We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the new Upgrade!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the new Upgrade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

I am pleased to be able to share with the readers that this hotel has undergone / is undergoing a renovation. There appears to be new owners to this establishment who are making the efforts to bring this lovely motel back to life.

The freshly painted rooms and new beds are nice. Whilst not 4 star accommdation, this establishment is affordable, and quite close to the city. The staff were very helpful and were accommodating to my needs and quiries.

My personal recomendation is try the steaks in their restaurant. Their claim of having "The Best Steaks in the World" to my personal experience is quite true. Congratulations to the chefs and to the cheerful restaurant staff.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank phlipper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    89
    67
    29
    34
See reviews for
36
100
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

I agree with a previous writer in that this hotel is in a very shabby condition. The use of multi colourered bed spreads did nothing to cover what appeared to be blood stains. Apart from that the room was quite clean but there was only so much that can be done where the plaster is falling away and tiles are stained.

The cooked breakfast was horrendous, I'm not a picky eater but I couldn't eat it. I would not recommend this hotel, you could get something much nicer for the same money.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — shabby depressing condition
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan106, Owner at Metropolitan Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2008
Ownership of the Metropolitan Motor Inn has changed since this review was undertaken. As of March 2008 (ownership change) , the new owners have been undertaking a substantial refurbishment of the property including but not limited to the replacement of all linen, bedspreads, blankets and beds, repainting of all rooms and replacement of room furniture. More importantly, the manner in which the property will be maintained on an ongoing basis has been improved to ensure rooms, bedding and cleanliness are always of an excellent standard. Further additions to the hotel also include wireless braodband internet and free Foxtel. Our aim is to offer clean and comfortable accommodation close to the city at an affordable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

We have just stayed for 4 nights at the Metropolitan Hotel in Brisbane. It is not a fancy hotel and we were not paying fancy prices. But the staff were great and the hotel in a great location. Walking distance to the city shops/bus/train and ferry. The room was a good size and bathroom very adequate. Tea/coffe making facilities with relenishment each day. Fridge in room enabled us to have our own food if needed. everything was clean and the breakfast was good...we had continental at $12. The cost was very reasonable and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Only one thing to be aware of...Brisbane is very hilly and to get back from the city, was quite a haul. But taxis are plentiful if you have trouble with your legs.

Helpful?
2 Thank boondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2006

Centrally located, suprisingly close to city centre for the value. The huge sign at the front of the building saying "The Best Steak In The World" enticed me in to the restaurant and I wasn't disappointed. The accommodation is resonably priced and the staff are most helpful.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAA South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2006

We stayed on a make your own bed weekend package. Please consider it a go and sleep elsewhere package. Street noise all night must be put up with, pub noise until 3am will happen, eg broken glass, 1 fight and to top it all off an all in brawl of lady and hubby or whoever in the room next door. Fantastic weekend. This was the first night. Second night too exhausted to care. Booked out very early with little or no hoohaaa on the monday morning. I was promised a call from management to sort something out for my wife and i about the hassles from the night before where we had to deal with the brawl and the following throwing up for the next hour of the room tenant. Obviously no screening of anyone. ok my winge is almost over, but b4 i go pleae dont expect the internet downstairs to work and dont make plans to do your washing durind meal times as you have to walk through the restaraunt kitchen (yeehhaaa) to get to the laundry. Yeppp. Oh yeh the room was ok, nothing special. The clientele is not screened and i would suggest for a budget sleeper, still find somewhere closer near town for about $5 more. Hmmmm

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keeli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2006

This place is way too over priced. Although it is a nice location, very close to the city, it is getting very old and shabby. The desk staff are polite but often disappear and you can't get any service. The restaurant is not very ggod and way too expensive. Do not eat breakfast there, go to the cafe across the road for a big breakfast with friendly service. We got a room near the lifts, stairwell and the road so it was very noisy, insist on a backroom. There is a very lovely place with serviced apts (with spa in every room) for $10 a night extra right across the road. Stay there!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shed_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
0.5 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#62 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#98 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Snooze Inn
Snooze Inn
#128 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Motor Inn

Property: Metropolitan Motor Inn
Address: 106 Leichhardt Street | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropolitan Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motel situated a few blocks from the commercial & entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metropolitan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Motor Hotel Brisbane
Metropolitan Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing