We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average pub grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Centenary Tavern

Centenary Tavern
Ranked #2,740 of 4,294 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Graziers Steakhouse offers a wide selection of deliciously cooked steaks plus other favourites for your taste buds. With the kids play area offering a wide range of activities, you can enjoy a nice meal while the kids get to play. So when you are in the Middle Park area get down to the Centenary Tavern and bring the whole family!
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average pub grub”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Centenary Tavern now belongs to the ALH group and as such serves the same menu as all their pubs. the food is ok, menu choices are not extensive there are lots of steaks, a few pastas, chicken parmie etc.

I had the Chicken Penne which was very disappointing my husband had chicken parmie which was not bad.

Its price level is fairly good but personally i can't wait for Hotel Monier to reopen they are head and shoulders above Centenary Tavern.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camrichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    13
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch specials”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have eaten here three times now at lunch time, and have yet to wander from the lunch specials menu- why would you when it's such great value at $10.90? The servings are big and the food has all been surprisingly good for pub fare- so far I have had the calamari, the steak sandwich and the chicken burger- all yummy, as are the chips and salad. Also, the kids menu features a good variety- costs around 7.50 but its a huge serving which I reckon could easily feed two kids. Finally, there is a great kids playground (in need of another shade cloth though) as well as a kids games room. All in all, for a reasonably cheap lunch option, it's money well spent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valeska26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top notch pub grub”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Centenary Tavern is home to Graziers Steakhouse and is quickly becoming a second home to us when we are looking for somewhere local to take visitors, Tuesday night is $20 Angus steak night (full menu still available) and it is a fantastic offer, the steak is cooked to perfection and comes with your choice of sauces, mushroom, dianne, smokey BBQ (my favourite) etc. and also you can choose from vegetables or salad (house Caesar) AND chips or house potato (jacket potato with sour cream) and it's all delicious, the steaks are no smaller in size than full paying nights ($33.50) as some places will tend to serve you as a matter of fact we had two guests with us, mother-in-law & her sister who chose the steaks from the Senior menu for $12.50 and their steaks were just as big as ours. Plenty of comfortable seating is available indoors and outside in a lovely garden setting. If you have kids to feed they also offer kids special for $6.00 with a drink in a special cup with bendy straw. Service and value are great in very pleasant surrounds and definitely worth a visit if your in the Western/Centenary suburbs of Brisbane.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our can't be bothered to cook option”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have been using the Centenary tavern as the get home from work, haven't done the shopping and cannot be bothered to knock anything up for dinner option for a while now. I have to say I cannot fault it, there are things to keep the kids amused, the great playground (with CCTV) and the entertainment room inside with games.
It's a pub, with better than average Pub fare...have had worse steaks for twice the cost as here. The menu has a few other options, the ribs are usually great, have a chicken palma last time and that was pretty good too.
All in all a pleasant couple of hours with dinner and a couple of beers....and no dishes to sort out after.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watt5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I frequent the Centenary often. It’s a suburban pub and it generally serves adequate food from a smallish menu.(Maybe I just go to often). However it does a great steak. The grill they cook on just seems to add the perfect BBQ flavour. The pork ribs, which 50% of the time are perfect, with meat falling off the bone and melting in your mouth. However they can be tough. Worth the gamble if you like ribs. Over all it’s a pub… a bit dated, judge it as what it is!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justinw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centenary Tavern also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Centenary Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing