We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak!! And caramel slice!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakfast Creek Hotel
Ranked #104 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great steak!! And caramel slice!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great steak, dessert and atmosphere. Side salad not Up to standard. Great cakes, coffee and desserts served here. Best caramel slice I've ever tasted was at breakfast creek. Defiantly will be coming back to this beautiful iconic landmark.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank curlieRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    41
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
20
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia, South Pacific
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spanish garden meal for the 100th time and again I can't wait to go back. Always fantastic. Great staff who have been there for years on the floor. The me u has been tweaked and the sales tuned but the original choices are still there and good as ever . The original bread and butter is essential as is the Idaho and dry coleslaw . They just work so well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyeata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The Breakfast Creek hotel ticks all the boxes - great atmosphere, great love music, great food possibly the best steak I have ever eaten! The food here is second to none. oh and the Rum Bar is sensational.
My only tip is if going on a Saturday night make a booking it gets crazy busy but so worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Livinthedreamlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having eating here a few times now the one thing that remains constant is the the price. Last meal there was just above average on quality and for the price, well below what I'd expect when paying $100+ for 2 mains and a shared entree. They also need to address the issue of stricter security as there were some people obviously well on their way to being very drunk that made several tables somewhat annoyed. We certainly left with a large question mark hanging over whether or not we will return and suggest it to others again. Certainly not any time soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandD4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch time, ordered steaks which are the specialty of the place. Waited over 50 mins and only got served then because we pestered. Wife's steak was served very well done and not edible (asked medium). She took it back to be told another 15 mins wait so took the cash back and didn't eat after all. My steak was cooked ok but the pepper sauce was straight from a jar and not good. Best thing was the bread roll, it was sealed and presumably the kitchen didn't touch it. Very poor and will not return. Another example of how poor food is in Brisbane, don't waste your money here. ($33 - 41 for steak).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ajojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our first time to Brisbane and the Breakfast Creek Hotel is a lovely place to gather with friends and family.

Food is excellent and there are plenty of choices to suite everyone. The men in our group had fun enjoying the 'beer of the wood kegs' which seemed to be a tradition at this heritage hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Steak was great beautifully cooked, however the side salads let the meal down tomato had no taste and was floury and salad not so fresh. Nice venue and atmosphere. Overall the visit was OK. Would visit again. Had great selection of music....

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank curlieRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
#29 of 160 in Brisbane
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#106 of 160 in Brisbane
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kingsford Brisbane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
1.7 mi away
Airport Admiralty Motel
Airport Admiralty Motel
#99 of 160 in Brisbane
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Breakfast Creek Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast Creek Hotel

Property: Breakfast Creek Hotel
Address: 2 Kingsford Smith Dr | Breakfast Creek, Brisbane, Queensland 4010, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staghorn Garden is a Queensland institution, thanks to its relaxed, subtropical ambiance and lush landscaping. It boasts stunning timber decks which create an artful, soft separation between the food and bar businesses. The entire area is light, bright and inviting, merging seamlessly with an eight metre high breezeway structure that links the heritage listed Hotel building to the Substation No.41 building. An open kitchen and servery is situated on one side of the breezeway, where patrons are able to choose their own steak from the chilled cabinet, in classic Brekky Creek tradition. The hotel is renowned for introducing Beer Garden style dining to Queensland. The Brekky Creek continues to hold this tradition proud as the Staghorn Beer Garden offers the very best in casual outdoor dining. The Staghorn Beer Garden boasts seating for over 500 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing