We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bare Minimum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bender Backpackers
Ranked #62 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Bare Minimum”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Okay, so the facilities were clean and location isn't that bad (although most of the hostels are all pretty close to each other it seems).

However, besides the basics, not much to talk about here. The staff really wasn't that helpful or friendly at all. We asked for help with the bus schedule and we got "don't you have internet?"

There are no safes in the room, although they claim theft hasn't been a problem. But you feel nickeled-and-dimed here. You have to pay for wifi ($5 per day, $20 per week) and you would think with paying that fee it would be reliable. But we didn't get any reception in our room and even right next to the WIFI hot spot the service cut in and out and was very poor even when it was working. There are several places in town that have free wifi, don't pay for it here, just go to a coffee shop or something.

There is no airconditioning in the rooms so our room was really stuffy, even with the fan on. Bathrooms and rooms were clean. There is laundry and a good sized kitchen. You have to pay to rent a towel and if you want to store luggage after 4 pm when you check out, there is a fee for that too. You aren't allowed to take alcohol into the hostel because they sell it on premise.

I probably wouldn't stay here again unless there wasn't any other options available. They can really work on their hospitality. A little goes a long way in the backpacking world.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBenders, Front Office Manager at Banana Bender Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for your review Melissa B.
Banana Bender Backpackers tries it's very best for provide backpackers with all the essentials to make their stay a happy and pleasant time. Thanks for complimenting Banana Benders for being clean - CLEAN bedrooms and bathrooms- that is so rare in most hostel review.
But we were surprised and sorry you didn't find the Reception staff approachable and helpful- we will try harder.
Most wifi users enjoy a great service throughout the building including their bedrooms - unfortunately there are a couple of dead spots around the building which we
are working to rectify.
Like many hostels catering for the budget minded traveller we offer air conditioned rooms as an option for an small fee.
Melissa B you obviously chose the cheaper fan cooled option on some of the hottest nights of the year. Sorry again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    45
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
27
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

When I book hostels, I look for 4 things: good location, cheap rates, clean and safe. If those are your criteria as well, this place fits the mold. However, do not expect anything above and behind this...

Pros:
- good prices
- nice covered, outdoor deck
- very clean
- felt safe
- good location

Cons:
- unhelpful staff (a little shocking coming from 3 other Australian hostels that were so friendly! Examples: wouldn't help us make a local phone call, no help with the bus schedule (told us to search it on the Internet which was not the best at this place anyway), told us that "hospitality" isn't their thing)
- wifi was $5/1 day, $7/2 days, $20/week and often times doesn't work (no reception in our room, for example)
- no safes in rooms for storing valuables
- no alcohol allowed (they sell their own)
- $2 to rent a towel

Overall recommendation: I would not recommend this hostel and would only stay here again if everything else was booked.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMaria55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here when we first arrived into Brisbane but we only stayed one night and moved down the road to Chill Backpackers. The facilities and the rooms were very basic although it was cheaper than other options in town. Still relatively close to the town centre, so location isn't bad. Would stay here again but only if other stuff was booked up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It's a bit off the city center (like 20 mins walking) but it's clean and close to coles and claxton st (bars and restaurant).. At the arriving the man at the desk was kind of unfriendly and i had to ask for sheets but then all the rest of the staff was really friendly and everything ended up going good.
I would definitely go back there if i happen to be back in brisbane

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeliss_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australien
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hostel is in a handy location: Only a 5 minute walk to Coles, some shops, a pharmacy and Caxton Street, also close to Suncorp Stadium!
About 10 mins to the Transit Centre on Roma Street where most travellers arrive, 20 mins to the CBD.
Staff is friendly and always up for a chat.
Place is more on the quiet side. So you go out and party, but get decent sleep in the hostel!
This may be one reason why there are always a few longterm guests around in this smallish hostel.
Guaranteed one of the lowest weekly rates in Brisbane at $160 in only a Quad Share!!
Decent amount of toilets and showers all over the building, so never had to wait.
Most importantly rooms and facilities are cleaned properly daily and the place is well looked after! Kitchen closes at 10pm which never bothered me. Unfortunately kitchen and fridge are too small. Free tea.
There is a verandah with a nice view that gets heated on winter evenings and where always a good selection of music is played.
Pool table, licensed premises that sell drinks at affordable prices. Free luggage storage!
Important to me: If you stay here you can be sure to have decent fellow travellers staying with you. No weirdos get checked in and who cant behave has to leave!

Small downsides for me:
- TV room not very homely and not warm enough in winter, might be alright tho in summer.
No actual common room, just the deck
No oven in kitchen and too few pans and pots

Overall really a good place to stay in Brisbane that I recommend! Especially if you like small hostels, dont like massive dorms and if cleanliness matters to you!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room that is NOT located on the lower level, since the washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

When visiting Brisbane the best place to stay, if you want a good bed for a cheap price, is Banana Benders. Everyone is very relaxed and a 20 minute walk to the city center is worth the price! VERY nice staff here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed at Banana Bender for 2 nights in August 2012. The building is really worn down, rooms are noicy and you hear the traffic all night. Since we stayed there in August, it was cold out and really cold in the rooms. The receptionist looked like he had worked for 7 straight days and didn't really wanna help out with anything.

All in all, there should be better places to stay at in Brisbane.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBenders, Manager at Banana Bender Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Daniel, Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I must congratulate you on being such a conscientious contributor - fancy submitting a review some 8 months after you stayed with us at Bananas.
Well done!!
We are constantly working on maintaining the property to a suitable standard so hopefully you will be pleasantly surprised next time. Bananas is sorry to hear the welcome was like the weather ... bit cool. We will try harder in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#64 of 129 in Brisbane
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 129 in Brisbane
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 129 in Brisbane
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Joe's Place Backpackers
Joe's Place Backpackers
#73 of 129 in Brisbane
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#83 of 129 in Brisbane
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bender Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bender Backpackers

Property: Banana Bender Backpackers
Address: 118 Petrie Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bender Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing