We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great studio apartment”
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at the Punthill Apartments with my wife for a business trip in January. The room was a studio type room with a kitchenette that is suitable for preparing basic meals, it also has a dish washer so makes cleaning up easy.
The room was a good size and had a modern and fresh feel/look about it. The bathroom was on the smaller side but this wasn’t an issue for us.
The building has a nice pool (not heated) and was great on a nice sunny day. The gym is outdoors and to be honest was not very good, the machines are old and very basic. We decided to go down the road to use the healthwork’s gym for a small fee.
There is a great café out the front of the building, the food is amazing……We had breakfast here each day and I would sometimes take away a lunch to work.
I would stay here again if I required an apartment and would recommend it to travelling business people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear sean b,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Our gym has been well utilized by many guests, and equipment includes treadmill, multi-gym, exercise bike, exercise mats, yoga balls and free weights set. All equipment is approximately 18 months old and we do monitor everything to ensure they are in good working order. A commercial gym will of course be much better equipped.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in jak+hill, and are also happy to recommend Punthill to others.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a great hotel and in a great location.
Close to Central Station and a 5 minute walk from the centre of town/Queen Street Mall and the riverside. Also about 600 metres from a Woolworths Supermarket (Spring Hill)
Rooms are large/spacious and have everything you need. A small kitchenette so you can (should you want to) make a meal.
We were on the 8th floor overlooking the street and it was quiet at night.
Free WiFi was a bonus (you do have to sign up each day however not a major).
Air Conditioner was great also; kept the room at a nice temperature.

The staff were absolutely fantastic. Always helpful with anything that was asked of them.
Housekeeping were great also...

Jak and Hill, the café at the entrance is great and you can order room service from here.
We did and the food was wonderful. We also had breakfast there the last day we were there and it was nice.

Will definitely stay here when we return to Brisbane.

Room Tip: If you want a nice place close to the city, with good service, then this should be your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviegnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear steviegnz,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Brisbane.
The teams at both the apartment hotel and jak + hill café will be delighted to hear that you had such a great stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room photos on the site tell the story. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The bathroom is small but this is made up for with the good space in the living area.
Staff are excellent. There is also a pool and outdoor gym.
One of the real bonuses is the $20 voucher you get with your booking. This is for "Jac + Hill", the cafe at the entrance of the apartments. I have separately reviewed this but it is excellent. Coffee, food and service are outstanding. Right at your door step.
From the location in Astor Terrace, you are just a couple of blocks from the CBD and a direct line by taxi to James St.
Book it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear 105FLSTF,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear you had such a comfortable stay, and also that you enjoyed the culinary delights of jak + hill café! It sounds like you booked our B&B Executive Package which included a voucher for the café; keep an eye on our website for more specials too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Punthill in September 2013. The hotel is 10 min walk from the main train station and the city centre. It is in a safe area.
The hotel from the outside looks good, the appartment inside is AMAZING!! We loved everything about the room. It is really big, the bathroom is luxurious, the kitchen is so practical, the balcony is lovely, the flat screen TV is great and the king size bed so comfy! We also loved the decor of the room.
We did not use the shared areas but we had a look at the outside gym, the bbq area and the pool and it looks really nice. We were only in Brisbane for 3 nights but this apartment would be ideal for a longer holiday as it is spacious and there are lots of storage.
We did not use the WIFI as it was not included in our rate.
We did not have a car so I am not sure about car park.

The only thing I could "fault" is the front desk staff, They were not very friendly. They were not unfriendly either, I just thought that they could have been more customer friendly: when we checked out, I gave back the keys, they checked everything was in order for payment and that's it. They did not say something like "Hope you've enjoyed your stay" or "Was everything alright". They just took the keys, looked at the screen and said "That's fine, thank you." That would not put me off going back if I ever have the chance to come to Australia again.

Punthill is a great apartment hotel at a very competitive price. You should stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerGlasgow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear SummerGlasgow82,
We love your review but are horrified to hear that the staff were not as friendly as they should have been. We think we know who the staff member is and he can be a bit reserved and laconic - we will have a word. Thank you so much for letting us know and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Punthill was the first apartment that we stayed in when we arrived in Australia and we were very pleased with our choice.
The apartments are a short walk away from the riverbank, where you can pick up the free boat that will take you to the Southbank etc, and about a ten minute walk (in the other direction) to the City Centre shops and local buses. All in all the apartment is in an ideal location for seeing the city and all it has to offer.
The reception staff were always helpful and friendly and took time to explain the local area, which was of great help. We lost internet connection mid way throughout our stay and the lady on reception went out of her way to sort it as quickly as possible.
The apartment itself was spacious, clean and provided all we needed. The pool and BBQ area were an added bonus.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would gladly recomend and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bratbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Bratbys,
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill Brisbane and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We do hope that if you have the opportunity to visit Australia again, we can welcome you back to Punthill.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Gorgeous quirky hotel with a lot of character.

We stayed in a studio room and it was surprisingly large, massive king sized beds 10/10 for comfort, kitchen, ensuite bathroom and private balcony all in a quite area no more than 5 minute walk from Queen st in the city. The restaurant down stairs was great as well.

Overall very pleased, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina_F026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Nina_F026,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to a return visit!
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at Punthill for 4 nights, ideal location for everything Brisbane has to offer, Woolworth's supermarket and central railway station both less than 10 minutes walk. The walk from the station to the hotel is uphill, but we managed fine whilst carrying backpacks and pulling heavy cases. The apartment was spacious and cleaned everyday, the kitchen area well equipped. On our first night there was quite a bit of noise from the hotel bar next door, we were at the front on the level 3, however no noise at all for the other 3 nights. We would stay at this hotel again, but request a room at the back, and if possible on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Val_151515,
Thanks for your lovely review of Punthill Brisbane.
We agree that the location of this apartment hotel in Spring Hill is very convenient to the city centre as well as the local supermarket and railway station. Great to hear that you found the apartments so comfortable too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 169 in Brisbane
1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Address: Camelot Inn 40 Astor Tce | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing