We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Cove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We loved everything about the apartments from the very friendly professional service from the ever present manager Alysha to the location, cleanliness, and fitout of the apartments. The design is excellent providing everything needed right down to the pet budgerigar on the balcony. Cleanliness was exceptional, very comfortable bed. There was nothing we needed that had not been supplied. The attached restaurant Jak & Hill is great place for breakfast and there are other very good dining establishments in close walking distance for variety. We particularly like the new Lebanese Al Beik and the modern Chinese restaurant called Great for a superb breakfast.

Room Tip: We requested and received a quiet apartment which was at the back of the building. But it is a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnPalmCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear OnPalmCove,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you found the apartments, décor, service, on site café and location met all your expectations, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    202
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
81
274
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

stayed 3 nights for work. Loved the rooms (large, modern & comfortable) & location (15 min walk to CBD) and pretty friendly staff. a little noisy because of construction work nearby when I stayed there and the lift is slooooow.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pinkflamingo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear pinkflamingo88,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay for your recent business trip to Brisbane.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my first time staying in Brisbane CBD and I chose the Punthill based on reviews here and the convenience of the apartment style. Well I chose right because this place is a home away from home. The service is personal and not generic like many larger hotels, always a smiley face to greet you no matter what time of day. The studios are more like a 1 bedroom without the wall, big comfy King Bed and very spacious with a balcony and modern kitchen and bathroom. I was very pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the property and it has a pool and outdoor gym to boot.

I guess one of the major bonuses was the café downstairs (Jak + Hill), also run by the managers. They are open early and close late every night. The menu is great, clearly with a focus on organic and free range ingredients. Coffee is excellent and the service to match. I ended up eating most of my meals at the café and every dish was top notch.

I would not hesitate in staying here again and will be recommending it to anyone wanting to stay short or long term, an easy 5min walk to downtown. 10mins to Queen St Mall.

I will be back soon

David

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear AucklandAviator,
Wow! - Thank you very much for your lovely review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are absolutely delighted that you chose Punthill for your first visit to Brisbane, and that the apartments, service and location met all your needs. We are also particularly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and service at our new café - jak + hill - which recently opened at the property.
The team will be so pleased to know that you had such a favourable experience and that you will happily recommend Punthill too.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent two nights in Brisbane and I am so glad we decided to stay at Punthill Apartments. From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel very welcome. Check in was quick and painless. The rooms are well designed, compact but with a feeling of spaciousness, although the bathroom is a bit squeezy. The bed was so comfy it was like sleeping on a cloud. The small kitchen was appreciated as was the table/desk that we utilised for the laptop.

The location couldn't be better - so central to the CBD where we had a business meeting. It's well within walking distance to the mall and the river and the associated bars and restaurants. The hill was good for negating the calories eaten at dinner :)

We will definitely stay here again and will look at other Punthill properties when we next travel.

Thanks to the team for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear AnnieH_8,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and you had all your expectations exceeded.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon - whether that be in Brisbane again, or at one of our properties in Melbourne!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

One lift is a joke but we survived! I guess it's not the hotels fault but the BBQ was not usable as it was not cleaned by previous selfish people. $25 a day for the car park is just too much when you are staying a few nights. So that's my moans. Everything else was brilliant! The room was excellent as were the staff on reception so I would highly recommend this hotel. Location was excellent, ok we had to walk up a hill but it was worth it. Plan your day so as you only walk up it once!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor unless you don't mind waiting for a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Youngtel,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are so sorry that you found the BBQ facilities in such a state; daily checks are made by our housekeeping team, however we will endeavour to check more frequently, particularly with the warmer weather approaching which will lure more guests outside to use these facilities.
Our car parking fees are competitive for the area, and in fact cheaper than the next closest facility.
We are so pleased that you loved the hotel in general and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I have always loved going to Queensland and recently decided to say in Brisbane. I was told by a friend who uses Punthill in Melbourne to give the Brisbane hotel a try as the Melbourne ones are of a very high quality.....and we were not disappointed!! I was surprised how close it was to the main part of the city but how quite it was. The lobby was very modern, fresh and light for a hotel. The rooms we great and roomy and also very clean and crisp which I love, and we loved our pet bird! I am not used to seeing managers actually on the floor of a hotel so when i found out that the managing couple who run the hotel spend most of their time on the desk i was very impressed....and they are from Melbourne as well so they totally knew where to send us in regards to food, coffee & clothes!! we will definitely becoming back once the cafe is open to see if they can bring a bit of Melbourne to Brisbane!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Vanessa T,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that all your expectations were exceeded during your recent stay, and that you are already looking forward to a return visit to try out our new café!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I usually stay in hotels when I travel to meet friends but decided to try a serviced apartment this time as the standard of hotels in Australia I feel is in a slight decline. The location is great 10 -15 minute walk to the CBD depending on how quickly you move or you can head to Roma station for transport to the CBD if your feeling lazy. Upon arrival the staff at the front desk were quick to acknowledge and great you with a smile and enthusiasm which I found to be very welcoming. Staff were well presented and very informative when processing my check in and left me with no questions unanswered about what was happening in brisbane and what were the places i should see. The room was great everything looked new, fresh, clean, inviting and comfortable. The King bed was great unbelievable comfortable and I had some of the best nights sleep. Going out to eat was a breeze the staff knew all the hot spots to go to which was great as I hate walking around trying to decide if a restaurant is worth dining at. All up the few days I spent in Brisbane were fantastic with the help of the staff on the desk and Managers seem to do a fantastic job training there staff and keeping them up to date with current and relevant information about there area. I'm coming back again early in the new year and i'm looking forward to trying the new cafe opening up attached to the apartments. If its run by the same Managers I'll have high expectations, I hope the coffee is as good as the coffee in Melbourne!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish_Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Irish_Traveller2013,
Thanks so much for your complimentary review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are thrilled you chose Punthill to make the switch to apartment style accommodation, and had all your expectations exceeded.
We are very excited about the impending opening of our restaurant - jak+hill - and our aim is definitely to provide coffee that is at least as good as that found in Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 159 in Brisbane
997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#11 of 159 in Brisbane
2,921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Property: Punthill Brisbane
Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing