We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Staff, Very Secure for the single ladies, Close to train stations, Walking distance of CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acacia Inner City Inn
Ranked #26 of 60 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, Great Staff, Very Secure for the single ladies, Close to train stations, Walking distance of CBD”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I had a Dentist appointments with the Dentist (March Dental), & the surgery was only 20 paces from here @ Acacia Inn. On arriving I couldn't have found the staff more helpful. I was not feeling the best when I arrived (as you don't after having several extractions) & the lady helped me with my small port, & showed me around, I was happy with everything, from my arrival to my departure. They must have a great cleaner, who doesn't leave anything unturned (Commendations to The Cleaner for a job you are obviously doing well) I was very impressed with the cleanliness here, I'll be back in a few weeks, with a friend, & another dental appointment :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
16
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I booked a small single no-frills room with shared shower and W.C facilities because I just wanted to sleep there. I think there are a range of rooms available and this was the cheapest. The shared bathroom was just down the corridor.I could have found this difficult but didn't. There were both men and womens shared bathrooms and the vintage one I used was immaculately clean, it was a delight! The breakfast taken in your own room was simple but generous, and more than enough with own kettle, toaster and washbasin in the room. There is also a communal kitchen to use if you wish. The room itself was a little-dated but clean,basic, safe - perfectly adequate for me with a TV and air-conditioning.The Acacia Inner City Inn is located so very conveniently in Brisbane for the CBD and the bus stop and train station, just a short walk, and this made travelling around very easy for me. There is a little convenience shop nearby and all the tourist info you could want. The staff are very polite, helpful and welcoming, I felt quite happy during my stay there and slept well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missminerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed at Acacia Inner City Inn from 20th to 24th October 2010, for a conference I was attending due to my research studies and as well to visit the city a little.

I booked a single room with shared bathrooms, and overall I don't remember any negatives about the B&B: it is clean, bathrooms are very spacious and there is a little kitchen on every floor (though it only has microwave and toaster, you can only heat food and not properly cook it, it was enough for my short stay).

Room was spacious and comfy: a little table and a chair to use for breakfast or dinner if you'd like, bedside table, shelves to put on your clothes and TV were available. There is also a small sink so you can wash your teeth at night without having to go to the shared bathrooms.
I couldn't figure how to switch on the air conditioning but didn't really need it so didn't even bother to ask reception about it.

Breakfast is a choiche between 3 types of cereals (corn flakes, weet-bix and rice bubbles), plus milk, orange juice and bread to toast with butter, and you also can choose amongst strawberry or apricot jam, orange marmelade or vegemite.
All the food is brought to the room the day before, so you will find milk butter and juice in the little fridge and the rest of your breakfast on a little tray inside the room.

After 8pm and until 6am (I think) they lock the front door, but each key has a passcode printed on it and you just have to digit it to get inside (feels very safe).

Receptionist were easygoing and always with a smile on their face (which is exactly what you like after a long day at a tiring conference, or just to share your holiday experience), very kind to explain me how to check-out on the last day since I was leaving at 5am.
No problems at all, slept wonderfully (quiet area and comfy bed) and lived the city to the fullest. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asorairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed for four nights while sightseeing. Clean, spacious room with ensuite. Breakfast included. Room had fridge, toaster, jug in room and use of kitchen at end of corridor.
Staff very friendly and helpful. In Upper Edward Street and close ti CBD. Will stay here every time I go to Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaRockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We arrived in Brisbane with no reservation and so booked this one in desperation, on arrival we were actually pleasantly surprised. it is very oldy worldy, but extremely clean and our room was huge and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortugalExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed here for a week while working in Brisbane. Had a single room with shared bathroom for $70/night including a small breakfast I dont think you can find better so close to the city. It is old, dont expect modern fixtures and fittings but its clean and the staff are friendly so if you're just after somewhere to crash i highly reccomend this place. Fridge in room and communal kitchen.
Noisy air conditioner next to your might be a bit annoying in summer...but at least it has air conditioning!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mxn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of an Australian vacation. I had picked it mainly for its reasonable price and downtown location. The hotel is really more like a transient hotel, with small rooms without much of a view. My original room was very tiny and did not have ensuite facilities; fortunately I was able to upgrade for a little more to a larger, corner room with shower. The bed was comfortable, the included breakfast was spartan, with cereal, juice, toast and coffee, and the management couple were friendly. The main advantage was the free, secure car park and the location, within a three-minute drive of the heart of downtown Brisbane. Wireless internet was available and reasonably inexpensive, but the server was intermittent. This was an OK location for a single traveler, but probably not for families.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Astor Apartments Brisbane
Astor Apartments Brisbane
#70 of 160 in Brisbane
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#51 of 160 in Brisbane
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 160 in Brisbane
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#10 of 60 in Brisbane
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trilogy Residences
Trilogy Residences
#65 of 128 in Brisbane
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Inner City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Inner City Inn

Property: Acacia Inner City Inn
Address: 413 Upper Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acacia Inner City Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Acacia Inner City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing