We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good staff and standard of rooms.”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY good staff and standard of rooms.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

After a 14h flight we checked in and slept like babies for 18 hrs straight. The other days, we enjoyed the fantastic pool and being so close to the city and walking distance to south bank. The staff is very genuine and we can warmly recommend the pasta as take away from the newly opened cafe at the bottom of the building (part of the hotel so room charge works). The only disappointment was internet speeds similar that of a 28k phone modem from the 90's. When choosing a hotel with wifi it is essential it works better then it did during our three days! If it would have, I would have given five stars!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dalebring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Dalebring,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service at the property. Regarding the internet speed, there are currently limited services in the Spring Hill area. However, we anticipate that by mid-February the service will be much improved, making use of the NBN infrastructure.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    200
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
81
272
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Not good apart from the staff.

The views are poor, the facilities are poor, the lift is slow and dirty the rooms could be cleaner, the balcony was filthy I could go on but I think you get the picture…
Oh and tap came off in my hand and I got soaked!
Loads more places to choose from - choose another with less noise in the night and cleaner

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Liz H,
We are so upset and disappointed that you did not have a good experience.
We are situated in Spring Hill on the fringe of the city and we do not advertise views. The lift is slow and will be replaced, but only at the end of 2014.
We check and thoroughly clean each balcony on departure of each guest and we are horrified that you found the balcony and the apartment unsatisfactory. We wish that you had expressed disapproval during your stay so that we could immediately have rectified the situation.
Your comments are highly unusual as we pride ourselves on immaculate cleaning and outstanding service. We are mortified at your experience and urge you to contact us to discuss.
We find our guests enjoy all our facilities - pool, wifi, guest internet station, restaurant, outdoor gym, conference room, on site car parking and luggage storage room.
We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay:
Loved the location
Loved the bird on the balcony
Loved the room and amenities
Loved the funky decor
Loved the pool and outdoor areas
Loved the staff
Loved Jak + Hill
Even grew to love the single slow lift

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pinstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear pinstrips,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are thrilled that you loved your stay at the property and we do hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at the Spring Hill Punthill for six nights as in Brisbane for the cricket Ashes ,couldnt have asked for better ,the apartment was fantastic ,staff very helpfull and friendly ,the short walk to central Brisbane made this a superb choice for our stay in the lovely city of Brisbane .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wamjimjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Wamjimjam,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you had such a great stay and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Loved it! spacious rooms, really comfortable beds, many little extras.Walking distance to CBD.stayed last weekend , when the hotel was full with many guests attending stereo sonic.We did not hear a sound of any of the guests returning thru the night.Staff were very friendly.Really good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max2008_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear max2008_12,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you had such a fantastic stay and found that the accommodation and service met all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Nice big room, reasonable price and very friendly staff - James and Aleisha went out of their way to be peasant and helpful. Easy walk to the Central station, for the train to the airport, and to the downtown area. Not many restaurants in the immediate area (nothing in the hotel when we were there) but the Queen Street Mall is close by and there are lots or restaurants near the Performing Arts Centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Ron B,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
As you may have read with recent reviews, we now have jak + hill café opened at the property, which provides a great option for breakfast, lunch and dinner dining. We hope you will be able to return to Punthill Brisbane sometime in the future to sample the menus on offer!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights. Friendly staff, big comfy beds perfect after a long days work. I usually eat at a few different venues when I travel trying to find good food but have not wandered out of the hotels front door! The restaurant attached - Jak $ Hill - is hip, friendly and most if all delicious! Everything I tried was good. Nothing to dislike - and working in the food industry I usually can find something. Would recommend a stay here anytime.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Jacqui F,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay, and particularly enjoyed the offerings at jak + hill café!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 159 in Brisbane
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#15 of 159 in Brisbane
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Property: Punthill Brisbane
Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing