We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deluxe Queen room?? - don't think so.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deluxe Queen room?? - don't think so.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent 3 nights here for a conference in the convention centre next door (accessible only via poorly signposted 3 flights of stairs, no lift). Was given a noisy room on 1st floor ovelooking the roof of the bar below, and was assured at check-in that it was a deluxe queen. Old fashioned bathroom - cold water tap over sink fell apart when first used, no plug for sink. However worst feature was the large number of cigarette butts (>200 I would guess) on the roof just over the low balcony railing, plus soft drink bottles and other rubbish, despite signs everywhere stating Rydges is a non-smokinh hotel. Could have easily been swept/ vacuumed up in 5 minutes. Also room telephone would not work until I untangled several cords and disconnected the nearby modem. TV remote impossibly slow to change channels, AM radio didn't work. Breakfast buffet fairly ordinary and overpriced. Overall, really not worth the (supposedly discounted) cost compared to other hotels in Brisbane. I frequently travel and have stayed at various hotels in every capital city in Australia and this would be the worst ever in my experience.

Room Tip: Not room 116!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear JBDownunder,

It was extremely disappointing to read your recent review surrounding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I have checked your reservation and the room type booked, and can confirm that you had booked a Superior Queen and received this room type. I apologise if this had been incorrectly communicated to you.

What is most concerning is your comments relating to the roof outside from your balcony, this is completely unacceptable and has been dealt with directly, please accept my sincere apologies.
Rydges South Bank is a non smoking hotel but unfortunately it appears restrictions are not adhered to.

The maintenance in your particular room appears to be lacking, the issues have been recorded and our maintenance team are resolving them.

I appreciate the feedback as there is certainly issues that can be improved on. I hope that if you did choose us to stay with again I can personally welcome you for a more positive stay.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    784
    324
    94
    54
See reviews for
340
556
94
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My two daughters and I stayed at Rydges for 1 night when we went to see "Grease the Musical". Room was basic, but we weren't planning on spending all our time in the room anyway. Bathroom had what we needed, hot water, flushing toilet, bath and shower. All staff treated us with kindness and respect and reception staff were quick and efficient. CBD menu was a little disappointing, but that was only my taste. View from our room at night was breathtaking, lights from the city and southbank were just amazing. Will stay again, I can't wait to take my husband. Thank you for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Floor 7 on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pswerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear pswerner'

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is excellent to read you have enjoyed the view from your room of the South Bank Precinct and the City Lights of Brisbane. Please accept my apology the CBD menu was not to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moree, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The facilities and services were the best I have experienced. The valet parking was a bonus. Location was superb and within walking distance to all activities experienced.
I will recommend to friends and family and will definitely stay again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Shannon M,

Thank you for the excellent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The South Bank Precinct is a fantastic part of Brisbane and has so much to offer its visitors, we are very fortunate to located in the heart of it.

Thank you for your comments regarding the facilities and services at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and appreciate any recommendations to your friends.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The location of Rydges can't be faulted whether you are seeing the sites of Brisbane or are attending the conference centre. The hotel adjoins the conference centre making it very convenient, and just across the street are the cafes, bars, shops etc of South bank.

We had a suite overlooking the river which gave fantastic views. Room was a bit stark and basic for the price, although perfectly adequate. You get a microwave and kitchenette, but there are strangely no knives, forks or spoons (other than teaspoons). Only 6 hangars in the closet - not nearly enough ofr 2 people staying 5 nights. Room service bought us some more with out any trouble.

Internet wifi (free) was patchy and didn't work at times. Don't bother with the cable, because although the info says you can plug it in to use the internet, you can't. It's been decommissioned.

The bar and pool are beautiful for a drink.

Restaurant buffet breakfast was disappointing. A fairly meagre selection of fruits and cereals with very tiny protions and most things in small containers, e.g. orange juice in tiny bottles. Makes it a juggling act to carry everything back to your table.

The downstairs bar serves reasonable pub grub - I had a freshly cooked pizza which was fair value.

Negatives - the hotel is a bit soulless and noisy from the street and bar at night on the river side. Suspect that the opposite aspect (i.e. away from the river may be much quiter).

Staff - mostly OK, very nice cleaning lady (saw her in another room carefully cleaning the inside of the drawers which I though was impressive), good valet parking service, some of the reception staff a bit young and clueless.

Room Tip: River side for views, but some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct, making it a good base for both business and leisure travellers alike.

The king suites area great option for an extended stay with the separate living dining area providing more space to work or relax. I apologise that some amenities were missing from the room, it is great to read however that the room service team rectified the problem hastily. The hotel has changed to an all Wi-FI system, so I will make sure the information regarding use of a cable is removed from the rooms.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the buffet breakfast. Had there been something extra you required, the restaurant staff are always there to help when needed. Thank you for your positive comments regarding both the other dining outlets.

The hotel endeavours to provide a high level of customer service across all departments and it is pleasing to read that most staff you encountered were friendly and helpful. Your feedback relating to the front desk staff will be followed up without delay .

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for three nights in one of the corner suites. It was quite large with a lounge and dining area, a separate bedroom with a king bed and a comparatively small bathroom which had a shower over the bath. While comfortable the room was fairly bland in decor with nondescript abstract pictures that simply reinforced the blandness of the decor. It was a no-frills experience with no biscuits to have with a cup of tea and the wi-fi was $25 per day although if you joined the Priority Guest Club you became a Priority Guest eager to pay them $12.50 for the use of the wi-fi.
When will some of the chains get the message that most decent hotels do not charge for wi-fi, or at least a reasonable wi-fi allowance?
We would stay there again because the hotel is well positioned being close to the Convention Centre, QPAC, Museum and Art Galleries as well as the river ferries, trains, and the restaurant scene on Southbank. It's also just a short walk into the CBD.

Room Tip: Get a Riverside room if you can as the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Raedward,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

As the refurbishment of the Podium Level is now complete, the attention will draw to the rooms and their facilities.

Unfortunately charges still apply for internet in a number of hotel and venues this side of the hemisphere; however I don’t foresee it being too much longer until we align ourselves with the rest of the world. In the mean time the Priority Guest Rewards Program is an excellent way to enjoy pre, during and after stay benefits.

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes and is the arts and entertainment hub of Brisbane.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when travelling for work and the staff were very friendly and the room was nice, but not as nice as I was expecting. The hotel is close to the river and convenient to restaurants and cafes. The bed was comfortable, and bathroom was adequate. Ate at the restaurant downstairs for dinner and it was OK, but again, nothing to be thrilled over. The breakfast buffet in the morning was probably my favourite part as the roof top seating and delicious options made my morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolehender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, they all work hard to provide a high level of customer service and it is great to read this is being recognised.

It is disappointing to read that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As the hotel has completed the refurbishment of the new Podium Level, attention will now draw to the rooms and their facilities.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, it is definitely a favourite with our guests and the pool deck setting is a great area to start your morning.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our in Brisbane at Rydges South Bank was mainly to see the family - what a bonus - Grease was on at QPAC, Brisbane Festival at South Bank was on (and our room was Queen room with a balcony and a magnificent view over the Brisbane River as you can see from the photos),quilt exhibition was on at the art gallery and life in Brisbane was on full throttle - check in was excellent- staff were very attentive and within minutes we were in our room and opened up the curtains and we had the great view of Brisbane skyline. As Rydges is on the South Bank there are restaurants a plenty to choose from, QPAC is a short walk as is the museum and the art gallery and just over the bridge is Brisbane city so location was fantastic - we were spoilt for so much choice.
Had an amazing deal - queen size room with river views and breakfast - and the breakfast served in Bacchus (one of the restaurants at Rydges) on the first floor was delicious - so much choice - help yourself and the staff of Bacchus were so attentive to your needs - just order the cappuccino - well mug of coffee and it arrived - no extra cost- thank you for making our stay such a happy time .
The mini bar prices were not ridiculous and compared well to the bottle shops but the view over the river and the wonderfully changing sky scape and river views where the icing on the cake, Bathrooms even though small had all that one needs and the added bonus is a mini kitchen- microwave and plates, mugs etc.
Some people may say the hotel is noisy because South Bank is definitely a party zone but that makes for more atmosphere and sitting on the balcony with friends and a glass of wine watching Brisbane change during the evening was so much fun in itself.
The bed was so comfortable - and with the door closed at night our sleep was one of great restfulness.
Great deal, great time, excellent hotel and great staff.

On a side note Brisbane Festival was also great to go and wander through, watch the water display on the Brisbane River at night, the light display outside QPAC on the foreshore....and if you can book some tickets for Grease- what entertainment- feel good, toe tapping, excellent singing.

Will we be back?- sure will....thank you so much Rydges.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the room with views- we were on the 9th floor- so good and look for deals that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tas-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Tas-wanderer,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is a perfect time of year to stay in South Bank with the Brisbane Festival in full swing, as well as a great line up of shows at QPAC. The hotel is an ideal location to experience all the area has to offer and it sounds like you were able to do this during your stay.

The Deluxe Queen rooms offer breathtaking views of both the river and city and I am glad to read you were able to take advantage of one of our currents specials for your stay.

Thank you for your comments regarding both the reception and restaurant staff, they are much appreciated. The staff pride themselves on providing a high level of customer service and it is pleasing to read that your stay was no exception.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing