We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good hotel”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 and it was an enjoyable experience. The hotel was new, well priced, with good amenities including a small kitchen so we could organise breakfast before heading out. The rooms were well insulated as we didn't hear any other guests

It is close to both the Central and Roma St train stations and a little further to get to the mall area. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boo5td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear boo5td,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to a return visit too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location of this hotel is next to central station but there's a bit of a slope if you're doing shopping. I also wouldn't recommend walking the short cuts at night. Stick the the main roads. It is walkable to cbd but if you want convenience I terms of shops close by to get a drink or restaurants/fast foods of mid night snack, then this one probably won't tick your boxes.

The room is very spacious with a good size kitchen if you're staying for a few days. Yes they only have 1 lift and it is very slow. It doesn't have any ventilation so it gets very hot inside. One morning I was even stuck in the lift for about 5 mins. House keeping is ok, could do better with more attention to detail or just a little more mope down. I stayed for 3 nights and they freshed up my room everyday. But because they didn't do a good enough job, I really felt like booking hotel rooms 1 day at a time to force a more thorough clean each day.

I would stay here again if I had a car, otherwise I'd pick something closer to city. Walking back to punt hill at night was a real hassle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eLasticbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear eLasticbarbie,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are disappointed that you were not totally satisfied during your recent stay. Punthill Brisbane is on the fringe of the CBD in the Spring Hill area. Part of Punthill is our wonderful café serving breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days, and they are always happy to stock your fridge with anything on the menu if you do need a very late snack.
We are sorry that the housekeeping was not perfect and will make sure the manager is really vigilant about the detail.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

When in Brisbane I usually stay in a chain-hotel on the riverside, but decided to try somewhere different so opted for the Punthill. What a good choice. First impressions were great - very friendly check-in staff and quirky décor in reception. Rooms were very nice, and very reasonably priced. The café on the ground floor does great food. I usually use the gym in hotels, but didn't fancy the open-air gym at the Punthill due to the heat, but that wasn't a problem as I went for some great riverside walks instead. I did find it quite a walk from town, and up a hill, but because it was so reasonably priced I would recommend staying there, and paying the odd $10 taxi fee if the heat and the hill are too much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear KiwiTraveller43,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled that you took the opportunity to stay at Punthill, and found that the apartments, facilities, staff and location met all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

After a very long trip from Ireland we were very grateful for the warm welcome and help we received from the hotel staff.
The location is ideal and only a very short stroll from the heart of Brisbane City, Botanical Gardens, Southbank and public transport.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, the rooms cleaned daily and they went above and beyond on more than one occasion helping us to truly unwind and enjoy our holiday.
The room accommodated 2 adults and a 6 year old boy perfectly and we didn’t spend our time tripping over each other.
The restaurant in the lobby area (Jack and Hill) serves fresh and tasty food and is a great place for a quick bite to eat.
We would stay here again and recommend it for couples, families or anyone travelling and wanting to see the city of Brisbane in comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear CourtRichards,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
So pleased to hear that you and your family had such a comfortable stay during your visit to Brisbane, and that you will recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill should you be visiting Australia again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We arrived early in the morning after 31 hours of travel and the reception team could see how weary we were and got us a room cleaned immediately. The hotel staff were really lovely, our room was great, and there is a fab cafe attached to the hotel who do magnificent breakfasts.
The location is great - a short walk from everything.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scoorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Scoorie,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
Long-haul flights are extremely exhausting so it is great to hear that the team were able to arrange an early check in for you. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay in Brisbane, and we do hope to welcome you back to Punthill should you visit Australia again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was the second time that I stayed in this hotel and it was really great. The Appartements Are so beautiful, the beds really comfortable and they also have a good Café nearby. Central Station and Queen Street are just a five minute

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Nesrin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Nesrin O,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team will be so pleased to know that your return visit to this apartment hotel did not disappoint! Great to hear that you were able to try our delicious menu at jak+ hill restaurant too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here whilst visiting my brother in Brisbane. I read the reviews and thought this hotel looked quite good. Punthill did not disappoint! Friendly staff. Very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Clean, spacious, comfortable bedrooms. Really good value for money. When we visit Brisbane again we will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CattPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear CattPatt,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Fantastic to hear that you had such a comfortable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 170 in Brisbane
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
471.2 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 170 in Brisbane
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing