We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room refurbishment ???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Queensland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Room refurbishment ???”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times, great location on the restaurant strip, but this time we saw they had refurbished the hotel, so was keen to see what it has been transformed into. On arrival lobby looked the same, had to wait for someone to attend to us. Got into the room and not a lot of change really, new carpet, a lick of paint but it did need it. Workmanship was a little lacking, one of the shelves was way out of level above the fridge! Still not a bad place to stay, location does it all for me and I really like the secure parking, locked down from 10:30 pm to 7am. On the way back south we stayed again, it was Mother's Day and the receptionist lead my wife to believe there was a champagne breakfast for mothers day, I wanted to go across the road for breakfast but ended up here, the main reason was the advert fir Eggs Benedict but paid nearly $50 for two buffet breakfasts, no eggs Benedict and no champagne ! We found the poached eggs in the bay Marie to be hard asked for a few soft ones and the chef came out with them and complained that the eggs in the tray were soft, I guess she knows better than I. Cheaper and better breakfast in the local area and if you ask for runny eggs it is not a problem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopperQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear IslandHopperQLD,

Thank you for the recent review in relation to your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to read you have stayed with us many times before and still enjoy the fantastic offerings the South Bank Precinct has.

The hotel has indeed completed a refurbishment, however this was only on the Podium Level. As this level is fully operational the attention has drawn to the rooms and will be a strong focus in the coming year.

Please accept my apology regarding the buffet breakfast, there should have been Eggs Benedict available.

I do hope on your next visit to the hotel and the South Bank Precinct I can have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    812
    328
    95
    55
See reviews for
352
581
97
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel was close to the conference venue which was very handy. Breakfast was lovely and the bed was very comfy. The room itself was dark and glum and overlooked a roof. There were 3 lifts in the hotel - 1 of which was broken and the other 2 were very slow. I wouldn't rush back in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Room Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jodie M,

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was pleasing to read you had enjoyed our convenient location to the Brisbane Convention Centre and you found the breakfast to your liking.

Please accept my apologies for the delays in the lifts, unfortunately everything was done to expedite the repairs, however it took longer than expected to bring it back online.

I hope if you choose to stay again I can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room was fine but the time it took to use you lifts to access my room was crazy. To make matters worse, there was not adjacent stairwell as a plan b.

To put this into perspective, you know some thing is wrong when it takes 10-15 min to go up to you room brush you teeth and come down again.

Room Tip: Don't be in a hurry to get anywhere as you need to factor in the extremely slow and crowded lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEARnet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear HEARnet H,

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I am pleased to read you have enjoyed your accommodation however would like to pass on my sincerest apologies for the lengthy wait time you experienced with our lifts. Unfortunately one lift was placed out of order and due to an extended wait time on a part, it remained this way causing the issues. I am pleased to say everything is back in full working order.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at Rydges while organising a congress at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. Site was really convenient and excellent location - close to ABC for radio interview publicising meeting; close to Southbank for restaurants for delegates; close to river for early morning exercise; and proximity to the Congress Centre was great.
Good choice of restaurants also in hotel itself.
Breakfast was pricey, but excellent quality.
Room was excellently appointed, and service was very good.
Staff were flexible and responsive to requests.
Limited number of lifts meant some fairly long waits at early morning - so need to plan ahead if you're heading to a meeting with critical timelines.

Room Tip: rooms on the river side get the morning sun, which was very nice. But they do get the pool and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was fantastic to read you have enjoyed the South Bank Precinct and our convenient proximity to the Brisbane Convention Centre and the ABC offices.

Thank you for the comments regarding the Food and Beverage outlets in the hotel. The 3 options certainly cater for all visitors.

Please accept my apology regarding the lifts, unfortunately one lift was out of order for a longer than expected time which caused the delays.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

the room was a Generous size and balcony was nice. Bathroom was tiny given space in the room. Also as a regular visitors to other rydges I would have appreciated a room higher than level 3. Overall a good hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Lozzamc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay.

I am glad that you found our rooms sizable and enjoyed the balcony. We have completed renovations on our public areas recently and have now turned our attention to our guest rooms and suites.

It is great to hear that you are a frequent guest of Rydges Hotels and we do our utmost to provide our regular members with upgrades where possible. I believe at this time, however, we were unable to provide you with an upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Close to loads of restaurants and cafes. The only disappointment was, while having meetings. Tea and coffee was barely warm. Those little burners just didn't do anything. This hotel gets a few conferences and often times gets very busy. Therefore the lifts are exceptionaly slow. Apart from those 2 things It's a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear ilymon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us.

The hotel occupies an envious position within the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great shops, cafes, restaurants and entertainment venues.

Please accept my apologies for the tea and coffee service provided to you. I hope that we were able to rectify the issues you had and hope that you will consider the hotel as an accommodation destination in the future.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed there many times & chose it again for the proximity to the train to airport. Unfortunately was given the wrong timetable at check in & it cost me $60 in a taxi. Luckily the hotel agreed to refund my train ticket as I bought it from them. Unpleasant experience

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear paulineadam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay.

Please accept my apologies that the timetable information given to you at check in was incorrect. I understand that this has caused you an inconvenience and we will ensure that all our timetable information is up to date so that this incident does not occur again.

I am glad to read that you will be considering the Rydges hotel again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#118 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing