We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toowong Villas
Nearby Hotels
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Brisbane King George Square(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal On The Park(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Terrace Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Jen Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
69
102
21
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
102
21
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarbecue areabed unitwalking distance to shopsover christmastrain stationregatta hotelcity catwashing machine and dryerfamily staystayed here for a weektop floorshort drivesized bedsecond bedroompublic transportundercover parkingthe river
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We found the apartments clean, tidy and well set up. The location was near and convenient to our daughters family located nearby. All told our experience was pleasant and we would certainly stay here again.
My wife and I are in our seventies and were on the top floor of the complex, but managed the stairs with suitcases, without any great duress or problems.
Our daughter who was with us, with 2 small children, found the accommodation quite suitable for their needs, and expressed no concerns with the apartment.
We had an apartment which was on the "road side", with the pool below our verandah window, but did not experience any problems with noise or unpleasantness.
Greg W.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated.
I'm pleased you managed the stairs. Due to the design of the complex it is not possible to install lifts. Also I use the stairs every day for about 10 mins running up and down them just before lunch. Keeps me fit at 65yrs plus.
The upper level units also have a great view of Brisbane and we have used them on New Years Eve to watch the fireworks at midnight. Very spectacular.
Thank you again for taking time to write your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

we would recommend this place to everyone, it was close to the wedding we went to and great for the kids, and the staff was very helpful ( even when i needed safety pins for the dress i was wearing for the family wedding). great place very central to everything in brisbane.

Room Tip: great rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your kind comments. They are much appreciated.
We are very lucky with our location being close to the city, public transport and other venues for sports and weddings.
Also our new playground has proved very popular with youngsters.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed at Toowong Villas on previous occasions with varied success. This time was a disaster. Our apartment was on Jephson Street side with traffic noise unbearable. Also outside the window of bedroom 2 was the pool pump - although it did not start up until 6.30 am it was so loud, even with the window closed, it was impossible to sleep. The pool is available from 8am to 9pm, however access is available at all times and at 2.30 a.m. (yes a.m.) there were people talking, drinking and swimming - on complaining to management they said - yes, we thought it was being used!!
The apartments need an upgrade for the cost.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Jephson Street
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your comments.
Upon your arrival we were told you always had a ground floor unit. A review of your last 5 stays with us show you used one apartment twice with 15 steps to it and one apartment with 19 steps to it.
Despite being 100% full for five days with cricket and football games in town we were able to rearrange your booking to a ground floor unit. This unit is one we use ourselves when on short term leave. We can supply booking data showing our usage. We have not experienced noise issues as you described particularly the pool pump which had approx. $1000 spent on it about 2 months ago. We also had our Maintenance Engineer test the air conditioners and found no leaks as you explained to us.
It is acknowledged we have had entry into our pool area at night and we are working on a solution to make the rear gate more secure. However on the night of your stay 5 apartments and up to 4 apartments have direct or indirect contact with the pool. Several guests were asked about noise at 2.30am and no noise was heard by those guests. Further no evidence of cans, bottle tops, cigarette butts or furniture moved about was found.
Your comment about an upgrade was disappointing. In the last 12 months over $100,000 has been spent on TV's, stoves, table and chairs, soft furnishings, triple sheeting, upgrade to kitchens and bathrooms, and new curtains. A further $100 - 150,000 is being planned at the moment. The expenditure will put us beyond four star classification.
Thank you again for your review and I trust this explanation assist you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Toowong is close to the Brisbane CBD with everything a visitor could want - boat, train, shops and restaurants. A group of friends booked 3 villas in this large complex. The apartments were clean and quite well appointed although maintenance was needed on the air-conditioner, microwave and ceiling fans. The buildings are 2-story and there are no lifts. Problems arose with our bookings and were not settled until some time after our departure.

Room Tip: Book ahead but phone before leaving home to check availability and cost.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for writing your review.
We did appreciate your comment about our clean rooms. A lot of effort is put in by our cleaning staff to ensure a high standard is maintained.
We are puzzled by the comment about the air conditioner, microwave and ceiling fan. Our Maintenance Engineer has checked all the appliances and found all working efficiently. If there was a problem a call to reception would have had an immediate response.
The issue of the booking was due to incorrect data given to us for a credit card and we forwarded the refund by cheque as agreed.
We are unsure what your Room Tip means as all bookings are confirmed by email which highlights rooms booked and cost.
Thanks again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were stuck trying to find somewhere to stay for a couple of nights in Brisbane that would accommodate four (two teenagers and two adults) without costing the earth. We needed to stay within reasonable distance of the city centre and airport. This place worked out great!

Toowong is a good transport hub with trains, buses and water taxi all running from there for the quick journey into city centre. It is a 5km walk into the city centre, if you are brave enough to dodge the heat and the mad cyclists. There are a variety of food places (cheap - mid-range) and two supermarkets.

The accommodation was clean and spacious enough for our needs. We had a great view towards the city but the pay-off was the noisy road below our window. Worth it, to us, for the view but if you want things quieter ask for accommodation away from the road. The beds were comfortable enough but the pillows were like concrete, we don't know why. If we had stayed longer we would have done something about this but they were adequate for a night or two.

One problem was the vent windows (in one bedroom) were directly above an outdoor area where smokers lingered. The bedding and our clothes smelt of smoke quickly even with the windows shut. We solved the problem by moving the ashtry to another corner but would recommend that the managers provide a smokers area that is well away from the buildings.

The pools were both wonderful and we used them at different times of the day to maximise the sun/shade.

The managers were helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest
My apology for not responding sooner but I have just returned from leave. Thanking you for taking the time to write your review. The detail you have given was great for potential new guests.
I have noted your comments about the pillows. We d have a supply of alternative pillows for guests use and we will look at different pillow types.
As I non smoker I understand your comment about smokers. We endeavour to keep smokers away from the buildings but as you know smokers have a mind of their own.
I note you are a Mainlander(South Island). As an ex Kiwi I'm sure you enjoyed the result of the Dunedin Bledisloe Cup game.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are much appreciated.
Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews