We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banana Bender Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
US$176
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$78
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks Charlotte Towers(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$154
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Emporium Hotel(Brisbane)
US$153
US$148
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
34
45
21
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
45
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana bendersminute walkcommon roomdorm roomgreat facilitiesa great stayhostelaustraliawifishowerreceptiontvcitysupermarketratestransit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Very close to City centre, but no city noises and quiet in the sense that it's not a party hostel.
Clean rooms and toilets. Friendly staff.

Nina and Kjell, Finland

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kilu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Banana Benders has a real charm to it, with a terrace area to eat at having some great views day, dusk and night, and the staff being so friendly. The rooms are not cramped and really clean, especially compared to some other hostels in Brisbane (ahem, cloud 9 with their bedbugs). I stayed there by myself and since it's a small hostel I soon made friends with some of the other travellers. It is also located well, only a 5 minute walk to Brisbane Transit Centre on roma street where all the main buses and trains come into, and a 20/30min walk to the city centre and south bank.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I have been travelling for the past 5 years to countries all over the world. I have to say that Banana benders was definatly the pick of the bunch ( no pun intended ) out of a good 25 hostels I stayed in around australia.... The staff were really helpful and a great laugh, really made the place feel like home. The hostel was the cleanest I have seen and the guys helped me will all of the rest of my trip. I had a few bad experiences with a few Brisbane hostels and when I found Banana's I made it home for a month !
Truly you cannot go wrong here great facilities, clean and comfy hostel and 5 star staff !! Great job guys ! I will be going back !

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank nicjr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

After reading the last review, I just had to submit some thoughts..
I stayed in the Banana Bender flats during my stay in Brisbane. They are self contained and great value when you consider the price. They are cheaper than sharing a dorm with 10 drunken wankers as is often the case in the big hostels.
Sure the flats are older but I found them well located OK and clean.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank Martha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

friendly staff, clean room (double)! would come again!

only the location isn't the best of you have a little more luggage and wanna walk there. it's quite close to the bus station, no doubt, but you have to walk uphill.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank derschreihals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews