We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uke festival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The facilities and services were the best I have experienced. The valet parking was a bonus. Location was superb and within walking distance to all activities experienced.
I will recommend to friends and family and will definitely stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Shannon M,

Thank you for the excellent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The South Bank Precinct is a fantastic part of Brisbane and has so much to offer its visitors, we are very fortunate to located in the heart of it.

Thank you for your comments regarding the facilities and services at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and appreciate any recommendations to your friends.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

The location of Rydges can't be faulted whether you are seeing the sites of Brisbane or are attending the conference centre. The hotel adjoins the conference centre making it very convenient, and just across the street are the cafes, bars, shops etc of South bank.

We had a suite overlooking the river which gave fantastic views. Room was a bit stark and basic for the price, although perfectly adequate. You get a microwave and kitchenette, but there are strangely no knives, forks or spoons (other than teaspoons). Only 6 hangars in the closet - not nearly enough ofr 2 people staying 5 nights. Room service bought us some more with out any trouble.

Internet wifi (free) was patchy and didn't work at times. Don't bother with the cable, because although the info says you can plug it in to use the internet, you can't. It's been decommissioned.

The bar and pool are beautiful for a drink.

Restaurant buffet breakfast was disappointing. A fairly meagre selection of fruits and cereals with very tiny protions and most things in small containers, e.g. orange juice in tiny bottles. Makes it a juggling act to carry everything back to your table.

The downstairs bar serves reasonable pub grub - I had a freshly cooked pizza which was fair value.

Negatives - the hotel is a bit soulless and noisy from the street and bar at night on the river side. Suspect that the opposite aspect (i.e. away from the river may be much quiter).

Staff - mostly OK, very nice cleaning lady (saw her in another room carefully cleaning the inside of the drawers which I though was impressive), good valet parking service, some of the reception staff a bit young and clueless.

Room Tip: River side for views, but some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct, making it a good base for both business and leisure travellers alike.

The king suites area great option for an extended stay with the separate living dining area providing more space to work or relax. I apologise that some amenities were missing from the room, it is great to read however that the room service team rectified the problem hastily. The hotel has changed to an all Wi-FI system, so I will make sure the information regarding use of a cable is removed from the rooms.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the buffet breakfast. Had there been something extra you required, the restaurant staff are always there to help when needed. Thank you for your positive comments regarding both the other dining outlets.

The hotel endeavours to provide a high level of customer service across all departments and it is pleasing to read that most staff you encountered were friendly and helpful. Your feedback relating to the front desk staff will be followed up without delay .

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for three nights in one of the corner suites. It was quite large with a lounge and dining area, a separate bedroom with a king bed and a comparatively small bathroom which had a shower over the bath. While comfortable the room was fairly bland in decor with nondescript abstract pictures that simply reinforced the blandness of the decor. It was a no-frills experience with no biscuits to have with a cup of tea and the wi-fi was $25 per day although if you joined the Priority Guest Club you became a Priority Guest eager to pay them $12.50 for the use of the wi-fi.
When will some of the chains get the message that most decent hotels do not charge for wi-fi, or at least a reasonable wi-fi allowance?
We would stay there again because the hotel is well positioned being close to the Convention Centre, QPAC, Museum and Art Galleries as well as the river ferries, trains, and the restaurant scene on Southbank. It's also just a short walk into the CBD.

Room Tip: Get a Riverside room if you can as the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Raedward,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

As the refurbishment of the Podium Level is now complete, the attention will draw to the rooms and their facilities.

Unfortunately charges still apply for internet in a number of hotel and venues this side of the hemisphere; however I don’t foresee it being too much longer until we align ourselves with the rest of the world. In the mean time the Priority Guest Rewards Program is an excellent way to enjoy pre, during and after stay benefits.

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes and is the arts and entertainment hub of Brisbane.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when travelling for work and the staff were very friendly and the room was nice, but not as nice as I was expecting. The hotel is close to the river and convenient to restaurants and cafes. The bed was comfortable, and bathroom was adequate. Ate at the restaurant downstairs for dinner and it was OK, but again, nothing to be thrilled over. The breakfast buffet in the morning was probably my favourite part as the roof top seating and delicious options made my morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolehender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, they all work hard to provide a high level of customer service and it is great to read this is being recognised.

It is disappointing to read that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As the hotel has completed the refurbishment of the new Podium Level, attention will now draw to the rooms and their facilities.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, it is definitely a favourite with our guests and the pool deck setting is a great area to start your morning.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our in Brisbane at Rydges South Bank was mainly to see the family - what a bonus - Grease was on at QPAC, Brisbane Festival at South Bank was on (and our room was Queen room with a balcony and a magnificent view over the Brisbane River as you can see from the photos),quilt exhibition was on at the art gallery and life in Brisbane was on full throttle - check in was excellent- staff were very attentive and within minutes we were in our room and opened up the curtains and we had the great view of Brisbane skyline. As Rydges is on the South Bank there are restaurants a plenty to choose from, QPAC is a short walk as is the museum and the art gallery and just over the bridge is Brisbane city so location was fantastic - we were spoilt for so much choice.
Had an amazing deal - queen size room with river views and breakfast - and the breakfast served in Bacchus (one of the restaurants at Rydges) on the first floor was delicious - so much choice - help yourself and the staff of Bacchus were so attentive to your needs - just order the cappuccino - well mug of coffee and it arrived - no extra cost- thank you for making our stay such a happy time .
The mini bar prices were not ridiculous and compared well to the bottle shops but the view over the river and the wonderfully changing sky scape and river views where the icing on the cake, Bathrooms even though small had all that one needs and the added bonus is a mini kitchen- microwave and plates, mugs etc.
Some people may say the hotel is noisy because South Bank is definitely a party zone but that makes for more atmosphere and sitting on the balcony with friends and a glass of wine watching Brisbane change during the evening was so much fun in itself.
The bed was so comfortable - and with the door closed at night our sleep was one of great restfulness.
Great deal, great time, excellent hotel and great staff.

On a side note Brisbane Festival was also great to go and wander through, watch the water display on the Brisbane River at night, the light display outside QPAC on the foreshore....and if you can book some tickets for Grease- what entertainment- feel good, toe tapping, excellent singing.

Will we be back?- sure will....thank you so much Rydges.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the room with views- we were on the 9th floor- so good and look for deals that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tas-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Tas-wanderer,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is a perfect time of year to stay in South Bank with the Brisbane Festival in full swing, as well as a great line up of shows at QPAC. The hotel is an ideal location to experience all the area has to offer and it sounds like you were able to do this during your stay.

The Deluxe Queen rooms offer breathtaking views of both the river and city and I am glad to read you were able to take advantage of one of our currents specials for your stay.

Thank you for your comments regarding both the reception and restaurant staff, they are much appreciated. The staff pride themselves on providing a high level of customer service and it is pleasing to read that your stay was no exception.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The bed was extremely comfortable, probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The blockout curtains were very effective, we had no idea it was after 09:00 until we opened them and daylight came flooding in. Staff are friendly, willing to go the extra mile where needed. Our room was quiet, being located on the 11th floor probably helped with that. Great location, right next to the convention centre and the middle of the Southbank precinct. Free Foxtel (not including movies) is pretty good. The downsides are; Hotel needs a serious facelift. Although cleaned and maintained immaculately, nevertheless it's showing signs of wear and age. Shower was a dodgy affair with the temperature a bit hit and miss and the shower curtain definately didn't help. Bring your own coffee as the standard room selection is barely adequate for an overnight stay for two people and isn't very good. Valet parking is not optional and is not part of the room costs. Neither are movies or wi-fi. Don't use the irons or ironing board as I'm sure neither are cleaned or replaced regularly.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher levels for better bar / street noise protection. Also check if the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinova B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Cinova B,

Thank you for the recent review in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is pleasing to read your comments relating to our staff as we take great pride in them, not only delivering exceptional service but also going the extra mile.

The hotel recently completed a refurbishment of the Podium Level and with this now fully operational our attention will draw to the hotel rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a genuinely pleasant stay for a city hotel and really good for the price. You will find the hotel rooms are reasonably sized with the usual hotel facilities. Not a luxury hotel experience, nothing is particularly exceptional, the bed is a queen and depending on your expectations you may find the bathrooms in need of an update. The whole place is however clean and very well maintained.

The hotel is well located, especially for South Bank and the CBD is a pleasant walk along and over the river.

The hotel restaurant "Bacchus" is a delight and a must try for dinner and the cocktails by the pool experience is worth a try.

Service throughout was excellent, right from the front desk, restaurant to the IT support.

Room selection is key and my advice is to ask for a room above the 10th floor for sweeping river and city skyline views. Especially in September when the light shows are on.

Room Tip: Go for river side above the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Jeremy B,

Thank you for the recent review surrounding your stay with us Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The South Bank location is one of the best spots in Brisbane with something to cater for everyone.

The hotel completed a full refurbishment of the Podium Level late last year which brought Bacchus Restaurant, Pool & Bar to the Brisbane scene. It is fantastic to see you have not only had the opportunity to dine but also thoroughly enjoyed your experience.

With the refurbishment now completed our attention will draw to the rooms in the hotel. The upper levels of the hotel provided a stunning view of the Brisbane River and City.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 169 in Brisbane
1,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 169 in Brisbane
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#58 of 169 in Brisbane
834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#57 of 169 in Brisbane
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £88 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing