We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy to South Bank, QPAC etc.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Capitol Apartments
Ranked #20 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Handy to South Bank, QPAC etc.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Capitol is just a block away from the Art Gallery, Museum & State Library, & just another block away from QPAC, South Bank etc. It is also a short comfortable walk across to the CBD or to West End. A great location if attending a show at QPAC or something in the South Bank area.

At arrival, we pulled into the driveway (alongside someone else), consequently blocking it, but it appears there's nowhere else to pull in whilst checking in to reception. This worked out OK, but if you miss it, you'll need to do a lap around the block to get back to the hotel. There's no parking on Peel Street at all. It is possible that you may find a park around the corner...

As I had booked online, check-in was quick & easy. We booked a dual-key apartment with a QB & 2 SB & had apartments 1008A & B on the top floor. A very reasonable price, I thought, for the location & facilities. Complex is new & modern - clean. Rooms are small, but functional with the self-contained QB room having full kitchen facilities including large fridge, cooktop, m'wave, cooking utensils, saucepans, crockery etc. We only stayed one night, but if you had a longer stay, all you need is on hand.

Beds were comfortable, though pillows a little flat for our liking - just our personal taste. Bathroom facilities were good. Single beds were very narrow - a bit small for older teenagers. Plenty of wardrobe & hanging space. Rooms were quiet with no noise from other guests. The hotel is right next to the train line, but this wasn't an issue for us at all.

The restaurant downstairs is definitely worth a visit (Peel St Kitchen - see separate review). We found it convenient eating there early, before walking to QPAC for Rocky Horror. Very nice. Of course, all the cafes & restaurants of South Bank are also just a short walk away with many options.

Would definitely stay again for any overnight trips to Brissy, particularly if going to a show at QPAC or a CBD shopping trip. Much cheaper than Rydges or Mantra & only a short distance further away from South Bank etc.

Room Tip: We had a top (10th) floor dual-key room/s which was quiet, with a balcony overlooking Peel St &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-M-W-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    122
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
78
63
14
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are grandparents who visited Brisbane on this occasion with the purpose of taking the children to a show at the Cremorne theatre in the QPAC building Southbank.
We have stayed in Brisbane many times for many different purposes. This time we opted for a 2 bedroom self contained apartment. It was very modern and well presented. The kitchenette worked well for us with modern appliances. On check in, We were dismayed to discover that the rail line ran right past the building but the rooms were fairly well sound muffled (not sound proof) and the children loved watching the trains come and go.
The pool turned out to be a winner with the Brisbane weather being overbearingly hot - too hot to brave the Southbank beach- it is the same depth throughout, about 3 ft. The heat also made the walk to Southbank seem like the Kokoda Trail with two major road crossings. Hard yakka with littlies in tow and with all the paraphernalia that goes with them (If you want to be right in the heart of Southbank you need to be up near Rydges otherwise take one of those shopping baskets on wheels)
The restaurant downstairs was really handy. We had an evening meal and breakfast there. The breakfast was particularly good.
If we were on our own I'd highly recommend it for any Southbank activity. It's actually closer to West End though.
Can't fault the service, parking or standard of rooms though.

Room Tip: Maybe the higher floors where possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Excellent service, fantastic two bedroom apartments and the restaurant "Peel Street Kitchen" comes highly recommended, especially for breakfast. Very close to all Southbank attractions. Lovely clean pool. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie-Alissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked to see a show at QPac south Brisbane and found a great deal for a large 2 bedroom apartment just 150 meters from QPac. Great location, $10 a day parking and at just $198 a night it was fantastic. There is a restaurant in the building but with South Bank a short 15 min walk along the river its a foodie favourite. Book and enjoy your stay in Brisbane, the CBD is a quick 20 min stroll or a heap of public transport is right on your doorstep.
The apartment was super clean (and no smells) full size fridge and well stocked kitchen with lounge and dining areas plus a big covered balcony overlooking the city.

Room Tip: A high floor as there is a train line close by but we slept well on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozteam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a terrific place to stay. very nice staff, very nicely priced, great location and such a beautiful room. We will stay here now on every occasion that we stay in Brisbane. We got a pizza for dinner as we didn't have much time before we had to leave to go and see Bon Jovi (easy walk to Suncorp stadium) and it arrived very quickly and it was absolutely beautiful.
This is highly recommended by us!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here with family for 1 night while in Brisbane to see Chitty Chitty Bang Bang at QPAC. We usually stay at Rydges but for the same price at Capitol Apartments we got a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with full kitchen rather than just a hotel room. It was nice to have the extra space and a kitchen but i don't think I'll return for the following reasons:
The location is at one end of southbank so was a fair walk with kids to get to southbank attractions, restaurants etc.
The pool was tiny and the water very dirty. Kids said it looked green through their goggles.
One of our bathrooms had an overwhelming smell of sewer. We could not use, or even open the door of one bathroom due to the smell. The other bathroom had a glass petition into the bedroom, so no privacy.
I didn't complain as we only stayed 1 night and nobody asked at check-out if we had any problems so I didn't bring it up. I am sure they are aware of the plumbing problems.
To end on a positive, the beds were comfortable, air con was good with individual units in each room and seperate control and we were not bothered by train noise or street noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeymoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Last minute booking found this little beauty with adjoining room perfect for 2 adults + 2 grown up kids. This isn't a hotel, but a serviced apartment, but the quality would be 4 stars !!

We arrived within a 20 min cab ride (take the cab for 4, cheaper than train, and right to the front door). Check in smooth, keys ready. Excellent security.

We checked in to 708, through the main door which lead to 708A & 708B on either side of the corridor, each with its own keys for privacy, although we kept them both open for the kids to come though at their pleasure like a big house. Perfect size bedroom, lounge adjoining kitchen with full cooking facilities; washing machine & dryer cleverly concealed, balcony (main room only). Kids room was slightly narrower, but massive bathroom, has own fridge, no kitchen.
Staff were amazing. Missing hairdryer.. fixed. Kids locked themselves out... fixed. Nothing were of a burden.

The view isn't brilliant, but that's only significant if you intend to spend you entire time in Brisbane looking at the view from your apartment/hotel, which we were not.

Would I recommend it ? If I had the flexibility, I would've changed my plan and stayed another 4 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony. Now that we've had it once, I couldn't imagine getting a room without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#37 of 158 in Brisbane
1,940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 158 in Brisbane
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Apartments

Property: The Capitol Apartments
Address: 35 Peel St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capitol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi!!! (Conditions Apply).South Brisbane Apartments opened in May 2013, The Capitol Apartments offer studio and self-contained apartments with kitchen and laundry facilities. Guests have access to a fitness centre, outdoor pool and a day spa called "C-Spa". These air-conditioned apartments are fitted with an iPod dock, DVD player and a flat-screen TV featuring free Foxtel iQ with standard package. There is a refrigerator, microwave, toaster and tea/coffee making facilities in every apartment. Some offer a balcony and all a spacious lounge area (with surcharge sofa bed).The Capitol is 300 metres from the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and a 5-minute walk from South Brisbane Train Station. It is a 10-minute walk from South Bank Parklands and a 20-minute drive from Brisbane International Airport. Queen Street Mall is only 2 km away. Reception hours are: Monday to Saturday 07:00-21:00, Sunday 08:00 - 18:00. If you expect to arrive outside reception hours please inform The Capitol Apartments in advance. You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that The Capitol Apartments requires a credit card pre-authorisation upon check in. Cash is accepted at this hotel, and you are kindly requested to present a valid credit card on arrival. Secure, underground car parking is available free of charge (one space per booking)and is subject to availability. The Capitol Apartments enforces a strict No-PARTY-POLICY. Any guest not following this rule will immediately be asked to leave, no exceptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing