets and updated some of the furnishings. We would love to see you back sometime soon so that you are able to see the changes for yourself.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2006

This hotel is especially great for families who don't want a central city location and want some space for their kids to let off steam. You do need a rental car though but that is just about a given for a family in Brisbane anyway.
They have several family sized, self contained villas and while not new they are well kept and clean (and I am very fussy where I stay). We have stayed there several times over the last 6 years and have consistently found it a great place to stay.
As well as having room to breathe the hotel has a great restaurant and is very handy to the airport and the motorways to the Sunshine and Gold coasts. It is also handy to several local malls for excellent shopping.
Check their website for specials before booking as often you can get breakfast included for very little extra.

  • Liked — It is single level and lovely spacious tropical setting
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayMumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, 9 June 2015
Hi HolidayMumNZ
While it’s taken us a long time to answer this we’d like to say thank you for being our first Tripadvisor review!!!! Way back in 2006. We hope that you have visited us a few more times over the years and if so make yourself known and say hi!
Kind regards
Glenn Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
5.6 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
3.8 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#36 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Essence Serviced Apartments
5.5 mi away
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
#22 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
8.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane International - Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane International - Virginia

Property: Brisbane International - Virginia
Address: Cnr Sandgate & Zillmere Roads | Boondall, Brisbane, Queensland 4034, Australia (Formerly Virginia Palms International)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisbane International - Virginia 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north side of Brisbane, Brisbane International - Virginia is a four star property set amongst 10 acres of lush, tropical gardens. A variety of accommodation is available from a hotel room to a fully serviced one or two bedroom apartment... whatever your accommodation needs, there is something to suit you. We are located only 3 kms away from the Brisbane Entertainment Centre, perfectly situated for the next time you're in town to see your favourite perform in concert. Brisbane International and Domestic Airport are also just 15 mins away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane International - Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Palms International Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing