We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Capitol Apartments
Ranked #20 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 small kids. We wanted somewhere close to South Bank as we intended to spend more time there then the city. This was a very economical choice and the photos and reviews looked good. We were surprised how beautifully appointed the apartment was, the kitchen had everything we needed, the apartment was larger than I had expected. It felt very safe, the beds and very comfy and the bathrooms very clean. The negative comment I have to say that the drain in the bathroom was very smelly, don't know how they missed that when doing room checks. The restaurant downstairs offers a very small room service menu, however, we did find out that if you order at the restaurant and come back for takeaway then you can order from the entire menu (they will also deliver but you pay an extra $4 per dish). Not sure why they wouldn't put that info in the compendium. No bath in either bathroom for the kids if you are traveling with kids. Beautiful outlook over Brisbane city with a great little sunroom to enjoy breakfast. Would stay again if traveling back to Brisbane.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoytravelling77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    123
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
79
63
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here with my family for two nights. Lovely two bedroom apartment (one king bedroom and one with two king singles) with two bathrooms and an enclosed balcony with fabulous views. We were on the tenth floor so trains were not an issue for noise or spoiling the outlook. Small but well laid out and had everything you need. Bathroom door in ensuite a bit intimidating – all glass – which made certain bathroom functions a little uncomfortable! Friendly booking and reception staff, lovely decor and fantastic location. Cost $440 for 2 nights

Room Tip: Being high up is an advantage to miss traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSearchEngine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent two nights here with my Teens, for a school holiday's City Break. Thanks to previous research I knew to book a high floor, dual key apartment with space for all.

The Capitol apartments are in a great position if you want to be close to the CBD, South Bank and West End. I could not fault the location. The staff were genuine and jovial, better than the generic, rote, "How are we today?" that often greets one on check-in!

We were on the 7th Floor with views to the city from the open balcony and could see the trains below, but barely heard them. If you want peace - don't stay in the middle of a capital city! Car parking wasn't an issue with adequate basement parking spaces.

Well fitted out apartments, with reasonable beds, our only gripe was the sewer smell from the bathrooms, light but there. As it had been previously mentioned on here and we were there for such a short stay we just let it go. Long term/in Summer - it might not be as bearable?

Would I stay there again? Absolutely. Shop in the CBD, stroll around The South Bank Arts Complex and affordable eateries a 5 minute drive away at West End. Top Spot!

Room Tip: Stay as high up as they have the vacancy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoRove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just a quick little overnight stay while in Brisbane on business. We chose the Capitol apartments for the great rate on offer via the Travelzoo website at the time.

As there were four of us - we chose a two bedroom - two bathroom apartment - all nice clean and new. Great location - One block from the Brisbane Convention Centre.

Free parking under the building for guests - which is a real bonus (as other properties we have stayed in charge at least $20.00 per vehicle per night for parking)

Café/restaurant on the ground floor - a great little self contained complex. Ask for high floor - city view.

Rail line runs very close to the property - however this was not a major noise issue for us. Yes we were aware of the trains rolling by - but not overly disturbing.

Room Tip: Ask for High floor - City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Needing accommodation for a family of 4, close to South Bank restaurants and offering great value for money, we came across the Capitol. The unimposing modest exterior, located right next to a railway line and busy roads, is misleading. The interior is very modern and well-maintained, and sound-proofing must be excellent as we were unaware of external noises during our stay. Our apartment consisted of 2 adjoining rooms linked by a common private entry corridor. The rooms were of a good size with modern and comfortable furnishings and fittings - everything we required for our stay. All that was missing was a couple of door stops, to keep the doors open between the adjoining rooms and allow freer movement between them (a very minor point - we used chairs to prop the doors open). Amazingly, The Capitol Apartments also had a limited number of parking spaces beneath, which we were able to use and thus save on expensive South Bank parking facilities. And it was situated less than 5 minutes walk from South Bank itself and the restaurant precinct, so our car, once parked, did not need to leave its spot until check-out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fantastic for business travel. Very retro and stylish atmosphere, and lovely staff. The apartment was fantastic and gave me a taste of what living in Brisbane would be like. Overall very impressed and will return for my next Brisbane trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The owners of the restaurant are a lovely couple.The entire building is beautiful and location is perfect. My husband and I love it. They are on the same standard as the Meriton. The Staff were pristine and very accommodating to my needs. Louise was very friendly and lovely to speak to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#35 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.7 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Apartments

Property: The Capitol Apartments
Address: 35 Peel St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capitol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi!!! (Conditions Apply).South Brisbane Apartments opened in May 2013, The Capitol Apartments offer studio and self-contained apartments with kitchen and laundry facilities. Guests have access to a fitness centre, outdoor pool and a day spa called "C-Spa". These air-conditioned apartments are fitted with an iPod dock, DVD player and a flat-screen TV featuring free Foxtel iQ with standard package. There is a refrigerator, microwave, toaster and tea/coffee making facilities in every apartment. Some offer a balcony and all a spacious lounge area (with surcharge sofa bed).The Capitol is 300 metres from the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and a 5-minute walk from South Brisbane Train Station. It is a 10-minute walk from South Bank Parklands and a 20-minute drive from Brisbane International Airport. Queen Street Mall is only 2 km away. Reception hours are: Monday to Saturday 07:00-21:00, Sunday 08:00 - 18:00. If you expect to arrive outside reception hours please inform The Capitol Apartments in advance. You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that The Capitol Apartments requires a credit card pre-authorisation upon check in. Cash is accepted at this hotel, and you are kindly requested to present a valid credit card on arrival. Secure, underground car parking is available free of charge (one space per booking)and is subject to availability. The Capitol Apartments enforces a strict No-PARTY-POLICY. Any guest not following this rule will immediately be asked to leave, no exceptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing