We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Toowong Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toowong Villas
Ranked #76 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

only stayed one night. Late check-in. 2 brm unit, up flight of stairs. Good parking directly opposite. Décor quite dated & basic, but clean, with good level of kitchen utensils & generally well appointed. Bathroom doubles as laundry, with shower over bath. Noisy outside (admittedly in a busy suburban area), with what seemed like not too well insulated windows. Also, an annoying, what sounded like a dripping noise, outside toilet window entire night. We were awaken at 7am by a very noisy Harley Davidson, presumably another guest, who showed little regard for the quiet enjoyment of other's. Hardly the operator / owners fault mind you. Overall, reasonable accommodation & price for a 2 brm unit, but nothing flash.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all comments in order to maintain or improve our high standard.
We were disappointed to have our decor described as basic. We have spent over $90,000 over and above normal maintenance costs on upgrading curtains, TV's, triple sheeting, soft furnishings and other items in our rooms.
Not sure what the dripping noise is. We have checked all the down pipes in the area when it has rained and cannot find any noise source.
I agree the Harley was noisy. The guest had been asked to walk down the drive but as an ex motor bike rider, I'm aware of the heavy weight walking a motor bike specially a Harley Davidson.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Jim Donohue

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Over the Easter break my family (3) kids all stayed at toowong villas for a week of fun in Brisbane. We found the staff friendly and extremely helpful, with tips on how to get around and best spots to eat (which were great). The room was clean and quiet and provided us with everything we needed with a well stocked kitchette. I was also impressed when we had departed and had accidentally left my sons t-shirt behind, before we even realised it was missing, they contacted us and then sent it back to us. I have been to many hotels over the years and even when I know I have left things behind and attempted to get them back it has been difficult, it was a wonderful experience dealing with toowong villas.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ainslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your exciting review. It is very much appreciated by our staff their efforts are appreciated and not in vain. We have passed on your positive comments to the staff.
Thank you for your comments about the eating spots. We are lucky to be surrounded by some good quality restaurants all within walking distance.

We are pleased to have assisted with the return of your lost property.

We hope the family had a great fun time in Brisbane.

Thank you again for your comments. They were very welcome.

Jim Donohue

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending a family wedding, As we arrived after reception had closed the key and room details were left in the lock box. Everything went very smoothly and the instructions were spot on.

The apartment was well appointed and had everything we needed. The location was also perfect for us.

The only criticism it is that the Wifi was painfully slow and we could not get Foxtel on our TV. The later was not a great issue as we were not spending much time in the room, but I did have some work that I had to complete and found it quicker to log into the internet through my phone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated.
I am surprised by your comments about our WiFi as we have just spent a lot of money upgrading the system. If you could advise which room you were in we will check the system as we want to ensure good reception anywhere on the site.
Your TV must have been on digital. We have 8 Foxtel channels but the Foxtel system still is analogue in Brisbane until end of May. A contact to Reception would have fixed that issue very quickly.
Hopefully these issues will not prevent you from visiting us in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Jim Donohue

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Since this was our second anniversary, my wife and I wanted somewhere nice to stay outside of Brisbane to spend 3 days together. The Toowong Villas was just the right position, it's 2 minutes walk to Toowong Village Shopping Centre and 3 minutes walk to the CityCat terminal which is better than the train. There are two lagoon style pools but we were amused to see in the extensive information pack provided that we could hire beach towels for $2.50 a session... Really? We recommend dropping down to the KMart and buying two towels for $5 each rather than hiring towels. As for being a studio apartment, and we have lived in a few, these are small studio apartments with no separate kitchen, however the tariff is very reasonable and the 'room' was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank meincranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review. Every review is important to us.
We make a small charge for the use of our beach towels to cover the cost of laundry and replacement costs for those towels that are not returned.
Our studio apartments are set up for short term stay and do have microwaves and electric fry pans. From our own travel experiences our studios are better equipped than lots of others we have stayed at.
We hope your wedding anniversary was celebrated appropriately and we wish you a long and successful marriage.
I note you come from Melbourne. As an ex Melbournian I still follow Melbourne Storm. I hope you do to.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The photos suggest a quality motel but everything about the establishment is mediocre, including the 'care' factor of staff. Has great potential, given its location but management/owners don't appear to have invested in keeping the place modern. There's not a lot of choice in this area, so it seems they can get away with a second-rate offering, despite charging prices commensurate with something much better.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before you register. Be sure you're getting value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest
We thank you for your review. Every review is important to us. However your comments are a surprise to us.
In the twelve months we have been here we have
* upgraded all the cooking utensils, glassware, and cutlery. $5,000
* modernised our bedding to meet triple sheeting standards $15,000
In the last six months we have
* replaced our curtains $30,000
* upgraded our internet WiFi network $6,000
* renovated our reception $6,000
* new LCD TV's in the main bedrooms $15,000
* new pumps and chlorinators systems in our two swimming pools. $3,000
Having spent about $80,000 in the last twelve months, over and above normal maintenance costs, we believe our complex is more than comparable to other properties of our rating.
With 3 complexes in our area beginning with Toowong in their brand name, we believe your comments may have been meant for another complex.
Thank you again for your response.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed recently as a family in two bedroom apartment and will certainly use Toowong Villas on next trip to Brisbane. Noted many families staying as well as business people. Perfect for both as close to both city and university. Clean, well maintained and quiet. Continental breakfasts available, however big shopping centre with supermarkets and cafes only a block away. Rooms have cooking facilities and are well equipped with plenty of powerpoints and internet. Buses leave from front and only short walk to train.Check in /out handled very effiicently.Staff polite, helpful and friendly. Also noted staff take pride in appearance of place - gardner seen trimming hedges and sweeping up a few leaves that had blown on roadway. Ofice was being painted and updated whilst we were there. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Managers are very accommodating of special requests provided you give them reasonable notice. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anilkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
Your review is most welcome and encouraging for our staff to have their efforts acknowledged and appreciated. Comments such as yours continue to encourage the staff to maintain our high standards in friendly helpful service.
The office renovation is almost completed and is looking great.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Brisbane.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed for 11 nights in January with wife and two children. Couldn't have been better! From the moment we arrived we were stunned.by the high standard of service and presentation offered. Large two bedroom apartment was spotless, and well equipped for a family with washing machine,drier, two tvs and well equipped kitchen. Plenty of undercover parking including room for trailer. Staff friendly and eficient especially couple in charge! Nothing was a problem and minor issues like light bulb needing to be changed dealt with immediately. Staff able to provide information on public transport and reccomended a cruise on the river using the City Cat fast ferry which was only a 5 minute walk away, rather than expensive tourist cruise. Location is perfect. Only 35 minutes down freway to theme parks! Would have taken longer from Surfers Paradise with all the traffic hassles there!!!! Two pools and lovely bbq area made it feel like a tropical oasis! It is very clear that the managers work very hard to ensure all their guests have a great experience! Well done!!!! We would have no hesitation in recommending Toowong Villas to anyone looking for a place to stay when visiting Brisbane or the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bltconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
We do value your comments and we have informed our staff of your review and positive statements.
We do try hard to present a friendly atmosphere.
Your comments about the City Cat ferry was welcomed and we will inform all our guests about the City Cat trip for free.
Thank you again for taking time to write your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#93 of 169 in Brisbane
104 reviews
6.6 mi away
Essence Serviced Apartments
Essence Serviced Apartments
#91 of 169 in Brisbane
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#78 of 169 in Brisbane
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jephson Hotel
Jephson Hotel
#96 of 169 in Brisbane
198 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Summit Apartments
The Summit Apartments
#123 of 169 in Brisbane
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toowong Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toowong Villas

Address: 9 Ascog Terrace | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#67 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: £75 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toowong Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Toowong Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toowong Villas Hotel Brisbane
Toowong Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing