We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views - Relaxing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic views - Relaxing visit”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with my daughter in a deluxe river view room (1024). Room was fantastic. 2 large comfortable beds, sofa couch, microwave, room safe, etc and lots of towels in the bathroom and Sanctum bath products too.

Location is close to QPAC and opposite SouthBank. Great for catching a bus to the GABBA or getting to Suncorp Stadium. Hotel is central to Grey St restaurants and is next door to the Brisbane Convention Centre. Price was cheaper through Rydges Priority membership at $252 for the night. Parking is onsite valet for $25 per night. Late checkout with Rydges Priority membership is 1pm.

But the best part of our stay was sitting on the balcony watching the lights of Brisbane turn on. And then again in the morning, enjoying the warm sunshine flood the balcony whilst watching the Brisbane River traffic. So nice and relaxing.

Love Rydges SouthBank even if it is a little expensive compared to say the Riverside Hotel down the road at $99 per night including parking.

My only grievance this visit was the corridor noise and the slowness of the lifts. Our room did not seem to be sound proofed and everything being said outside our door was echoed inside. There was 1 lift out of service and this was creating a delay. I have stayed at Rydges SouthBank before and neither of these 2 issues have been a problem. Would therefore suggest that they were one off problems.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DragonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear DragonFan,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback surrounding your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct making it a great base to explore all the area has to offer.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room; the Deluxe River View rooms really are a great option to take in the breathtaking views of Brisbane City and its surrounds.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues experienced with the lifts. Due to an unforseen maintenance issue the hotel was operating with only 2 guest lifts and whilst we tried to minimise any disruptions it proved difficult over a busy weekend.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    812
    328
    95
    55
See reviews for
352
581
97
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

For those attending events at the convention centre this is a good choice. It's right next door so no need to catch taxis etc. There are all the Southbank attractions and amenities close by. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. I had a balcony so it was quite pleasant to sit outside in the evening and relax. Would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ivz_travels,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I am glad that you find the hotel to be a prime location for your business travels. We are in arguably the most desirable location in the Brisbane CBD area with many great shops, restaurants and entertainment destinations only minutes from our front doors.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed relaxing on your balcony, we have some fantastic views of the Brisbane river and city skyline, especially in the evening.

We are pleased that you have decided to consider us as an accommodation venue again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here with my elderly mother on a rewards night so expected an ordinary room. We got a huge room on 10th floor with two double dream beds and the most sensational view of Brisbane river and city including a spacious balcony with furniture to sit out and take it all in. Everything about the room was fabulous and as platinum priority members we got 50% off our restaurant food which was sensational and a late check out of 3pm. Definitely worth becoming a member and you can't beat the Rydges dream beds for comfort.

Room Tip: Valet parking was great and we were really well looked after on arrival but that cost us $35. In cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear HMLesley,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and kind feedback acts to validate all the hard work that is done to make each guest feel special. Our dream beds, coupled with amazing river views is tough to beat and I'm glad that you were able to have a special time with your mother.

We are proud of our Priority Guest Rewards program and it is great to see that you are utilising the great features and benefits associated with this membership.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for one night to attend a function at the convention centre. Our room was quite large with two double beds, and a large balcony. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. The location was perfect for us as the convention centre was just across the road, and the surrounding Southbank precinct has plenty of restaurants and cafés to choose from. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshane615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Jodi D,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased that you found your room spacious and comfortable, and you were able to enjoy the Hotel and its surrounds. We occupy an enviable position in the Brisbane CBD which highlight the best the Brisbane has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location within a short walk to southbank restaurants, parkland and beach. Excellent for families no need to go anywhere else. Close to pedestrian bridges across the river, hire cycles and ferry wharf. Also close to museum and art gallery. Friendly helpful staff, comfortable clean rooms and lovely comfy beds.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Sear sallyj99,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us.

The hotel occupies a fantastic location within the Brisbane CBD district and, as you say, is close to many great dining and entertainment locations mere moments from the hotel doors. It is great to hear that you were able to capitalise on this and that you enjoyed the service our team was able to provide to you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My husband & I are frequent travellers & thought we'd give it a go at Rydges South Brisbane for a short Easter break this time. As the bedroom door is literally not sound proof, one can hear everything from your room from others' door knocking, conversations in the corridor or simply people walking past your room. We organised morning call & the phone call came 1/2 hour late. .bed wasn't comfortable. .we seldom give such a poor rating but I must say this has been a bad experience. The only good thing was the location. Other than that, please do yourself a favour & find somewhere else to stay for the same kind of money.. no value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Rita N,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank, Brisbane.

It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We apologise that the noise levels in your room were not acceptable. We ask that all our guests contact the Manager on Duty should there be a disturbance and we will do our utmost to ensure that our guests are not interrupted. I must also apologise for the lateness of your wake up call. We are quite punctual in this regard, however it appears that this time we have not performed to our expected standard.

We have recently completed renovations to our public areas and have now turned our attention to our guest rooms and suites.

We hope you will consider the Rydges South Bank Brisbane as an accommodation destination in the future and we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed one night here. The rooms are quite big and ours included a kitchenette which was very handy. The bed was very comfy. The location is great, you just walk out the door to all the attractions and restaurants of South Bank. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear richoSydney,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We occupy a great location within the CBD district, with many shops and restaurants a few minutes walk from our front doors. It is great to hear that you found our location convenient and I hope that you were able to enjoy Brisbane during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards.


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#115 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing