We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

For location you can't go past Rydges Southbank. Right in the Southbank district which seems to be the main entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy walk into the City Centre. Plenty of choice of restaurants in the area. The room was basic but large with a balcony. Make sure you get a room above level 4 so you can see over building in front. Breakfast at the Hotel was excellent one of the best I have had.

Room Tip: Higher up the better and make sure room faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct, with an array of cafes and restaurants within walking distance and is indeed the entertainment hub of Brisbane.

Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast in the hotel, it certainly is a popular choice with our guests, offering a large selection of both hot and cold options.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    812
    328
    95
    55
See reviews for
352
581
97
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a king suite fantastic large and comfortable with king size bed and all the room you could ever want. Its in the centre of Brisbane and easy to walk to queen street which is the main shopping centre.

Room Tip: ask for a front suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukaolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Lukaolly,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We are in a great position in the Brisbane CBD area and have many great dining, shopping and entertainment outlets only a few minutes walk from our front doors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here 2 nights to attend an exhibition show at the convention centre next door.
excellent location for interstate visitors.
caught the skytrain from the airport to within 2 blocks of the hotel and walked the rest.
hotel is right amongst all the restaurants at southbank so plenty of choices of where to eat if you want to go out,although the hotels reataurant upstairs has excellent food.
room was good,clean and bright.hotel staff friendly and helpful.
great bar downstairs that opens onto the street if you need refreshments while watching the passing parade.
all round excellent place to stay if attending the brisbane exhibition and convention centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Wayne N,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

We occupy a fantastic postion in the Brisbane CBD area, close to many shops, restaurants, cultural activity centres and public transport. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its surrounds during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Thank you to the whole team for another great stay. From the confirmation phone through to check out the staff were great. The location cannot be faulted. The room we had overlooked the river providing gorgeous Southbank and City views. The size of the twin room is spacious and comfortable. The beds are super comfy.

We dined in both the Cbd bar and Bacchus and again the service and level of food quality could not be faulted.

The staff interaction with guests is a welcome point of difference for the hotel. They are engaging, courteous and friendly in each department.

The only downfall during the stay were the elevators...the wait time on each occasion was considerable and on one occasion we waited over 10mins.

Overall a great place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a river view..breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolej77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Nicolej77,

Thank you for your feedback surrounding your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes all within walking distance and is the entertainment hub of Brisbane.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the staff you encountered during your stay. The team all work hard to provide a high level of customer service to each guest and it is great to read that your stay was enjoyable from start to finish.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues experienced with the lifts. Due to an unforseen maintenance issue the hotel was operating with only 2 guest lifts and whilst we tried to minimise any disruptions it proved difficult over a busy weekend.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with my daughter in a deluxe river view room (1024). Room was fantastic. 2 large comfortable beds, sofa couch, microwave, room safe, etc and lots of towels in the bathroom and Sanctum bath products too.

Location is close to QPAC and opposite SouthBank. Great for catching a bus to the GABBA or getting to Suncorp Stadium. Hotel is central to Grey St restaurants and is next door to the Brisbane Convention Centre. Price was cheaper through Rydges Priority membership at $252 for the night. Parking is onsite valet for $25 per night. Late checkout with Rydges Priority membership is 1pm.

But the best part of our stay was sitting on the balcony watching the lights of Brisbane turn on. And then again in the morning, enjoying the warm sunshine flood the balcony whilst watching the Brisbane River traffic. So nice and relaxing.

Love Rydges SouthBank even if it is a little expensive compared to say the Riverside Hotel down the road at $99 per night including parking.

My only grievance this visit was the corridor noise and the slowness of the lifts. Our room did not seem to be sound proofed and everything being said outside our door was echoed inside. There was 1 lift out of service and this was creating a delay. I have stayed at Rydges SouthBank before and neither of these 2 issues have been a problem. Would therefore suggest that they were one off problems.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DragonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear DragonFan,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback surrounding your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct making it a great base to explore all the area has to offer.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room; the Deluxe River View rooms really are a great option to take in the breathtaking views of Brisbane City and its surrounds.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues experienced with the lifts. Due to an unforseen maintenance issue the hotel was operating with only 2 guest lifts and whilst we tried to minimise any disruptions it proved difficult over a busy weekend.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

For those attending events at the convention centre this is a good choice. It's right next door so no need to catch taxis etc. There are all the Southbank attractions and amenities close by. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. I had a balcony so it was quite pleasant to sit outside in the evening and relax. Would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ivz_travels,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I am glad that you find the hotel to be a prime location for your business travels. We are in arguably the most desirable location in the Brisbane CBD area with many great shops, restaurants and entertainment destinations only minutes from our front doors.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed relaxing on your balcony, we have some fantastic views of the Brisbane river and city skyline, especially in the evening.

We are pleased that you have decided to consider us as an accommodation venue again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here with my elderly mother on a rewards night so expected an ordinary room. We got a huge room on 10th floor with two double dream beds and the most sensational view of Brisbane river and city including a spacious balcony with furniture to sit out and take it all in. Everything about the room was fabulous and as platinum priority members we got 50% off our restaurant food which was sensational and a late check out of 3pm. Definitely worth becoming a member and you can't beat the Rydges dream beds for comfort.

Room Tip: Valet parking was great and we were really well looked after on arrival but that cost us $35. In cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear HMLesley,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and kind feedback acts to validate all the hard work that is done to make each guest feel special. Our dream beds, coupled with amazing river views is tough to beat and I'm glad that you were able to have a special time with your mother.

We are proud of our Priority Guest Rewards program and it is great to see that you are utilising the great features and benefits associated with this membership.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#113 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing