We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Steaks”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakfast Creek Hotel
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine Steaks”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Good food & service. Excellent steaks. Not sure why others are complaint about value, I thought quality of food and location / venue was reflected in price. If you want a cheap pub meal then go to a cheap pub. .…....;........................

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tufflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    40
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
20
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

The Brekky Creek should be handed back to a publican with ability, not kept in the hands of a Yes Man to a corporation who knows the joint is on a downward slide for quality.
FACT- Meals are ordered at the counter..i.e. no wait staff. Customers sit on plastic chairs with plastic tables. Meals are cooked by uni students, truck drivers, former jockeys..i.e. no qualified chefs. Beef supplied by sister company which doesnt mind substituting quality for commercial gain. Meals have to be collected by customers. Steaks are rarely cooked to perfection. Napkins are thin and flimsy towlettes. PRICES RIVAL 5***** RESTAURANTS !!!! This joint is kidding. A total rip off !! It only survives off the reputation of previous great publicans which made the venue something special.
DONT TURN UP IN A GROUP OF MORE THAN FOUR MEN AND ORDER BEER. Security will automatically hawk eye you as drinking beer in a pub is criminal offence shunned by this corporation. They prefer families who drink $5 glasses of post mix soft drink.
The publican is a bossy little man and the fish rots from the head down. The staff take his lead at being equally rude and looking down at us. You can hardly blame them. I'd be laughing if people kept coming back to overpriced ordinary food, and kept copping the abuse from security. ZERO OUT OF TEN !!!

ps. Price range on the review is way out. $16-$33 ????. You cant get a steak for $16 so thats obviously another review by the establishment. Steaks start @ $33 !!!!
The beer ain't cold either. The staff must be major shareholders cos they certainly think they own the joint the way they walk around . Nice people with manners who are employed at this venue get brainwashed they are much more important than the people paying their wages here. I could go on for hours..Yeah, finally, this place reminds me of a school canteen with mean and nasty teachers watching your every move. They need a shake up !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galloping_Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

we dined in the Spanish Garden on a busy saturday night. The service and atmosphere were both good. The meals however were below par with the potatoes / chips obviously plated up well before the steaks were cooked. A poor effort for what should not be a difficult task

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ikev48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Very nice Wagu Rump served with salad and chups.

Steaks are great but the rest is gastro pub sides etc. The steaks are very tasty despite all being grain fed rather than grass fed.

Fat yak beer on tap and a decent selection of others.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffyjonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

terrific food good serving great quality, price is high but at least it is a good feed, best steaks ever.drinks are very expensive service is good

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Probably the best meal I have ever en counted , the eye fillet done as I asked and the bug was a great match. service with a smile.

Room Tip: meal and beer on the wood was magnificent . Truly unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHEMICALMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is my 3rd time I have eaten here and it has been another average to below average dining experience.

We were greeted by a friendly girl and ordered straight away as my partner and I were starving. I had the crumbed and stuffed mushroom cups for entree and he had the buffalo wings. The entrees were tasty and were a good size. The ranch sauce that came with the buffalo wings were delicious and complimented the wings well. The mushrooms were also tasty and juicy stuffed with all things nice.

For main course I had the wagyu rump with the Idaho potato, caesar salad and mushroom sauce. It was cooked medium rare. The meal itself wasn't as appetising as I hoped it would be. My partner usually gets the a porterhouse done rare, but this time it failed to reach the standards from previous dining experiences.

I'm a little disappointed for what I received as we all know the B.C.H has a reputation to live up to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTravellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
#26 of 159 in Brisbane
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#109 of 159 in Brisbane
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kingsford Brisbane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#12 of 159 in Brisbane
287 reviews
1.7 mi away
Airport Admiralty Motel
Airport Admiralty Motel
#102 of 159 in Brisbane
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Breakfast Creek Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast Creek Hotel

Property: Breakfast Creek Hotel
Address: 2 Kingsford Smith Dr | Breakfast Creek, Brisbane, Queensland 4010, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staghorn Garden is a Queensland institution, thanks to its relaxed, subtropical ambiance and lush landscaping. It boasts stunning timber decks which create an artful, soft separation between the food and bar businesses. The entire area is light, bright and inviting, merging seamlessly with an eight metre high breezeway structure that links the heritage listed Hotel building to the Substation No.41 building. An open kitchen and servery is situated on one side of the breezeway, where patrons are able to choose their own steak from the chilled cabinet, in classic Brekky Creek tradition. The hotel is renowned for introducing Beer Garden style dining to Queensland. The Brekky Creek continues to hold this tradition proud as the Staghorn Beer Garden offers the very best in casual outdoor dining. The Staghorn Beer Garden boasts seating for over 500 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing