We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but room little decor outdated n expensive. Great brekky buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service but room little decor outdated n expensive. Great brekky buffet”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Reception and concierge was overall absolutely wonderful and five star service. Buffet breakky was really good! Rooms were very average and definitely outdated in terms of decor. Sink in room was a plus. Baby stayed for free. Met Ray Martin in the lift which was awesome! Location was fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tea_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear tea_brisbane,

Thank you for your review surrounding to your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It’s great to read that you were able to rub shoulders with an Australian Media icon whilst staying in the hotel.
Thank you for your comments in relation to the Reception and Concierge staff, they all work extremely hard to provide a high level of customer service and it is great to read that this is not going unnoticed.

As the renovation of our Podium Level is complete, our attention will now draw to the rooms and their facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

KInd regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    850
    332
    96
    55
See reviews for
364
598
100
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Rydges Southbank whilst attending a 3 day convention. Great for convenience of taking 3 minutes to get to venue! Staff were very helpful in taking care of car and luggage while we were busy. Only complaint would be that the room was pretty stuffy despite air conditioning being on, but all up I happily recommend this hotel if you're using the Brisbane Convention Centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Melissa B,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad that you found our hotel to be convenient for your business purposes. We occupy a great location within the Brisbane CBD district, close to many shops, restaurants, entertainment areas as well as the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

We have also recently completed renovations to our pool and restaurant areas and our attention has now focused on our guest rooms and suites.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Only one night and that was enough, the beds are too small when you have a family staying and the rooms are old and tired. Not great value. However if the rooms matched the cool pool bar area then it would be great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Suzanne H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

I am sorry to hear that you did not find the space in your room to be adequate. Our standard twin share rooms are equipped with two double-sized beds, whereas our superior and deluxe twin share rooms are equipped with queen-size bedding.

I am happy to note that since we have completed renovations on our restaurant and pool area, we have turned our attention to our guest rooms and suites.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room, staff & buffet breakfast was very lovely indeed. It was only an overnight stay but I am reccomend it to my family & all my friends. It was very comfortable & the breakfast was lovely heaps to choose from. Thank You for a Lovely Stay. I would stay there again if I need to come to Brisbane.

Room Tip: The Twin Rooms were very comfortable indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Glenda S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay.

We love to hear positive comments from our guests as we work very hard to exceed expectations and provide a memorable and enjoyable stay to everyone. Your kind comments serve to validate our work and they have been passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We choose this place for its proximity to the Performing Arts Centre. However it has much more going for it than that, the staff are good, the beds are really comfortable and the rooms are well appointed. In addition you have an excellent choice of eateries within a few yards as well as the other South Bank attractions.

Room Tip: Of the rooms we have tried so far all have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogcodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear ogcodes,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

It is great to hear that you found the hotel exceeding your expectations. We are always looking to make our guests feel welcome and leave with a positive experience and positive feedback serves to validate our hard work.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location next to the Brisbane Conference Centre and South Bank theatres, GOMA and State library is excellent but you pay for the location. The noise is incredible! We have stayed here several times. At first we thought it was a one-off event that meant the hotel was noisy but we now know it is constant. When the partying finally stops out come the street cleaners and blower vacs at 4am. We were also billed incorrectly and no amount of explaining would have the Reception staff remove a breakfast fee that had been applied incorrectly. It took me to produce the initial booking for the fee to be removed. Very annoying when you are tired and just want to get to your room.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the higher floors. They are still noisy but not as bad as the lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Tradge,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Please accept my apologies for the noise levels that disrupted your stay. Our Bacchus Bar and Podium Events spaces are a popular destination, especially on weekends and during busy periods. We are always aware of the needs of our guests and we do our utmost to strike an even balance where everyone can enjoy their time at the hotel.

I regards to your billing issue, I would like to apologise that the issue was not resolved in a timely manner. We do our utmost to be consistent our billing process and the time taken to resolve your issue appears to be an isolated incident.

I hope that you will consider the hotel again in the future and we would look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keilor Downs, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights recently and was very impressed with the friendly professional service, I arrived late on the first night ( the plane was late in) and the desk staff were most helpful. The room was clean and the view was excellent I stayed on the 11 floor. The restaurant was expensive but the food was well prepared and served fairly quickly. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Kevin P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad that you enjoyed the service you recieved. We all work extremely hard to deliver a positive epxerience to our guests and good feedback validates our hard work and has been passed onto our team. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 160 in Brisbane
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 160 in Brisbane
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#108 of 160 in Brisbane
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 160 in Brisbane
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 160 in Brisbane
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing