We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, spacious rooms”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great value, spacious rooms”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Great find for good value studio apartment in a hip medium density suburbs with booming cafe culture.
Large rooms, comfortable beds and trendy decor. Walking distance to Brisbabe CBD, Southbank and Fortitude valley. For those not keen in walking there are city bikes for hire everywhere.
Friendly staff, free wifi, outdoor gym equipment, and welcome chocolate - what more could you want?

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Natalie075,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be extremely pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    200
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
81
272
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

CBD (citycenter) is just a couple of minutes by walking. So are the train/bus stations. Helpful and smiley staff. Has a cool cafe+bar downstairs. Over the top, all the rooms have a kitchen with full cutlary, plates, kettle, fridge, micro, dishwasher etc, which enables you cook for your own. I would rate 4 normally, but due to surprisingly affordable price, I gave 5.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hmtyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear hmtyvz,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service during your recent business trip to Brisbane. Keep an eye out for special deals on our website too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for a couple of nights on our way to the Sunshine Coast. After much searching trip advisor, we were keen to stay somewhere close to the CBD, clean and tidy, and was good value for money. Punthill delivered on all of those and exceeded our expectations! The staff were very welcoming and had some great suggestions for dining in the city. The bed was very comfortable!

As for previous reviews regarding location, it can't be more than a 5 minute stroll to the Queen St Mall. This was great in our opinion, all the benefits of being close to the CBD but was a very quiet spot. The decor was great and the bird theme (including the ornamental bird cages on each apartment) was a nice touch.

Would I recommend it to friends - definitely
Would I stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: We had a CBD facing room which was really quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear allhood,
Thank you for lovely comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that your expectations were exceeded. We thank you for recommending Punthill, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West sussex
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The smart trendy decor doesn't make up for the location or lack of facilities here. We booked a one bed apt but the reality was this was a studio as the bed and kitchen were in the same room. There is little or no storage and the kitchen whilst having a dishwasher only has a 2 ring hob and nothing else. It is just that bit too far from the river front with an exhausting uphill walk at the end of the evening. The swimming pool had 2 large sun umbrellas on the very exposed deck area but both broken. Not worth the money. We have stayed in other apartments in Brisbane and certainly wouldn't chose this above others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith7591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Judith7591,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are very disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory stay.
We only have studio apartments at the property and state this clearly on all websites. We are not sure how you could have booked a one bedroom apartment. We also advertise clearly a "kitchenette". We provide a very well equipped kitchenette though which includes (but is not limited to) a drawer dishwasher, stovetop, microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery etc.
The property is in Spring Hill, not in the CBD and is a short walk to the city centre.
Brisbane experienced an horrendous storm and both umbrellas and some of the huge plant pots shattered. Replacements are on order. We are so sorry that your stay did not reach your expectations but do feel that we make it clear that we have spacious studio apartments with kitchenette.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at Punthill Brisbane overnight. The check-in was quick and easy and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very well presented, modern, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. We had dinner and breakfast at the attached restaurant 'Jak+Hill' which served great food and the staff there were also great. All in all, a very well run hotel that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrance85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Lawrance85,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and also the food and service in 'jak + hill', our newly opened restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We recently stayed at Punthill Brisbane for 3 nights.
Reception has a very casual look and feel, but they were very professional and helpful.

Room was a decent size and had a lot of room for luggage. TV screen was wall mounted and could be moved in whatever direction you wanted- which came in handy.

Only negative from the room was that the cold tap in the shower sprung off while I was in there. I let reception know and it was fixed up upon our return back into the room.

This apartment is approx. 10 minute walk to Queen Street Mall, to get there you go downhill, to get back it is uphill, but not too far or hard at all.

Quiet street and didn't hear traffic - just some of the screaming girls on our floor who were having a good time by the sounds of it.

They do not have a breakfast facility, but there is a great breakfast spot jus next door, so no biggy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minerva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Minerva22,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of this apartment hotel during your stay in September. Our on site restaurant - jak + hill - is now open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week, so next time you visit, you will have to try one of our brekky's!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed for a quick overnight stay as i was passing through the city after purchasing a car, The decor is quirky and fits perfectly with the overall theme of the hotel, Heaps of off street secure parking, huge bed and living space in the apartment, very luxurious. Jak and Hill cafe/restaurant downstairs had a brilliant menu and great prices and the food was amazing, i would recomend this place to anyone. Fantatic place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Tugan,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you had such a great overnight stay, and also enjoyed the cuisine at jak + hill. Hopefully next time you will be able to stay a bit longer!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 159 in Brisbane
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 159 in Brisbane
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Property: Punthill Brisbane
Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing