We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning apartments right in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capitol Apartments
Ranked #35 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for State of Origin game. The apartment I had was very impressive. 2 bedroom unit with one of the rooms having its own ensuite. Plenty of air con units. Washing machine and dryer were in a little hideaway closet. Bed was comfortable enough. I didn't like the pillows but thats just me. My colleague that used the other bedroom said he liked them. Would not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked this due to Travelzoo having a 50% off deal we could not refuse what I did not check was location.
Finding the place was easy. Check in easy and the gentleman who checked us in most lovely.
Apartments new and nice.
Positive was price and location to south bank and bike paths.
Negatives were No coat hangers, needing to open bathroom window to remove steam but have smoker in 701 stand on their balcony and we put up with smoke in apartment. Finding the recycling area was difficult. Very soft bed not comfortable. A lot of light comes from hallway under front door.
Trains run directly past and behind building. Major road Peel street has a lot of traffic.
Nice restaurant located at front of building but offers patrons free parking so a lot of car spaces are filled with diners cars.
Easy walk to West end or south bank and Brisbane about a $12 cab ride to CBD.
Needs a coffee plunger or stove top percolator.
Was not serviced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkno8759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed in the apartment for a week. It is perfect if you want to be close to the city, yet not in the center of it. Conveniently close to city streets beach, CBD and most of the attractions of Brisbane. The apartment was very clean and looked exactly as on the pictures. The service was quite nice, and room service excellent. It was very quiet although the railway was just behind the window - but you could not hear anything! I would definitely recommend it to my friends, the only thing is that it is quite pricey for this kind of apartments.

Room Tip: Choose rooms located towards CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We got a 2 bedroom apartment on the night of a Broncos football game. It was perfect for my family of 4 (two young kids). I walked to the mall on Friday afternoon with a child in a stroller and it was an easy walk. Husband an other child walked to and from Suncorp Stadium for the footy. Went to Southbank the next day and they allowed us to check out but leave the car in the garage until we were ready to leave. Very nice modern apartments with excellent sound proofing. The rail way line runs right past but you cannot hear it at all. I would definitely stay here again as the price was right compared to other hotels in the city centre on a football home game night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmersWife78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very clean, spacious home away from home while working. Self contained and security access car park. Very central in the city. Will definitely be back. Front reception personal were very welcoming. Handy cafe for breakfast right out the front.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellereich3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was with some trepidation that we booked here for two nights, Friday and Saturday. The apartments are conveniently close to GOMA, Southbank and to the State Library where we had functions. A quick look at the map revealed the main north-south train line to be right along side. Our worst fears seemed to have been realized when we entered our room to find that a commuter train was advancing on our balcony at eye level! But, it passed by in almost complete silence! Trains followed at 5 minute intervals over rush hour without any aural disturbance. I was impressed. The double glazing insulates the resident and sleep was guaranteed.
The presentation of the entire complex is modern, clean, recently renovated and easy of access. The room was a good size and there was some horizontal shelf space in the bathroom.
There is a passable restaurant beside the foyer, convenient for all meals and providing room service if required.
Parking is available underneath, a very good IGA within walking distance can provide for the self-caterer, and best of all, free WiFi. The surrounding area may be a bit dodgy at night but we felt safe enough. A good choice for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Equanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment. This was lovely. Well furnished, I liked the layout and very clean and modern. I overlooked the railway, but that wasn't a problem in itself - I wasn't there for the view as it was a work related stay. However, I was worried about noise from the trains but that wasn't a problem either. There was a cafe downstairs for breakfast and dinner but I only used it for coffee which was fine. Location is okay during the day time - very close to Southbank amenities and running route. My only concern was walking back to the apartments in the dark. I made the mistake of turning down Hope Street at the Fox Hotel. The further you got from the Fox, the darker and more secluded it was. I did not feel safe. You need to make sure that you keep to the main streets even if it means a slightly longer walk back - better to walk up to Merrivale Street and then along to Peel Street. But other than that, all good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NurseSlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#56 of 169 in Brisbane
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#18 of 169 in Brisbane
3,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 169 in Brisbane
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Morgan Suites
Morgan Suites
#19 of 141 in Brisbane
316 reviews
1 mi away
River Plaza
River Plaza
#67 of 141 in Brisbane
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Apartments

Address: 35 Peel St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: £71 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capitol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi!!! (Conditions Apply).South Brisbane Apartments opened in May 2013, The Capitol Apartments offer studio and self-contained apartments with kitchen and laundry facilities. Guests have access to a fitness centre, outdoor pool and a day spa called "C-Spa". These air-conditioned apartments are fitted with an iPod dock, DVD player and a flat-screen TV featuring free Foxtel iQ with standard package. There is a refrigerator, microwave, toaster and tea/coffee making facilities in every apartment. Some offer a balcony and all a spacious lounge area (with surcharge sofa bed).The Capitol is 300 metres from the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and a 5-minute walk from South Brisbane Train Station. It is a 10-minute walk from South Bank Parklands and a 20-minute drive from Brisbane International Airport. Queen Street Mall is only 2 km away. Reception hours are: Monday to Saturday 07:00-21:00, Sunday 08:00 - 18:00. If you expect to arrive outside reception hours please inform The Capitol Apartments in advance. You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that The Capitol Apartments requires a credit card pre-authorisation upon check in. Cash is accepted at this hotel, and you are kindly requested to present a valid credit card on arrival. Secure, underground car parking is available free of charge (one space per booking)and is subject to availability. The Capitol Apartments enforces a strict No-PARTY-POLICY. Any guest not following this rule will immediately be asked to leave, no exceptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Capitol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing