We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for those on business with UQ”
Review of St Lucia Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Lucia Gardens
Ranked #127 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for those on business with UQ”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Twice now I have visited Brisbane on business with the University of Queensland - both times I have stayed at St Lucia Gardens, and I would definitely do so again. The property is very convenient to UQ with a bus stop just outside the gates and very frequent service to the university. Shops / cafes of Toowong - including a supermarket, kmart, a great deli (Fruity Capers), good curry (at Ceylon Inn), etc - are a 5min walk away. A 10 min walk will get you to a pedestrian/cycle path along the beautiful Brisbane River and the City Cat ferry stop (Regatta). Wireless internet is available for nominal fee and is high quality. The rooms are spacious and clean with kitchenettes (that are thoughtfully stocked with heathy breakfast supplies and fresh fruit!) The beds and pillows are very comforable and fresh thick white towels a plus. The manager Arthur is very friendly and extremely accomodating - I was allowed to check in early which was a lifesaver after a long-haul flight from London. The location, comfort and quality make St Lucia Gardens an outstanding value and it's my first choice for accomodation in Brisbane.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
3
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here the night before my wedding as the location and cost were v good

Rarely do you find such a lovely couple (Arthur & Pene) who were very accomodating, allowing a late checkout and the professional photographer access to the well trimmed garden areas.

Thanks for the pleasant stay !

Best regards


Robbie from London

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Excellent spot when needing to attend UQ.
I've stayed here a couple of times now and I'm very happy to know there's a place to go to when coming up for work to UQ.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsW_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Rooms are well equipped, but everything felt quite dated and old-fashioned. Nevertheless, the bed was very comfy and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The kitchen was also very well equipped, although I'm not so sure about the "continental breakfast"...! Sachets of cereal and milk wasn't quite what I expected.

For a hotel which is often used by those visiting UQ, the wifi service was very poor. It is far too expensive for this day and age, although prices seem to be similar across Australia, so perhaps it's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazinmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Perfect place to stay for a few days or weeks. I stayed at St Lucia gardens during a time in which it was fully booked and was very impressed with the great, friendly, helpful service and the tidy rooms and gardens. There was little noise from other guests and the rooms were spacious, well equipped and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brie_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stay at St Lucia Gardens every time I visit UQ, which is several times a year, sometimes for several weeks at a time. I never even bother looking for another place because I'm always happy with the room, the service, and the location. The proximity to UQ is a top selling point, along with the reasonable rates and great staff. In fact, the new management (as of early 2011) is top-notch: helpful, friendly, considerate, and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiznick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A lovely self service apartment, very clean. Very nice kitchen area, close to the ferry and the bus and train station with Toowong mall not 10 minutes walk away. On the corner though, so a bit noisy.

Nice accommodation at a very good price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#90 of 160 in Brisbane
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jephson Hotel
Jephson Hotel
#83 of 160 in Brisbane
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#75 of 160 in Brisbane
156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
#138 of 160 in Brisbane
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Benson Court Motel
Benson Court Motel
#130 of 160 in Brisbane
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Lucia Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Lucia Gardens

Property: St Lucia Gardens
Address: 2 Gailey Rd | St Lucia, Brisbane, Queensland 4067, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Lucia Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
St Lucia Gardens Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing