We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but really???”
Review of Toowong Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toowong Villas
Ranked #76 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable but really???”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Since this was our second anniversary, my wife and I wanted somewhere nice to stay outside of Brisbane to spend 3 days together. The Toowong Villas was just the right position, it's 2 minutes walk to Toowong Village Shopping Centre and 3 minutes walk to the CityCat terminal which is better than the train. There are two lagoon style pools but we were amused to see in the extensive information pack provided that we could hire beach towels for $2.50 a session... Really? We recommend dropping down to the KMart and buying two towels for $5 each rather than hiring towels. As for being a studio apartment, and we have lived in a few, these are small studio apartments with no separate kitchen, however the tariff is very reasonable and the 'room' was clean and comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meincranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review. Every review is important to us.
We make a small charge for the use of our beach towels to cover the cost of laundry and replacement costs for those towels that are not returned.
Our studio apartments are set up for short term stay and do have microwaves and electric fry pans. From our own travel experiences our studios are better equipped than lots of others we have stayed at.
We hope your wedding anniversary was celebrated appropriately and we wish you a long and successful marriage.
I note you come from Melbourne. As an ex Melbournian I still follow Melbourne Storm. I hope you do to.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    97
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
106
30
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The photos suggest a quality motel but everything about the establishment is mediocre, including the 'care' factor of staff. Has great potential, given its location but management/owners don't appear to have invested in keeping the place modern. There's not a lot of choice in this area, so it seems they can get away with a second-rate offering, despite charging prices commensurate with something much better.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before you register. Be sure you're getting value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for your review. Every review is important to us. However your comments are a surprise to us.
In the twelve months we have been here we have
* upgraded all the cooking utensils, glassware, and cutlery. $5,000
* modernised our bedding to meet triple sheeting standards $15,000
In the last six months we have
* replaced our curtains $30,000
* upgraded our internet WiFi network $6,000
* renovated our reception $6,000
* new LCD TV's in the main bedrooms $15,000
* new pumps and chlorinators systems in our two swimming pools. $3,000
Having spent about $80,000 in the last twelve months, over and above normal maintenance costs, we believe our complex is more than comparable to other properties of our rating.
With 3 complexes in our area beginning with Toowong in their brand name, we believe your comments may have been meant for another complex.
Thank you again for your response.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed recently as a family in two bedroom apartment and will certainly use Toowong Villas on next trip to Brisbane. Noted many families staying as well as business people. Perfect for both as close to both city and university. Clean, well maintained and quiet. Continental breakfasts available, however big shopping centre with supermarkets and cafes only a block away. Rooms have cooking facilities and are well equipped with plenty of powerpoints and internet. Buses leave from front and only short walk to train.Check in /out handled very effiicently.Staff polite, helpful and friendly. Also noted staff take pride in appearance of place - gardner seen trimming hedges and sweeping up a few leaves that had blown on roadway. Ofice was being painted and updated whilst we were there. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Managers are very accommodating of special requests provided you give them reasonable notice. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anilkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
Your review is most welcome and encouraging for our staff to have their efforts acknowledged and appreciated. Comments such as yours continue to encourage the staff to maintain our high standards in friendly helpful service.
The office renovation is almost completed and is looking great.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Brisbane.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed for 11 nights in January with wife and two children. Couldn't have been better! From the moment we arrived we were stunned.by the high standard of service and presentation offered. Large two bedroom apartment was spotless, and well equipped for a family with washing machine,drier, two tvs and well equipped kitchen. Plenty of undercover parking including room for trailer. Staff friendly and eficient especially couple in charge! Nothing was a problem and minor issues like light bulb needing to be changed dealt with immediately. Staff able to provide information on public transport and reccomended a cruise on the river using the City Cat fast ferry which was only a 5 minute walk away, rather than expensive tourist cruise. Location is perfect. Only 35 minutes down freway to theme parks! Would have taken longer from Surfers Paradise with all the traffic hassles there!!!! Two pools and lovely bbq area made it feel like a tropical oasis! It is very clear that the managers work very hard to ensure all their guests have a great experience! Well done!!!! We would have no hesitation in recommending Toowong Villas to anyone looking for a place to stay when visiting Brisbane or the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bltconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
We do value your comments and we have informed our staff of your review and positive statements.
We do try hard to present a friendly atmosphere.
Your comments about the City Cat ferry was welcomed and we will inform all our guests about the City Cat trip for free.
Thank you again for taking time to write your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This place takes advantage of low budget. Its not secure at all. Its clean but it wouldn't be very hard to clean such a small place. Definetly not value for money, but the staff are absoluley lovely. Maybe they should spend more time making the place nice and less being "Lovely".

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I did respond to your review earlier but for some reason it has not been posted, or it has been posted to the wrong review.
I'm sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.
I am a little confused when you say our rooms are small. Our studio apartment which is the smallest of our apartments is more than twice the size of a standard motel room, plus the bathroom facilities, with additional services such as microvaves and electric frypans included.
We try very hard to make our guests welcome and feel at home as customer service is very important to us.

Thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We are a family of four, 2 adults & 2 children aged 4 & 5 years. We stayed at Toowong Villas over christmas/new year 2012/2013. We had a ground floor, 2 bed unit with small courtyard. Our stay was delightful. All staff super friendly/great location/playground across the street/2 pools used on a daily basis, both very clean/shops within walking distance & seacat to Brisbane city a 5 minute walk away. Lovely quiet location. We had dinner one night at the local hotel "The Regatta" where we ate outside & the children were very welcome.
Would HIGHLY recommend. We were so happy with our stay we are planning on going back next year.

Room Tip: If you have small children & use a stroller ask for a ground floor unit with a fenced courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolsue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated by our staff and management.
We do try very hard to provide a friendly family atmosphere.
Your room tip was also appreciated and we always endevour to provide any special requests subject to other bookings.
We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and mother stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas to be close to the family Christmas action. I stayed 1 night. We booked Toowong Villas because other members of the family were also staying there. We stayed in a 3rd storey two bedroom unit. I regret this decision.

If you are looking for a friendly, customer-centered place to stay this is not the place for you.

Issues:

Stairs - even the ground floor units had stairs in the block in which we stayed. I am not sure if all the blocks are similar. There is no lift, not even a service lift. The hand-rail is on the left hand side as you go up the stairs which makes negotiating up the stairs much more difficult for right handed people - the majority of the population.

Checking in - prefunctory and unfriendly, seems to be a standard speel for everyone.
Checking out - see above. My husband felt the person on the check out desk seemed overwhelmed and confused.

Servicing of the apartments - were not serviced everyday during the Christmas period - not sure if this is the norm.

Kitchen appliances - very limited - if you are planning to cook even basic meals you may need to bring some equipment with you - like a jug to have cold water in the fridge, or containers.

My biggest issue: I had not asked for a ground floor apartment - my fault. When I rang to check if there was any, even the remotest possibility of changing from the third floor to the ground floor to accommodate my elderly mother - I was met with a hostile reaction, I would have been perfectly happy if my request had been turned down without the hectoring and blame I was subjected to. Apparently there was no possibility of a change - that was ok - I was just asking, it should always be worth asking a question, you never know it might be possible and you don't know unless you ask. The proprietor went on to make sure I knew that this was my fault, they could do nothing to help me. I became very perplexed however when the issue of my booking the accommodation through wotif came up, apparently I should have booked through the motel, would/could that have made a difference, although I remain mystified about what difference that would have made. Are people who book through wotif somehow treated/accommodated differently?

So my advice, if you would like to stay here and have special requirements - make sure you at least ring the motel to negotiate these. Do not expect any empathy if you have failed to consider any circumstances you were able to predict and did not sort out in advance or not able to predict.

We will not be staying here again.

There are plenty of alternatives reasonably close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you check with the motel if you have a disability or any issues with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermitchell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Every review is important to us.
I would like to comment on the issues you raised.
Stairs. The design of the stairs comly with the Aust/NZ Std Building Code. It is a requirement to have handrails to prevent falling into the stair well. We have investigated the option of installing a lift however the architect informed the body corp the design of the buildings do not allow a lift to be installed.
Checking in/out. We have spoken to our Reception staff the importance of presenting a friendly smile and service.
Servicing. Our apartments are serviced weekly. No servicing is undertaken for shorter stays, however the guest can request supplies including towels, kitchen utentsils upon a request to Reception.
Ground floor. We tried to explain that bookings made through booking agencies do not always advice of any special requests by a guest. We always comply with special requests where we can. Other bookings may limit our ability to do so.
Thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#90 of 157 in Brisbane
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jephson Hotel
Jephson Hotel
#72 of 157 in Brisbane
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#35 of 157 in Brisbane
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#74 of 157 in Brisbane
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toowong Central Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toowong Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toowong Villas

Property: Toowong Villas
Address: 9 Ascog Terrace | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#67 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Toowong Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toowong Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toowong Villas Hotel Brisbane
Toowong Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing