We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Terrace Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mercure Brisbane King George Square(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal On The Park(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,255)
Filter reviews
2,255 results
Traveller rating
828
926
347
98
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
926
347
98
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth bankking suitebacchus restaurantcbd cafepodium levelthe rivergreat locationvalet parkingpool barconvention centerferris wheelroom serviceattending a conferencesouthbank parklandsvalet serviceart gallerybuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,570 - 1,575 of 2,255 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great central location to the convenstion centre (right next door),Southbank and the West End.
Room and amentiies were great, staff were good too. CBD cafe do a great breakfast and and some great drink specials too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Jordan D,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is linked directly to the Brisbane Convention Centre making it the perfect choice for guests attending conferences or events.

Thank you for your comments regarding the room and staff they are much appreciated. It is very pleasing to read that you were able to enjoy the CBD cafe and take advantage of some of their great specials during your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Cass and her team.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Rydges at Southbank, Brisbane has great views of the river, great service and impeccable room. Don't sit near the pool at the pool bar as you will probably end up wet. They need to put up glass barriers to stop the water spraying the drinkers. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Bryan035,

Thank you for the excellent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is fantastic to read you have enjoyed the stunning views on offer from the upper level rooms of the hotel. I also appreciate your kind words regarding the staff and the standard of your room.

Please accept my apology for the splashes from the patrons of the pool, your suggestion has been noted.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Fantastic location for attendance at Brisbane convention and exhibition centre. Great proximity to train and south bank. Overall felt the rooms were feeling a little tired but still very clean and tidy. My room service breakfast was very ordinary but gave them the benefit of the doubt as they said they had experienced a power outage that morning. A bathroom upgrade should include better hairdryers, those tired white little buzzy things just don't cut it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Kerrilyn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane,

It is pleasing to read you have enjoyed the ease and convenience of our location. The hotel
completed a full refurbishment of the Podium Level late last year and now operational our attention will draw to the rooms.

Please accept my apology for the issues relating to your breakfast and the power outage.
I hope if you choose to stay again with us I can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This function room has superb views of Brisbane. At night the unobstructed panorama creates a fabulous backdrop and sets the atmosphere. Situated in Southbank, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosa_4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear noosa_4567,

Thank you for the recent review of the Rydges South Bank Brisbane and Level 12 rooftop.

It is fantastic to read you have enjoyed the stunning rooftop setting at the hotel, the views are indeed superb at all times of the day and especially at night time.

Thank you again for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Rydges Southbank for a conference that was next door at the BCEC. This hotel is fantastic for its proximity and ease of access.

While the newly renovated podium level offers a touch of class and luxury the somewhat dated decor of the bathrooms and furniture let this otherwise wonderful hotel down. It's saving grace are the wonderfully comfortable beds... Best nights sleep in a while.

Was disappointed in the breakfast options at the restaurant. Not what I have come to expect from a rydges hotel at all. After eating breakfast downstairs one morning, I then decided it was a better and CHEAPER option to order room service. I would highly recommend you look at your breakfast options should you wish to keep your guests for breakfast.

Another little idiosyncrasy of this hotel is that each morning around 7:30 - 8:00am all the power goes off and then turns back on twice... This happened on the three conservative mornings that I was there... Like clockwork. Not sure what the explanation for this would be.

Apart from a few small let downs, I would recommend this hotel to those that are conferencing here in Brisbane.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Cathy_OConnor,

Thank you for the recent review in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was pleasing to read you had enjoyed the convenience of the hotels location to the BCEC, it certainly takes the stress out of travelling in the morning.

The hotel completed a full refurbishment of the Podium Level late last year and with this now fully complete and operational our attention will draw the rooms.

We offer 3 options for breakfast, a full buffet breakfast in Bacchus, A la Carte in CBD and room service, please accept my apology these options were not to your liking.

I apologise for the issues with the power each morning you were here, unfortunately there is no explanation as to why it was happening. It is definitely not an ideal situation for our guests and staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews