We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is one the best Rydges I have stayed at. Very friendly and well-organised staff and nice rooms with modern furnishings. The location is fantastic - right on Southbank and just a couple of minutes walk to Sth Brisbane train station. Don't bother bringing your car.
The only suggestion I could make is that in-room wifi should really be free - who would pay $25 for 24 hours of internet?!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Queenbee1981,

Thank you for your fantastic comments surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the centre of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes close by as well as public transport options, making it a perfect base for business and leisure travellers alike.

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, the team work hard to maintain a high level of service and it is great to read that it is being recognised.

Unfortunately there is still charges for internet in most places this side of the hemisphere; however I don’t foresee it being too much longer until we align ourselves with the rest of the world. In the mean time the Priority Guest Rewards Program is an excellent way to enjoy pre, during and after stay benefits.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    785
    324
    94
    54
See reviews for
341
556
94
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Boy, was I surprised by this last minute Wotif "mystery" deal!! Why had we never before stayed at the Rydges....in all the time I have lived in South East Queensland???? Seriously, location location location people!!! It's right in the Southbank precinct, you don't need your car and you can have that glass of wine and on the Sunday morning you can stroll down to the fabulous market and enjoy breakfast while watching the crowds move past.
But this review is not just about the location and the surprisingly large comfortable room or even about the impressive extensive menus at the restaurants in the hotel........it's a big Fat shout out THANK YOU to the fabulous staff that parked our car (go Jacob!!!), found my handbag when I left it in the foyer(thank you Naomi!) and handed me two bottles of cold water when we drove all the way back from Deception Bay exit to pick it up!(love your work Alex!)
People and SERVICE will always make all the difference to a business, large or small!!
You have our vote, Rydges.....but don't relax.....we will be checking in from time to time!!!!

Voni :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing west without a balcony, possibly a bit warm in the afternoon with the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voni63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Voni63,

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes in walking distance and is the arts and entertainment hub of Brisbane. The weekend lifestyle markets are extremely popular and a stroll through the parklands is definitely a great way to start your day.

Your comments regarding the staff and the service they provided are very much appreciated. It is great to read that each and every team member you mentioned went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is especially pleasing to read that your handbag was recovered by Naomi and you were able to retrieve it without too much stress. I will personally pass on your thanks to Jacob, Naomi and Alex.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the room and restaurants in the hotel. It sounds like you have been able to experience the hotel to its full potential and it is very rewarding to read that your original expectations were exceeded.

Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here in September 2013, with my sister and her two young ones and we had such a great time. The twin room is large, the views were great and the pool is perfect to cool off.
This would be one of the few hotels in Brisbane where the staff at reception are friendly, the restaurant staff give fantastic service and so do the bar staff.
There is two restaurants to choose from and room service is great too.
It is close to the road but the double glazed glass doors keep that all out.
Hightly recommend if you want to be close to Southbank, QPAC, museum and Brisbane Convention Centre.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view to the river are great. Enjoy tapas and sunset drinks by the pool terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Anna O,

Thank you for the excellent feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is excellent to see you and your family have enjoyed your time with us. The front facing rooms from the upper levels of the hotel do offer some fantastic views of the Brisbane River and City, it is pleasing to see the kids have had the opportunity to see this.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff at the hotel, they are warmly received.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to the Gold Coast to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and had a rather bad experience so we changed plans and booked into the Rydges South Bank and could not have been more happier, from when we arrived at 10:30am the staff were very helpful and said they would ring when the room was available which they did within an hour, when we arrived there was Chocolates and Sparkling Wine to greet us, we felt great that we left the Gold Coast early and came to the Rydges where the staff were there to assist us and help in any way, our request for a room up high with a view was not a problem and we had views all over Brisbane, we will recommend the Rydges to any future travellers heading north.
Thank for for making our stay enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the City/River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear ColinandBarb,

Firstly congratulations for your Wedding Anniversary and thank you for the review in relation to your stay with us.

What was most pleasing to read in your review was the kind words in relation to the staff at the hotel, it is personally rewarding to me and will be passed on.

I hope I am able to welcoming you back to the hotel, perhaps sooner than your next Anniversary.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have stayed here before and really like the location of the hotel - close to South Bank and a lovely walk into Brisbane CBD along the river. Our room (a standard Queen room) overlooked the river and the city so a great view day and night. These rooms are a little tired but OK (and as we got a member's discount, very good value). However, the valet parking at $30 per day is a bit pricey. And although it was included in our deal, you would normally have to pay for Internet access - one of the most irritating practices of big hotels, I think.

The hotel is having a few major problems with its building systems, I suspect. The first night there was a power outage (the poor housekeeping staff having to reset however many clock radios!) and a fire alarm, but the second night we had three false fire alarms, including one at 11.45pm. We were also woken at 4am by a knocking on the door from someone looking for 'a friend of his sister's'.. Not adding up to a good night's sleep.

We had lunch one day in the cafe (a good deal at $20 including a glass of wine) and drinks there the next evening. We too were surprised that the member's discount does not apply unless you order food as well, but it's a good place to sit and watch the world go by, with a beer! However, we did not have breakfast in the hotel as it is very expensive and there are so many other places nearby, on the river.

Reception staff were polite but there was no apology for the fire alarms (or our early morning visitor who had told us he was given our room number by reception, and he did have my first name). The concierge staff were excellent, although they did hand over our hire car to another couple by accident!! Perhaps a refresher course in procedures is in order :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city, although you will get a little noise from the poolside bar if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandrhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Vandrhen,


Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The South Bank precinct is a fantastic part of Brisbane with a larger selection of restaurants, entertainment and activities all within a short distance from the hotel.

It is excellent to read you are joined to the Priority Guest Reward program and have made use of the discounted accommodation rates available. There are many packages currently on offer with different inclusions such as parking or internet. PGR Members do receive a 50% discount on the cost of in room internet along with many other discounts pre, during and after a stay. Unfortunately the Food & Beverage discount does only apply with the purchase of a meal. If needed please contact me at the hotel to arrange for a copy of the Terms & Conditions of the program to be sent to you.

Please accept my apology for the issues relating to the power outage and fire alarm. The fire alarm is in place to provide protection to guests and staff within the building. The power outage was planned to conduct essential electrical works, but again I do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

I hope the issues mentioned in this review will not affect your opinion of the hotel and that I can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Brilliant service during our 2-night stay starting with the exceptionally professional and friendly concierge staff led by the superstar Jacob. The hotel was full during our stay but Jacob and his team always made us feel special providing A1 service. Also housekeeping staff were wonderful providing excellent and speedy service with a smile - special mention to Lupe too. Beds were very comfortable, rooms were spacious and clean. The Rydges has become our hotel of choice when in Brisbane and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Liz P,

Thank you for your fantastic comments surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Jacob certainly is a superstar! He is very passionate about his job and always goes the extra mile, so it is very pleasing to read that his hard work is not going unnoticed. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to him directly.

Thank you for your special mention to Lupe, the housekeepers also work hard to make sure everything is perfect in the rooms for our guests and it is great to read that you were able to enjoy your room throughout the stay.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Have stayed here many times over the years, but needs some more revamping. Customer service was none too friendly at the front desk, and the gentleman neglected to explain the Priority Guest Rewards properly, leaving us somewhat misled with the benefits. eg had to be dining to get drinks discount. Air con does work particularly well in guest room. Drinks at Podium level were very expensive, and disappointed with the offering at breakfast in Bacchus. It was truly excellent when they first opened, but now much less exciting. Staff in CBD bar were friendly and helpful. Good location for drinks but can get very noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a view - the buildings on Grey St block much of the view up to 6th floor, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear AustraliaChris09,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

As the renovations of our new Podium Level are complete, our attention will now draw to the rooms and their facilities.

The Priority Guest Reward Programme offers members a discount of 20% off food and beverages when dining, unfortunately not on beverages alone. I apologise that this was not communicated to you on check in and any confusion it may have caused.

The buffet breakfast in the Bacchus restaurant is usually popular with our guests, so it is very disappointing to read that you did not enjoy it on this occasion. It is pleasing to read however that you were able to enjoy some drinks in the CBD bar.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing