We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our first time here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not our first time here”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have stayed here previously although have not reviewed it previously. The Hotel is very well situated for Southbank and even more so for the Exhibition Centre as we discovered there is a direct entrance from the hotel. The Staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are wonderful. We stayed in a King Suite corner room so we had plenty of room to ourselves. Downsides: getting old and needs refurbishment, to be fair management would be aware of this. Access - vehicular access requires that you need to cross double lines and right on the corner which could potentially be dangerous. Recommended for its location for sure.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Kind corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear GoodFoodTaster,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Our staff do their utmost to ensure that all our guests have a positive and enjoyable experience and your kind words are greatly appreciated.

The hotel occupies a prime location within the Brisbane CBD district and is close to many great attractions, restaurants and shopping areas.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy the breakfast in our recently refurbished Bacchus restaurant on our Podium Level. Since the completion of these renovations, our attention will now focus on our guest rooms and suites.

We do advise our guests when they approach the hotel they do so from Merivale Street, as this provides the easiest access to the hotel driveway. Alternatively, if you are approaching from Grey street, a quick pass under the bridge provides a safe turning area to approach from the correct side of the road.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Duty Manager
via Zoe Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    846
    332
    96
    55
See reviews for
364
596
100
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent location
Room/suite was very comfortable and well laid out
Bathroom a little small when two people trying to shower and get shaved at same time but that was the only negative we had.
However we would not hesitate in staying again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Skyacc,

Thank you for your feedback regarding you stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. We have recently completed a refurbishment of our public areas and our attention will now focus on our guest rooms and suites.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Duty Manager
via Zoe Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Arrived exhausted from a 17 hour rail/coach trip on the best Australia can do with its inter city train services (other than the Great Southern ones) which remind me of Britain in the 1940's but cannot review them so moving on...........

As I said, arrived at about 23.45 and found I had been given a great room (complete with microwave and sink in bedroom) which was huge.......had to connect to the Internet and had a problem but Georgie, who also checked me in and took my room service order, was brilliant on the desk and went off to call the internet supplier......before she could get through, I changed browers and all was well!! Indeed, it was brilliant because I was given free 24 hour access for a week even though was only staying two nights!!!!

Room service was extremely prompt and excellent nights sleep (both nights) was enjoyable!

Went our for lunch at the amazing number restaurants all supplying different cuisine just around the corner and wondered at the artificial beach only 100 yards away on the river.

After lunch retired to the pool area where there was a smoking area....what a joy not to be huddled in the street for the very odd cigar I enjoy....and a bottle of wine before retiring hurt for an early night and 05.00 am start.

Down to Reception as a bevvy of ladies were returning from their night out and the two fire engines, called by said ladies as they had been stuck in the lift!!!!

Check out brilliant as was everything really..........I have no complaints whatsoever and look forward to my stay at the sister hotel at Sydney airport on Friday....will me free WiFi still be available please!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ustaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Ustaritz,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback in relation to your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes all within walking distance.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room and were able to get a good night’s sleep after what sounds like a long journey to the hotel.

Thank you for your special mention to Georgie, its great it read she was proactive in helping fix your in room internet, even if in the end it did fix itself.

The pool deck is a great alternative to the always busy CBD restaurant to enjoy a bit of peace and quiet and it sounds like you were able to do just that.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was absolutely wowed by Bacchus (the hotel restaurant) and the conference facilities. Great job of the refurb. It's great how conveniently located the hotel is to the BCEC.

I look forward to dining at Bacchus when I am next in Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Brittany P,

Thank you for your fantastic comments surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is linked directly to the Brisbane Convention Centre, making it the perfect base for guests attending conference and events.

Thank for your comments in relation to Bacchus and the newly refurbished Podium Level. A lot of work went into the new area and the positive feedback has been overwhelming.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and hope that you are able to have the opportunity enjoy a meal in Bacchus.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Rydges is a great place to stay and they are very family friendly. It is close to southbank, art gallery and museum and we stay here every year as it is easy to walk to these places with the kids. The recent addition of the pool and pool bar is welcomed as it makes for an easy place to catch up with friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitaandfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Anitaandfamil,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ongoing loyalty to Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in perfect walking distance to all the sights and sounds South Bank has to offer, making it the perfect base for those wishing to explore the area.

The recently refurbishment Podium Level has been very popular with our guests and it is pleasing to read you too have been able to enjoy the area.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed in a King Suite. Close to conference the next day. Extended parking while at conference. Close to Southbank and city. Most restaurants were closed on the tuesday night when several of us needed something to eat so we went up to the room and ordered room service. Bed was great for a good nights sleep. Can highly recommend the King Suite. Unreal experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is linked directly to the Brisbane Convention Centre making it the perfect option for guests attending conferences or events.

The King Suite is a great option to enjoy a little more space to work or unwind and it is pleasing to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

It seems odd that many of the restaurants were closed on a Tuesday night, but it’s great that you were able to enjoy the hotel’s room service option.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telegraph Point, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is a good location when staying at South Bank. The staff were friendly and helpful when needed. I stayed two part weeks with a weekend home in between. The king suite was better than the standard room w/ queen bed. As with most hotels in Australia, internet is not free - we really need to raise our game here as most hotels in developed countries now include free internet access. TV entertainment could use a few free movie / premium channels when looking for a few minutes to relax; especially during the 'nothing much to watch' summer season. When travelling alone and on business...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bertHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear R0bertHarris,

Thank you for the excellent feedback surrounding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was pleasing to read you have enjoyed the spacious King Suite for your extended stay and found the staff to be both friendly and helpful.

South Bank has so much to offer all of its visitors and we are very fortunate to be positioned amongst these offerings.

As you have said internet is still charged in most hotels in Australia, however I do not believe it to be much longer before we catch up with the other countries and provide internet complimentary. As a cheaper option while we wait, you can join our free Priority Guest Rewards program and receive 50% off in room internet along with many other discounts.

Thank you again for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 159 in Brisbane
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#109 of 159 in Brisbane
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 159 in Brisbane
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#48 of 159 in Brisbane
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing