We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, tidy and cheapish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Inn
Ranked #149 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Highfields, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and cheapish”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I stayed a night here before flying out. Se live a few hours from Brisbane and did not want a real ealy start. As we had a car ut was fine As you would need a car to stay here, about 25 minutes to airport. Also a 5 minute drive to all the great food at West End. The room was clean,tidy and homely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The area is kinda depressing as there is nothing in the neighbourhood. Just some old houses and residential area. Basic room with car park outside our room. It had a mouldy smell when we opened the door into the room. Basic room with a toilet and shower facilities, microwave and small fridge. Though the website said free wi-fi, we were pleasantly 'surprised' when our internet stopped working after like 15 mins. There was a 100mb cap on all connections. Not really free wi-fi is it?

Good enough for a night stay and really there is nothing at Brisbane worth shouting about.

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustardSeed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Judy and her hubby manage the hotel. Near University of Queensland. Friendly and helpful host. Provide good information. Room clean and decor simple. Value for money at AUD $ 130. There is a private car park. Safe, clean and quiet neighbourhood. Room has Queen and single bed. Great value for family.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Temasek_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

we have 4 pax n the room is spacious n well equip with kitchen appliances n cutleries. We have free wifi usage which is hard to come by in australia. The hotel is quiet and away from the noisy city. There is a bus service 196 outside the hotel that can bring u straight to the city and chinatown n one way cost A$4.50. There is a german restaurant near the hotel. The food is expensive n horrible
Overall I like the hotel
Tips : no other restaurants nearby so pack more food back.
Bring your own toileteries if you staying more than 3 days

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank low s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

we stayed at this motel for 3 night, when we arrived we were shock with how old fashion the front of the place was. But once we check in the room was wonderful, clean with plenty of space and the bathroom modern. The owners were very helpful with directions and arranging free pick ups to the RSL, there is a bus stop into town at the door, and a lovely 20 min walk to the river cat at the uni. This motel is a good stay for families and others looking for value. We paid $125. for a room with a double and a single.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee Why
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

It is cheap, it is very clean, it is true Aussie, honest as a bone, nothing fancy, working man's motel. Internet is unlimited, just ask for more password dockets. The showers are hot and the fridge will keep your beers cold. Great for access to the Convention Centre. GREAT beer and food at the German restaurant just a few doors down!!

Room Tip: Ground level room for old fashioned direct access to/from your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed here for 6 days in February and the room was adequate and clean. had a microwave and a fridge and some dishes so you could eat frozen meals and breakfast.
No facecloths or hand towels so I had to go and buy my own which did not thrill me. The room was serviced as far as taking out garbage except for 1 day and I was asked if I wanted my towels changed. They never vacumned the rug once in the 6 days we were there.
Was not really close to any amenities without a long uphill walk but we got around with transit . BUT We paid for internet acess and the owner kept turning the internet service off every night around 8 PM. He kept saying people were downloading too much. There were a lot of Univerity students in the complex who downloaded hundreds of songs and movies but we all had to suffer. We are from Canada so we wanted to have the internet in the evening because of the time differenc and they shut it off EVERY night at 8 pm. We were NOT impressed. We did not have this problem at any other accommodation in Australia and we were ther for 6 weeks. It really spoiled our time there as I was very worried as one of my kids (adult) went into hospital while we were there and I could not get any updates until the next morning and then it was too late to respond because everyone was in bed in Canada (16 hour time difference). this totally ruined our stay. We even tried to move to another hotel but could not find one within the area we wanted.
Would not stay there again as manager was VERY unreasonable

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynnthePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
2.7 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#37 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#106 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Tottenham Court Accommodation
#128 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lancaster Court Motel
Lancaster Court Motel
#64 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Inn

Property: Ambassador Motor Inn
Address: 180 Gladstone Rd | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing