We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business convention area well presented with lovely staff...but!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have recently attended two seminars at the Rydges and have been impressed both times.
The staff are friendly, the amenities clean and tidy and the courtyard area is a joy to behold.
Only negatives are you are unable to lock the doors from the courtyard area to the internal conference rooms. People were constantly interrupting the "flow" of the talk by their opening of the doors and "looking in". All that attended and especially the speaker found this extremely annoying. I feel that management really needs to do something "proactive" about this.
The wireless internet connection was pathetic!

Other than that, I have no other complaints.

Attended at Rydges
* Facebook Bootcamp
* Payroll and Taxation Training

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiddHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear KiddHouse,

Thank you for your feedback surrounding your recent visit to Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

We are blessed to have such a magnificent facility on the "Podium" level of the hotel and I am glad you were able to enjoy the state-of-the-art facilities.

I will certainly pass on your concerns in relation to the disruption of the meeting to ensure improvements can be made.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel needs lots of work. One thing any traveller needs is a decent shower. The water pulsed between cold and tepid and there was basically no water pressure. The shower is in a bath, there are no non slip mats and I almost had a bad fall. I rang reception who were completely disinterested. At check in there were only two staff and the young lady spent 15 mins explaining city sights in detail to a patron as the check in line grew out through the door.

As for the restaurant it looks good...but service is VERY slow it took 15 mins to have an order taken and then 45 mins for the first course to come. Don't bother walk across the road to Southbank for a good meal.

Room Tip: Don't eat here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Wayne G,

Thank you for your recent feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is disappointing to read the issues you encountered whilst here at the hotel.

My apologies regarding the hot water in your room, I will ensure the maintenance team at the hotel can rectify this for future guests to improve our overall satisfaction.

I do believe in good customer service that is efficient and attentive, my apologies that the receptionist may have been embedded in her description that may have resulted in the line at check-in.

I do hope that I have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel so we are able to display improvements to your overall experience.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Hotel is in a great location. Staff friendly and professional. The Room was very clean and comfortable despite the bathroom being a little tired. Close to QPAC, Southbank and Little Stanley Street which contains a feast of cuisines from all over the world. Stayed the night of the opening of Rydges new restaurant Bacchus. Our room was directly above it five floors up. Celebrations were fine until the very loud music began in the pool area and didn't cease until midnight. I had two athletes staying with me who were competing in a championship event the next day who like me couldn't sleep. Nice to see you look after your 'Priority Guest Members' Rydges. You might like to rethink the name!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Sue T,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Thank you for your ongoing loyalty and support for Rydges South Bank Brisbane as I understand you have been staying with us since 2009.

The review was justified, but a little disappointing for me personally as I have sent an apology email to you in relation to the matters that have been outlined.

Once again, my sincerest apologies for the excessive noise that disrupted your stay with us on the 23rd November, but I do believe this is an isolated incident and would love to think that your past experiences here at the hotel have been nothing but positive.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Well located to Brisbane city
Good walk around South Bank then City for exercise (loop)
Markets on weekend to stroll through to break the dining experince.
Off river Beach with Life Guard for safe swimming (very child friendly)
Oh and of course the Hotel.
Well located to CBD and non work related activities
Excellent Hotel experience ( loved the turn-down Tea experience)
Staff were fantastic (haven't experienced this level of politeness for a long time)
Parking was a five minute wait (Valet).
Breakfast buffet was overwhelming (no Japaneses or Korean but I am sure it was available on request)
Can't think of any negatives
Even gave very explicit directions from airport on web page including expected costs.

Room Tip: Book River side, it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allisbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Allisbella,

Thank you for your excellent comments in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The staff at the hotel are extremely pleased to have such a positive impact on your stay and have opportunity to make your stay an enjoyable one.

There is a real focus on attention to detail and I am glad that this has been delivered.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

What I do like about Rydges Southbank is that when it was built, it really helped to open up the Southbank as an alternate Brisbane city precinct to stay in. I suspect however that it held the monopoly for way too long and the hotel can really do with an extreme makeover.

This wasn't the first time I have stayed here (time before last was in 2001) but I chose Rydges over the other Southbank hotels based on price. I now wish I'd paid the extra and stayed across the road. We were in town for a wedding and wanted to be near West End so this area made sense. I feel that if you're going to stay in Brisbane however, just pay slightly less and stay in the CBD and walk over the bridge. There's a clear bed shortage in Southbank and a cluster of hotels hold rank.

Rydges certainly need to update the rooms, clean up the balconies (from the 9th floor we overlooked black rubber on a lower rooftop) and offer a better service. There is no car parking unless you pay for the valet, and street parking in this area can be tricky. The internet was expensive and slow. Unfortunately since Grey Street has become so busy, the CBD Cafe at the bottom of the hotel is not somewhere you'd like to eat as it's far too noisy from the traffic. And, on a weekend, nothing is open nearby for a decent breakfast or coffee unless you head in to West End.

Sorry Rydges, but we won't be back again until you update your rooms in line with your tariff,or find a way to be more value for money than the nearby competitors.

Room Tip: The higher the better! The rooms facing the city are more expensive but at least you get a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveusorleaveus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear loveusorleaveus,

Thank you for the feedback provided from your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Since the renovations to the Facade and all Food & Beverage areas within the hotel have now been completed, our attention will draw to the rooms.

In relation to the car parking at the hotel, we do offer a full valet service only, however the Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank Parklands provides car parking by the hour.

The hotel has recently invested $400,000 in upgrading its internet services. The hotel now boasts a high speed fully wireless service throughout the building. My apologies you have found this to be slow.
Currently we offer 2 hour complimentary WiFi in the public areas within the hotel and also free access to the business centre. A cheaper option for in-room internet is joining the Priority GUEST Rewards program which will discount the cost by 50%, this can be done for Free at reception.

Hopefully you were able to experience the newly refurbished Podium Level and see the direction of the hotel for the future.

I hope if you change your mind, I have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

It is a perfect location if you are attending a conference at the Convention Centre. The rooms are adequate but have a feel that is a little dated. Breakfast by the pool is a delight especially on a typical sunny Queensland day and the same location make afternoon cocktails a delight. The staff very friendly and the service fast and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear TieTraveller,

Thank you for your recent feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Since the renovations of all of our Food & Beverage areas are now complete, the focus will turn to the hotels rooms, to ensure we can bring a new vibrant feel to the rooms and corridors.

If there is anything that is memorable from your stay, hopefully it will be the newly developed Podium level and the outstanding service that was mentioned in your review.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We just spent a lovely night at this superb hotel even though the storms were crazy. The service was excellent and the room was outstanding. We also enjoyed cocktails and tapas at the pool bar which was very enjoyable even though the aftermath of the storm required a big cleanup. We will be back. Thanks

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Monika M,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and thoughts for us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is always tough to prepare to for such ferocity, but the staff were able to be proactive enough to lock down all items that could have posed as a potential hazard.

Regardless of the large storms that we experienced here over the weekend, I am glad to read that you were able to enjoy all of what Rydges South Bank Brisbane has to offer.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future with what we hope will be more pleasant weather!

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#110 of 169 in Brisbane
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#57 of 169 in Brisbane
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £90 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing