We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet backpacker styled place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annie's Shandon Inn
Ranked #11 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Annie's Shandon is family-run, nice and well decorated place with lots of history through the generations. Its well located near the central station (approx. 8 mins walk). Its also well located near the CBD area where all the malls and shops are (approx. 10 min walk). It has that warm cozy feeling like when you are staying at your grandma's place. It is clean and well maintained even though its bathrooms are shared.

Value wise, if you compare it to a hotel, its pretty value for money. That is if you are staying just for 1 or 2 nights tops. If you compare it to a backpackers, its pretty pricey. But overall, we felt its worth the stay. There are a couple of highly recommended breakfast cafes nearby. Too bad they were closed on Sundays.

Rooms are small. No TV. There's an AC with heater function so that's pretty useful. Brisbane can get chilly at night in winters. Oh, walls are extremely thin so don't be surprised when you can her your neighbor using the hair dryer etc. If you are carrying huge luggage, do request for the rooms on the bottom level as the stairs are extremely narrow. It will be a challenge to carry a huge luggage up the stairs.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience for a nights stay. Oh, the owners are extremely polite and nice. They had breakfast included but we did not get a chance to try it so cant comment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darius J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here recently for one night. The location is convenient but that's about all. There is no lounge area at all but a very small dining area for the excuse for a breakfast which was mean and uninviting to any well travelled B & B stayer. They offered cereral, weetbix and cornflakes, no fruit, only milk and toast. It was pretty terrible and I gave it a miss. I booked a few months before and the manager had the nerve to snap at me, 'you must have booked a while ago' as they had since put up their prices. The price I paid was too high for what was on offer let alone the new price. Pretty rude.'Thank you for booking with us', would have sounded nicer. Forget it and pay a little more for a nice hotel room, you'll be happier and more comfortable. I think quirky, quaint and any other Victorian decription is old hat now and with their charges, modern and functional is more sought after these days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Nice for adults who want to save costs of accommodation but still haverelative peace and privacy. We only stayed 1night, no ensuite, just a bed with a cupboard and bedside tables . There is aircon which is a plus,and a fan. Cozy, especially if you just need a need to sleep in. No television. Close to the station.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nahren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Friendly helpful people. The rooms are small and the beds are hard. The furnishings are old with peeling wallpaper. The breakfast is toast and coffee or tea. There was 1 small table next to the bed, so no place to put toiletries. We could hear people talking in their room down the hall with their door closed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paysonpackertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I recently stayed for two nights, it was like stepping back in time, it is a charming, quirky place. Very easy location with some off street parking available for no extra cost. Easy walking distance from central station. the shared bathroom was always clean. my room had pink floral wall paper and a silver ceiling, so it's pretty out there! lots of road noise as the windows etc are so old so all noise just comes straight in, ear plugs on the second night dealt with this fine. great price compared to all other accomodation in brisbane and a welcoming no frills place. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfair101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for three nights in an ensuite room. There was a nice homey atmosphere and the hosts were hospitable but not intrusive. They were happy to help with any request. Our flight in was late and it was not a problem. They were very easy going and understanding.

I noticed how relaxed the guests were. Reading books/ newspapers/ magazines and helping themselves to the continental breakfast that was enjoyable. Guests chatted to each other. It was a lovely friendly place to stay. There were laundry facilities available in required.

The location was excellent and we walked most places.

The standard of cleanliness was 10/10. The linen was fresh and clean. Kitchen and sitting areas were clean. This might seem like and odd thing to say but the toilet paper was good quality too. Great shower in our room. Room 20.

The cost of the room was excellent and I think they have their pricing correct. I would only suggest that the photos on the website be updated. I think they do not do justice to the quirkiness of the Inn and the different types of accomodation offered. You could see the attention to detail in every aspect of the management and daily running of the Inn. They look afer their guests and next time we go to Brisbane we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie52_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 2 - night stay there. The atmosphere felt exactly like my granny's home!

Breakfast (toast with your choice of jam or butter) was amazing!

Shared tv room, where there's complimentary coffee and tea :)

Great location! If you have a car , call reception beforehand to book a parking spot behind the property.

Would definitely return! :))

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist to give you the room downstairs , at the end of the corridor. I guess #9 ; it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tala-Ayoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.0 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 168 in Brisbane
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#113 of 168 in Brisbane
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#15 of 168 in Brisbane
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Shandon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Shandon Inn

Address: 405 Upper Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: £43 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annie's Shandon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Annie's Shandon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annie`s Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing