We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Average business hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed a this hotel during a conference at the adjoining Brisbane event centre, Great location, food was of good quality, and the staff very pleasent and helpful. As this was the first time I atayed here I don't know what the other rooms are like but mine although very clean was looking a bit tired and in need of refurbishment

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, mine was a bit claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0HNXM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear J0HNXM2012,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is pleasing to read you have enjoyed the location and that our staff have been both pleasant and helpful.

We have recently completed a full redevelopment of our Podium Level which has brought to the hotel the exquisite Bacchus Restaurant, Pool and Bar and 5 state of the art conferences spaces. Our focus will now draw to the rooms in the hotel.

Thank you again for the review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    825
    328
    96
    54
See reviews for
355
587
99
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here for new year, hired two rooms and 4 of us went to the level 12 function room, we did it last year and it was fantastic, this year it was completly awful and the service was really bad. The worst thing is it costs a fortune $1500 for 4 for the one night. so you would expect better service for that money. never mind would not return. Rydges charge for everything, parking and wifi is all extra, nothing is included, although you pay $315 per room per night,, I feel the least they can do to keep up with others is too offer free WIFI, they do in the downstairs for anyone, yet in the rooms where you have already paid a decent amount of money to stop they charge, this does not make sense to me, that you can walk in off the street and use it free, but if you pay to stay you pay for it. strange.The only plus for this hotel is its close to southbank but thats all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deagon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear deagon1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay with us.

It was disappointing to read your review and the comments you have made. I am passionate about our guests’ experiences and take all feedback onboard to ensure I am able to make changes to improve for the future.

Accommodation packages are available which include the items you have mentioned. Please check the Rydges website for the latest offers. We also have our Priority Guest Rewards program which is free to join offering discounts throughout the stay.

I understand this stay has left a negative impact on you, but I do hope you will consider Rydges South Bank again for any future stays and that we have the opportunity to regain your trust.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

How can you beat this location. Amazing.
The hotel was nice and clean with very friendly staff.
Rooms need a little bit of work but all round not a problem.
Bacchus Bar pool side was lovely but drinks and food were $$$$$.
Bar staff at the Bacchus bar were slow and not always there.
All round I wood totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Join the FREE rewards club for extras and pay a little extra for the breaky and room with an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperEmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear TripperEmelia,

Thank you for the lovely review,

I could not agree more with your title regarding our location, South Bank has so much to offer to its visitors catering for everyone’s needs.

Priority Guest Rewards as you have mentioned in your tip is FREE to join, during your stay you will receive 20% off food and beverage when you dine in one of our restaurants for lunch and dinner along with many other discounts.

I am very grateful for any future recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Excellent value as a mystery hotel @ $119 and beautifully presented rooms. South Bank is a great location - so many restaurants (but that's for another review). We stayed at the Rydges many years ago and were impressed then but the rooms have been fully renovated and are now even more comfortable. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. Only negative is the exorbitant valet parking fees (you can't park your own) $35.

Room Tip: Ask for a the highest floor and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiouslyrelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear curiouslyrelaxed,

Thank you for your wonderful comments in relation to your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to see you have been able to enjoy the hotel and the South Bank precinct. We pride our staff on excellent service so it is pleasing to see this has been received.

The hotel does offer a full valet service, however if the space is pre-booked at the time of the reservation you will receive a discount. Other options for parking are the Brisbane Convention Centre which is attached to the hotel or the South Bank Parklands.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my nine year old daughter after a previous good experience. The hotel is well situated at South Bank near shops, restaurants, cinema and the south bank pool, which is great. Lovely pool and staff were professional. A couple of nice touches were not charging separately for proper coffee at breakfast and bottles of cold water in the car after pick up from valet. But....beware...as although I stayed on a bed and breakfast package I was charged $20 for my daughter's breakfast. When asked why I was told that the breakfast was only for one person per room. This is not clear on the website at all and in my experience is not common practice. I abhor hidden costs and this was a bad example. We were also initially placed in a room directly above the bar, which had a thumping open air music night happening - not sure of the wisdom of placing people with children in this room when there were other options. However to their credit this was quickly resolved and we moved rooms. Overall okay but I doubt I'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear splash7,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is sometimes the small things that make a difference, so it is great to see you have enjoyed the coffee and complimentary water on check out.

Generally when a reservation is made it will only include the breakfasts for adult as the prices for children are variable depending on age. There should have been a note on your confirmation email stating the rate was inclusive of breakfast for the adult. Please accept my apology if this information was unclear as we certainly do not wish to hide costs.

It is disappointing to read you have received a poor room allocation upon check in but pleasing to see the team have been able to rectify this promptly.

I hope if you change your mind you will stay with us again and that I have the pleasure of welcoming back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent the last night of our 4-day SE Queensland tours in Brisbane and conveniently checked into this hotel under its "welcome back program" rather late at about 8.30 pm due to long travelling time from Noosa National Park. We were still able to take a night CityCat river taxi to cruise right up to the New Farm and explored the Valley at night. When we later requested for a late (12 pm) check-out to better match our Auckland flight at 2.25 pm the next day, we were told that the computer system has already put us on late check-out at 1 pm. Similar to the Rydges we previously stayed in Christchurch, this hotel has the best strategic location being surrounded by various venues of cultural and artistic interests. It is just one bridge (Goodwill Bridge) from the Botanical Park and one bridge (Melbourne Bridge) from the CBD and Queens Strreet. We were housed on a 6th floor room with balcony and a fabulous view of the River promenade. The room is well maintained, clean and cosy and the staff being very helpful . We were also given the option for express check out by simply leaving the room keys at the reception and head off to the airport. My wife and I simply wished that we checked in much earlier in the day. Kudos, Rydges.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WithinThe4Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear WithinThe4Sea,

Thank you very much for your kind words,

I am passionate about the hospitality industry and our guest experiences so it is very pleasing to read review such as yours.

It seems you have been able to achieve a great deal in the short time with us, the South Bank location is one of the best in Brisbane. South Brisbane is home to the South Bank Parklands and well known Streets Beach. Our guests are spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants and activities in the precinct.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I booked through a deal on Wotif. I had tickets to a performance at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre. The hotel is right in the middle of all the action at Southbank. 3 minutes walk to QPAC same to restaurants , museum, patrolled beach/pools. 5 minutes to supermarket. The room turned out to be a suite with separate lounge, microwave, sink and verandah. Very comfortable. River views. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear putney10,

Thank you for all the positive comments in relation to your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

South Bank is one of the top spots in Brisbane for all the reasons mentioned in your review. I am glad to see you have enjoyed your accommodation in one of our spacious King Suites.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#105 of 157 in Brisbane
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing