We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not the best. Quite basic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bender Backpackers
Ranked #62 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK, but not the best. Quite basic.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here when we first arrived into Brisbane but we only stayed one night and moved down the road to Chill Backpackers. The facilities and the rooms were very basic although it was cheaper than other options in town. Still relatively close to the town centre, so location isn't bad. Would stay here again but only if other stuff was booked up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    45
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
27
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It's a bit off the city center (like 20 mins walking) but it's clean and close to coles and claxton st (bars and restaurant).. At the arriving the man at the desk was kind of unfriendly and i had to ask for sheets but then all the rest of the staff was really friendly and everything ended up going good.
I would definitely go back there if i happen to be back in brisbane

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeliss_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australien
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hostel is in a handy location: Only a 5 minute walk to Coles, some shops, a pharmacy and Caxton Street, also close to Suncorp Stadium!
About 10 mins to the Transit Centre on Roma Street where most travellers arrive, 20 mins to the CBD.
Staff is friendly and always up for a chat.
Place is more on the quiet side. So you go out and party, but get decent sleep in the hostel!
This may be one reason why there are always a few longterm guests around in this smallish hostel.
Guaranteed one of the lowest weekly rates in Brisbane at $160 in only a Quad Share!!
Decent amount of toilets and showers all over the building, so never had to wait.
Most importantly rooms and facilities are cleaned properly daily and the place is well looked after! Kitchen closes at 10pm which never bothered me. Unfortunately kitchen and fridge are too small. Free tea.
There is a verandah with a nice view that gets heated on winter evenings and where always a good selection of music is played.
Pool table, licensed premises that sell drinks at affordable prices. Free luggage storage!
Important to me: If you stay here you can be sure to have decent fellow travellers staying with you. No weirdos get checked in and who cant behave has to leave!

Small downsides for me:
- TV room not very homely and not warm enough in winter, might be alright tho in summer.
No actual common room, just the deck
No oven in kitchen and too few pans and pots

Overall really a good place to stay in Brisbane that I recommend! Especially if you like small hostels, dont like massive dorms and if cleanliness matters to you!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room that is NOT located on the lower level, since the washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

When visiting Brisbane the best place to stay, if you want a good bed for a cheap price, is Banana Benders. Everyone is very relaxed and a 20 minute walk to the city center is worth the price! VERY nice staff here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed at Banana Bender for 2 nights in August 2012. The building is really worn down, rooms are noicy and you hear the traffic all night. Since we stayed there in August, it was cold out and really cold in the rooms. The receptionist looked like he had worked for 7 straight days and didn't really wanna help out with anything.

All in all, there should be better places to stay at in Brisbane.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBenders, Manager at Banana Bender Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Daniel, Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I must congratulate you on being such a conscientious contributor - fancy submitting a review some 8 months after you stayed with us at Bananas.
Well done!!
We are constantly working on maintaining the property to a suitable standard so hopefully you will be pleasantly surprised next time. Bananas is sorry to hear the welcome was like the weather ... bit cool. We will try harder in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at Banana Backers for 3 weeks with my girlfriend in March 2013. If you want a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, then this is the place for you! We had a very pleasant stay and the owners Ben, Chris and the staff were always very friendly and accommodating. The hostel is very well price and rooms were always very clean and tidy. It is located very close just 15 mins walk from the transit center and coles supermarket is on the doorstep. High recommend Banana Benders and looking forward to staying again in the future :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Within walking distance to the centre and south bank and with Coles supermarket on the doorstop the location is good. Overall it's a good place in an old building that would benefit from cosmetic upgrade and better cleaning. In dire need of new mattresses and pillows as they are mouldy! Staff superb, good security, kitchen a bit grubby but mainly down to guests. Wifi connection ok at Start but became very poor. overall Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footsteps2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#64 of 129 in Brisbane
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 129 in Brisbane
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 129 in Brisbane
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Bird Backpackers
Big Bird Backpackers
#113 of 129 in Brisbane
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#83 of 129 in Brisbane
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bender Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bender Backpackers

Property: Banana Bender Backpackers
Address: 118 Petrie Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bender Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing