We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much more than a bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Hill Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spring Hill Terraces
Ranked #95 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Mareeba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“much more than a bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had the pleasure of stumbling upon this accommodation because I needed a bed and a place within walking distance to the Brisbane Royal Hospital. I wasn't after much just somewhere clean, somewhere I felt safe ( because I was alone....my husband in hospital and our kids had just flown back home because school holidays were finished.) We had just been in a modern two bedroom apartment , views and a pool for a week and as it turned out was too far away from the hospital. I wished we had chosen spring Hill Apartments in the first place. I had a lovely little room ( in the attic) clean and bright. The managers are so helpful and friendly and the patience and care shown to guests, particularly those dealing with the strain of frequent hospital visits was wonderful. We will return to Brisbane....under better circumstances and take an apartment for a family holiday and we will be opting for the warm and friendly and small suburban 80's Terraces over the concrete tower for sure. TC

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clel-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
28
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Third stay here in last 7 months, again a budget double with shared bathroom and this was better than last time.
Room seemed to have been recently redecorated, the owners apologized that ours didn't have the new TV's yet but didn't concern us at all.
Also, I had requested on booking that if possible a room away from the street would be good, which is what we got and quiet too.
Bathrooms still spotless and owners still as helpful, no special deal so a little dearer than last time, but at approx. $100 for a double motel-style unit close to downtown Brisbane and 4 minutes walk from Fortitude Valley station, we're not moaning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Another Golden Chain group member, we only managed to get a motel room, not self catering, but it was at short notice. An older building than the Redcliffe motel but similar accommodation - a bit smaller,but we were paying for convenience for a couple of nights. There is a small courtyard garden in the middle of the property with seating and a table. However it is 20 minutes walk to the city centre, free parking and there's a small supermarket on route that we found stayed open till 11 pm. If your travelling on a budget, this is well worth considering.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewantin, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My partner & I stayed for 2 nights (Oct 20th & 21st). Upon arrival Lorraine was very friendly and we were checked- in in a jiffy. I picked this accomm because on Sunday we were participating in the Brisbane Zombie Walk, at Victoria Park and this was within walking distance. The room was clean, tidy and just what we needed. We were within walking distance to Fortitude Valley and also the Brisbane show grounds.
On the Sunday once we were zombified Lorraine barely battered an eyelid and said we looked like Valley locals when we stepped into the office to enquire about early checkout. Very handy and not too pricey for the convenience. Will stay again for next year's walk (if required) :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The three of us stayed in a studio unit with a double & single bed. The double bed was comfortable, but my 18 year old brother complained that the single bed was too small & his legs hung off the end. The unit was equipped with all the cooking equipment we needed for one night & the shower had great pressure. It was a lovely, cool & clean room. It is in a great location, not far from the city, only about a $15 cab ride to Southbank. We also walked along Brunswick St into the Valley & that only took us about 15 minutes. Didn't hear any traffic noise from our room at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0nest_critique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We are currently staying here to be close to the royal Brisbane and women's hospital as our mum has taken seriously ill while on holiday in Australia from the UK. The caring and friendly nature of the staff here really is out of this world. The couple are aware of our predicament and have been sensational with us. They have driven us to the hospital in the mornings to be with our mum without us even asking. They have been extremely accommodating on our day to day extensions to our stay due to our mums health and hospital release date. I would strongly recommend anyone attending the hospital to make spring hills their first port of call. I really can not praise the service enough and have never been so sympathetically looked after second to being at home with mum.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment one which is over two floors with plenty room for " me time" when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Better than average but borderline very good...
Found at the last moment and reviews speak reasonably well of it so took a gamble.
Yes our room was quite small and a bit beaten-up, but everything worked (except the heater but the manager got us a plug-in one immediately), over-all clean enough and the shared bathroom (a separate room), while fairly spartan was spotless and vast amounts of hot water.
We were only there for a night as had an early morning flight- note; $32 for a taxi door to door at 4:30am versus walking to the trains and $30 anyway. The train station's 6 minutes walk for us, lots of eating houses etc and Chinatown very close too.
Reception exceptionally helpful and full of info on getting around.
The property also has more up-market rooms and at a glance a nice garden, seems to have fairly good evening meals available.
Look, for $90 for a double room near the centre of Brisbane you can't go wrong, no noisy pubs or intersections next door, we'd stay there again in an instant for a night and possibly longer in the bigger better appointed rooms.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget and time frame - maybe ask to see what rooms are like and location, we just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Snooze Inn
Snooze Inn
#125 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#99 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#94 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#102 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gregory Terrace Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hill Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hill Terraces

Property: Spring Hill Terraces
Address: 260 Water Street (Cnr Warry Street) | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Hill Terraces 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, affordable comfort on the city's doorstep. We have a range of budget rooms (double or twin rooms with shared bathroom), motel rooms (double or twin rooms with ensuite), studio apartments (with limited cooking facilities and ensuite) and terrace houses (fully self-contained). Close to bus/train transport, Royal Brisbane Hospital, RNA showgrounds, Chinatown and only a 30 minute walk into the CBD. Free-call taxi phone in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Spring Hill Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Hill Terraces Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing