We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service from Friendly Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #124 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Coffs Harbour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service from Friendly Owners”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

A great place to stay. Centrally located in lovely area. Rooms are older style making them extremely spacious. Everything was spotless. Owners very obliging and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKBCoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
18
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We have used the Paramount for two, weekly trips to Brisbane in the last eight months,
& will use it again next trip.
We selected it for the location in our price range, and was very pleased with the facilities,
cleanliness, & friendly service of the owners Les & Moira.
The location is on a busy road,
but rooms are set back enough that noise was not a problem.
A good convenience shop, & bus stop are very close.
The Gabba & a Coles supermarket are a short walk away.
Southbank, river ferries, & city are a 20 min walk, past Kangaroo Point cliffs,
& a lovely walk along the Brisbane river.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berryalan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I thought I would write a review of this motel because the only ones here are so old and I am sure much has changed. Certainly the managers have changed twice since those mentioned in previous reviews and the current Managers Les & Moira couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. The motel looks outdated from the outside but we were pleasantly surprised by the size of our standard unit which had a full kitchen and bathroom, so actually a 3 room unit. The interior looked as if it had been updated recently and although the bathroom and kitchen floor tiles were dated the whole place was very clean. We have paid much more than $98 at other motels and received less value. We found the 24 hour corner shop which seemed to stock everything incorporating a Subway sandwich counter as well as hot chickens, pies and pastries really good as it is only yards from the Paramount. There are also very good and cheap BYO Thai, Malaysian & Italian restaurants nearby and the Pineapple Hotel food is still excellent. We loved the riverside cliff walk to South Bank and used public transport preferring to leave our car at the free motel car park.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeandSheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We booked our stay early in the year based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor. Our experience didn't live up to those positive reviews but we certainly didn't have any problems with the paramount.

The apartment was spacious and had everything we needed. Had we wanted to cook the kitchen looked fine, we were just too lazy to in the end. The decor is basic but for us on a budget and spending most of our days out it wasn't an issue for us.

It's located near the river and a 20 minute walk to the Southbank with bars and restaurants. It's a fair walk into the city centre across the river or a 10 minute walk to catch a ferry across. Walking back from the Southbank or coming off the ferry there is a steep climb up to the hotel from the river though.

As mentioned in other reviews the best thing about the Paramount is the Pineapple opposite which does great steaks.

It's not somewhere to go if you're looking for luxury but for a cheap base to explore it's fine.

  • Liked — The Pineapple just across the road
  • Disliked — The walk up the hill from the river to get back to it
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jervis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire , UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We can only recommend this hotel for the budget traveler.
After reading reviews on trip advisor we expected more - sorry to say we were disappointed with the accommodation.
One "let down" was that there was no where to have breakfast early morning.
"We could not recommend cooking in the appartment"
Cheap and cheerful - you get what you pay for and in this instance we most certainly did :)

  • Liked — We cant think of anything possitive to say.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness...
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We arrived during a thunderstorm, at night and saw who we think is Wayne come nearly into the office while we were checking in, then leave. We had to carry our bags ourselves, up stairs in the rain and with my partner who has a noticeable physical disability got soaking wet and we thought that at the least someone may have offered to help us. We wouldn't necessarily have taken up their offer but it would have been a friendly gesture that we would have thought would have been appropriate considering the other reviews of the hosts.

Room was basic and at $95.00 a night you wouldn't have expected anything more.

Shower was a mere trickle for my partner and when he went to reception they replaced the shower head straight away. Not sure how the cleaner didn't notice the lack of water when the unit was cleaned. Toilet ran all night and when we said about the shower, the guy said he would fix the toilet while we were out. Toilet kept running for the next 2 days.

In New Zealand at most motels, beds are made, this place says they are a motel and serviced accomodation, however the bed wasn't made while we stayed here, nor was it cleaned ie the floor, or dusted.

You can't open the curtain as a sign says the sun will fade the furniture.

Remote was kept together by a rubber band.

Even though it says it is serviced if you use their dishes, there is a fee if you do not wash them and put them back.

Location to city is not too bad, however if you have a car and you come from the city to the motel and it is peak hour, you will find it difficult to cross 3 lanes of traffic to get into the motel. We had to keep driving for 10 minutes just to be able to make a safe turn and then sat in the traffic for another 20 to get back to the motel.

For those of you superstitious, there is a unit 13.

My partner who booked it kept telling me it was cheap and cheerful, however I just found it cheap.

There are quite a few hotel/motels in this area, and may be worth checking out before booking at the Paramount.

Pineapple hotel across the road is great for steaks. Wagyu steak was delicious.

  • Liked — Close to the Pineapple Hotel
  • Disliked — Unfriendly checkin and not what it appears to be from there website
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyberGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

after seeing previous reviews we decided to try out the paramount hotel initially staying for 10 days but ending up staying 17 days.

Majorie and Wayne are the perfect hosts, with the rooms being good and clean and worth every penny of the money, easily booked over the internet.

the bus stop is just outside and you can catch the 475 into the city or you canwalk 15 mins to southbank and get the city cat catamaran to north quay which virtually outs you on the queen st shopping malls

Just opposite is the Pineapple hotel which does the best steaks i have tasted especially the house t bone at around $34

Back to the hotel there is internet access which was invaluable to us and the rooms are quite spacious.

If you are looking for clean good accomadation for yourself or family then look no further, there is also a kitchen and oven, bascially self contained apartments, which we were sorry to leave.

Thank you Majorie and Wayne for making our stay so good

Tony Beaven

  • Liked — pool next to the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tonybeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#68 of 157 in Brisbane
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#103 of 157 in Brisbane
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#97 of 157 in Brisbane
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#43 of 157 in Brisbane
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
1.3 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#48 of 157 in Brisbane
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 649 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, quiet, older style units. Close to transport, CBD, SouthBank, St Vincents,PA,Mater & Children's Hospitals.Walking distance to Gabba.Great location for taking in a show at Southbank, checking out the exhibitions at Gomma, climbing the Story Bridge, AFL or Cricket at the Gabba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Brisbane
Paramount Brisbane
Brisbane Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing