We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Midtown
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and were very impressed. The location to Brisbane CBD and Queen Street shopping was fantastic. Short walk to train station also. Staff on front desk were very helpful and friendly. Rooms comfortable and we'll equipped. Property clean and very modern and very quiet. The beds were very comfortable, and the best that I have slept in a hotel, even loved the pillows.
Would stay here again with no hestitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stenedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidtownBrisbane, Manager at Mantra Midtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Stenedy, a pleasure to be of service to you during your stay. We are indeed in a great location, close to everything from river, garden to restaurants and shops. Next time you venture over to Brisbane please contact us so we can welcome you back. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    342
    120
    34
    16
See reviews for
284
254
61
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at Midtown for 5 nights in Feb 2014. The apartments met all my expectations and the staff were friendly, efficient and professional. I was welcomed by Kristal and Greg who patiently booked me in and explained the surrounding area. The rooms were well equipped and clean with everything you need when staying away from home. I stayed at Midtown on business and cannot thank Greg and Kristal enough for ensuring that I reached all my appointments on time by giving me clear directions and booking me taxis. I have little sense of direction and they were my guides!

The property is situated in the CBD and as such is close to everything I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0sense0fdirecti0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidtownBrisbane, Manager at Mantra Midtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi N0sense0fdirecti0n, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a successful business trip due to our wonderful staff. Hope to welcome you back again one day. Travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in these apartments twice whilst travelling interstate. Found the studio was great for short visit but loved the extra room of the one bed apartment. Linen was good quality and the room was clean and comfortable. Great position close to shopping and transport. Great to have a balcony as well. Staff were friendly and helpful. No hesitation in recommending and hope to stay again soon. Could do with a few extra pool lounges and a couple of umbrellas but pool area with adjoining bbq area was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidtownBrisbane, Manager at Mantra Midtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks RobynM, we are indeed lucky that all of our rooms have balconies. Is nice to be able to get outside and enjoy the fresh area and do a bit of people and traffic watching. Luckily when the building was constructed there is a decent space between us and the buildings in the surrounding area so you get to see a bit of our beautiful city. Hope to see you again when you next visit Brisbane. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

While our studio was snug it had everything we needed including a washer and dryer (and a mini dishwasher). The white on white decor with a few splashes of color was pleasing to us. It was spotless too. A plus was the small balcony with a table and chaired. The lap pool (salt water) was great. And did we mention the location? The free city ferry is a five minutes walk as is bustling the Queen Street pedestrian plaza, full of shops and restaurants. Our unit was silent at night, no road noise or loud neighbors. We would stay here on a future visit to Brisbane. Cheers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidtownBrisbane, Manager at Mantra Midtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks Visit-upstate-NY, we are glad that you enjoyed your snug & quiet studio room and it's Juliet balcony. We are careful to mention the size of the rooms to ensure people know before they arrive so your comments are appreciated. Brisbane offers quite a few 'free' things for visitors so it's good to hear you made the most of these - ferries, buses, even free chairs in the local parks and wifi! Take care and see you next time you are in Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We made an error in booking one bedroom apartment and accidently booked two rooms. Was advised on arrival that second room would be onsold . And then had no access to it and was double charged. Graeme was very rude and arrogant . And unforgiving with the mistake. What ever happened to the customer is right. I guess they don't want repeat business. There was broken glass in room tv remote didn't work and had to fix leaking shower head to be able to shower
Will not stay there again and do not recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidtownBrisbane, Manager at Mantra Midtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your comments justin1483, we are sorry to hear that your overall experience was not to expectation - I hope you still managed to enjoy your stay in Brisbane though. It is a great city and there is so much to do, see and taste these days!

We are sorry that we weren't able to waive the fee for the double booking, as we explained on check-in we would be been happy to do so if we could sell the room for you. We did try our best to do this but sadly it was a night that no last minute travellers were looking for accommodation. I'm sure you would find that not many other businesses would even try to this much.

I have been in this situation myself, as I'm sure many others have, with airlines and hotels, where I've made a mistake on my booking (wrong dates was the worst) so totally understand the frustration you felt (and still feel no doubt) but I also understand the terms and conditions that I agreed to when I or family and friends were booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a fabulous weekend at the Midtown apartments with twelve friends on the weekend..Beautiful apartments.Very friendly helpful staff..Fantastic location right in the heart of the city.. and very reasonable rates...will definitely return and highly recommend the midtown apartments to anyone looking for a great place to stay...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendatBernies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidtownBrisbane, Manager at Mantra Midtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi weekendatBernies2014, thanks for deciding to stay with us for your girls weekend. Love to welcome you all back again once our wine bar & bistro (127) opens in May. There are a few great shows coming to Brisbane in the coming months - ie The Lion King ... if you need another reason to visit! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This property is modern and in a great location. But keep in mind that the rooms are very small and privacy is limited as you feel very close to your neighbours and other buildings in the CBD. At times I felt like I was being watched by a neighbouring apartment building whose occupants had a direct view into the balcony and apartment. Frustratingly, the main bedroom curtains weren't wide enough to cover full window space - so felt even more on show.

The 1 bedroom executive is really a 2 bedroom, with the second room being an office/small bedroom with a single bed. The beds were comfortable but on the soft side, pretty good pillows were on offer too. Toiletries were similar with what you would get at an Oaks or a Mantra.

Speaking of Oaks and Mantra, this property fits well within that class of accommodation provider - apartment style hotel with limited services. The only difference really is the small side of the Midtown apartments compared to its counterparts, and the price - with the Midtown charging between 10%-20% more per night than a typical Oaks property.

There is a very strict party policy with all guests to be out of the apartment by 10pm - which felt a bit harsh. We had guests stay until midnight and felt like rebels doing so - we made sure we shut the balcony door to avoid noise leakage into the apartment.

I'm happy I checked out Midtown but don't know if I would be rushing back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haydensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidtownBrisbane, Manager at Mantra Midtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks HaydenSydney for your feedback. We are indeed an apartment hotel, similar to an Oaks or a Mantra only a lot newer (in Brisbane). We'd like to think we provide 10 - 20% better service perhaps?? Only our guests can say though.

Australia being so small there are only a few amenities suppliers - so it would not surprise me if almost all hotels and apartments in Australia have something similar. At least you know there is consistency in product from place to place :-)

We've taken note of your comments about the size of the rooms. We do try within our hotel description and room descriptions to make sure people understand the size of our rooms, including providing the m2 and configuration for each room type. We will review what we are promoting to make sure it is 100% accurate.

I was surprised at your comment regarding the distance between buildings, especially coming from Sydney (I am also). I think the closest building to us would be at least 50 metres and that is the closest. The other buildings are Queensland Government department buildings so all shut down after 6pm. I have reported your comments about the curtain back to the interior designer to see what can be fixed there. Thanks for pointing it out.

Lastly you mentioned the no party policy. Sadly, we have had to tighten this up due to some other less responsible and courteous guests such as yourselves (closing the balcony door etc). We certainly do not discourage small gatherings of friends in rooms - just not a house party which then in turn makes other guests stay not so enjoyable. I don't think our policy is any less strict than other hotels or apartments in the way as our primary goal is to make sure everyone has a great stay!

You know where we are should you decide to pay us another visit. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.0 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Midtown

Property: Mantra Midtown
Address: 127 Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Midtown Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Midtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In your fully serviced apartment you will find room to spread out, a fully equipped kitchen with modern appliances including dishwasher and full size refrigerator, laundry facilities, iPod dock, private balcony and a 40" digital TV in the living area with a 32" in the master bedroom. What's more, you're close to everything. You have the business and financial district of Eagle Street a short walk away, the dining precinct of Eagle Street Pier within a leisurely stroll, and if you're looking for entertainment then the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) and Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) is just across the bridge. You may be up for a little shopping, then Queen Street Mall is within easy walking distance, or the eclectic atmosphere of Fortitude Valley is very close by. Take a chance at the Treasury Casino or enjoy the beautiful surrounds of the Botanic Gardens. Choose from Studio, One Bedroom, One Bedroom Executive and Two Bedroom Apartments; Mantra Midtown's stylishly appointed and contemporary apartments have everything you need. The pool, the spa, the sauna and the fully equipped gymnasium are there for your pleasure. The boardroom seats up to 14 comfortably so you can conduct business without leaving your Brisbane hotel. It's also good to know that you can simply venture downstairs for a drink or a meal at 127 Bar and Bistro, right at the entrance to reception. There is also Streetside Cafe for a relaxing coffee, breakfast or light lunch. Beside this you'll find the little things like hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities as well as secure undercover parking and express check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing