We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and Fab cafe down stairs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location and Fab cafe down stairs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for a week and found the location to be perfect for us! Just a walk across the bridge to the city centre but fabulous restaurants and cafes a few minutes walk away! Our room was fairly basic but very clean and neat and great sunblock curtains for those early Brissy morns!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Nikki C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

The hotel is located ideally in the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great restaurants, shops and entertainment areas.
I am glad that you found us to be both convenient and enjoyable during your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    785
    324
    94
    54
See reviews for
341
556
94
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I took my partner to Brisbane for his birthday in June, 2014 and we stayed at Rydges Southbank, Brisbane. We didn't dine at the Hotel but will do so the next time we stay. (Yes, we will be staying there again). It's close proximity to dozens of restaurants (La Via in Little Stanley Street in particular) was the reason I chose this Hotel. The staff were all immaculately dressed and well-spoken. The rooms were clean and fresh. As was the linen. I would HIGHLY recommend this Hotel.....Sandra McLean.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are LARGE and SUNNY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate all feedback and I will pass on your kudos to the team.

The hotel has two great dining outlets, the Bacchus Restaurant located on our Podium level and the CBD Cafe located on our ground floor. I encourage you to sample both outlets during your next visit. Otherwise we are, as you correctly point out, close to many great local restaurants, boutique shops and entertainment areas only minutes from our front doors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

A six night stay while on business found me choosing Rydges because of the convenience of the nearby restaurants, taxi ranks, comfortable room, friendly staff and thoughtful service. I have recommended Rydges to friends and family for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jenny S,

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, it is always great to have positive feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A warm welcome received as usual. I was given a choice of floor levels - a new experience! Always ready for that free Welcome Drink! I regularly breakfast at the CBD Bar - I've never been disappointed with the food or the service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have river views, especially from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed yourself whilst with us. Our team work very hard to make our guests happy and I will pass your comments onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our stay at rydges south bank was great overall however, there was not enough towels in the room for the amount of people booked (there were 4 towels and 5 people booked to stay) and the mould inside the kettle in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Kyz123,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of towels in your room and the mould in the kettle. I trust we were able to rectify these issues for you promptly.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

First time staying in this hotel. Check in and checkout were quick and seamless, and as a very frequent traveller this is important. Room was spotless, and kept so by housekeeping. Stayed 4 nights including a Friday/Saturday.

Service was always quick and efficient (which is not always a feature of Australian hotels as there are generally fewer staff than Asia).

Concierge helped with casual parking for a brief period for a visiting associate - left a good feeling that staff are actually trying to help rather than just going through the motions.

The CBD restaurant bar was a great experience, exceptional service - very quick and always attentive without being over the top. Food and drink quality great and pretty reasonable prices.

I will not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly recommend to both business and leisure travellers as it is in a great location, right in the middle of the Southbank Precinct, walking distance over the bridge (10 min's to the CBD ) and next to the Convention Centre.

Room Tip: River facing rooms are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank De_Chook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear De_Chook,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback form your stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team works hard to make our guests happy and it is always a pleasure to pass on such positive comments, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.


Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

After along week at work, an overnight stay at Southbank to walk the night markets and have dinner with the family was desperately needed

The Rydges Concierge service was fantastic which made up for a few issues at reception with our booking and extended to the making of paper aeroplanes with our two young boys!

We were offered a room upgrade with fantastic views of the river and the city and were happy and comfortable.

We highly recommend Rydges for ashore stay with kids.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Review_Shack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Matt W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Please accept my apologies for the error with your booking. I trust we were able to rectify this issue during your stay. I am happy to see that our Concierge Department were able to provide a superior customer service experience. Our Concierge team members work very hard to make our guests happy and kind feedback such as yours serves as validation of their hard work - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing